We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great but good location for GBR overnight trip”
Review of Hilton Cairns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Cairns
Ranked #7 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall England
Level Contributor
153 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Not great but good location for GBR overnight trip”
Reviewed 2 December 2010

We only picked this place because we had an early start for the GBR overnight with Reef Encounter and wanted to leave our luggage somewhere safe for our return and be able to walk to the dock. The staff are lovely but the hotel is rather shabby. We stayed two nights one before and one after the cruise and both rooms were very average with broken tiles in the bathrooms and tatty decor. We had to ask for towels as room service had forgotten them. The beds were clean and the pillows very comfortable. Both rooms looked out onto the casino!! Not a pretty sight.

The best part was that at dusk thousands of huge bats flew over Cairns and the hotel, it was an amazing sight.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlieCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCairns1, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 16 December 2010
Dear charlieCornwall,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor about your recent stay at Hilton Cairns. I do hope your trip out on the reef was very enjoyable. Having the reef terminal in close proximity to the hotel is a wonderful advantage.
You will be happy to know that we have just signed a refurbishment contract which will see all bathrooms & the remaining guest rooms brought up to a contemporary, very high standard. This is scheduled to begin in January 2011. This will be a very exciting time for the hotel and I do hope that you will return and visit us after our refurbishments are complete.

Again thank you for your feedback and I am glad you enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards,
John Lucas – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    957
    749
    299
    103
    55
See reviews for
405
1,000
145
303
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2010

Great location, close to all the boats and harbour.
Spacious and clean rooms, well decorated.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ms12341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCairns1, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 16 December 2010
Dear ms12341,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback in which I enjoyed reading on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to read that your stay was enjoyable and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
John Lucas – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2010

Hilton Cairns brush up your act!
From arrival through to departure.. Firstly.. Half hearted effort in trying to tart up an old property. Look beyond the modern facade of lobby, no meet & greet service, non existent concierge & valet service.. grubby old crack tiles line the floor, filthy glass doors on entering.. Old gold lined lift linings reminiscent of some 80's hotel.. wow what a setback! This property seems to have had it's hey day back in the early 90's era.. Probably a grand dame in it's day.. But for now, trading on the back of Hilton branding, simply lost it's lustre... For my visit & experience anyway.
Concierge seems to have 'lost my rental car" cause upon check in the disinterested staff member parked my car under a different name & room #.
Reef towel hire @ $4.50 x day?? What the?. Never heard of? Especially for the 2nd grade towels provided.
Refurbished executive room is certainly lacking in ambience, ok view is nice, but old style hair dryer, cracked & chipped bathtub, & lack of sound proofing from outdoor corridors detracted from the prominent position of property.
Executive lounge is very substandard for property, limited size, very Spartan menu, & lacks ambience, the pleasant view compensates though.
Overall, this hotel really requires some fine tuning in service & cosmetic improvements to compete with other properties within vicinity, seemingly providing a superior product for similar or better pricing.
Manager Mr Kelly, please accept this as constructive criticism, & wish you well with your future project.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieScott70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCairns1, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 16 December 2010
Dear AussieScott70.

Thank you for taking the time to post your constructive comments on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to advise that the property will indeed be brushing up its act! We have just signed a refurbishment contract which will see ALL bathrooms & the remaining guest rooms brought up to a contemporary, very high standard. This is scheduled to begin in January 2011. Refurbished room will be released on a rolling basis and numerous measures will be taken to ensure that guests are not disturbed during the works, such as taking surrounding rooms out of service.
Again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to what will undoubtedly be Cairns’ premier hotel.

Kind regards,
John Lucas – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2010

Location perfect, room 739 looks over Trinity river, never a boring moment, great pool seldom more than 6 people in it ? Clean room. all good, a little old but so are we? Steaming refers to the heat and humidity. Central location, handy to reef trips 200 yards walk . We ate out at all different locations had breakfast once in the hotel which was good. Service I can' t fault. Stayed 14 days. I cut my teeth in a in a Hotel all I can say is good show, keep it up..

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlossyFeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCairns1, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 16 December 2010
Dear FlossFeth

I thoroughly enjoyed reading your positive comments on Trip Advisor about your 14 night stay with us at Hilton Cairns. It sounds like you had a wonderful time exploring what Cairns has to offer and I am glad to know that you couldn’t fault the service delivered by our staff. You will also be happy to know that in January 2011, we will begin the second stage of our refurbishments which will see many great changes to all of our bathrooms and the remainder of our guest rooms. Again, thank you for your feedback and we do hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
John Lucas – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2010

Very Pleased with our first trip as a couple. As domestic travellers we knew what to expect of the region and decided to pay for a 5 star hotel. Doing lots of research into the best locations we decided on this property because of the look of the rooms and the pool. And they are exactley as the photos show...
The refurb is beautiful! The spa is fun and the pool is a good size.
The staff helped with any enquiries we had and the rooms were very appealing.
Overall a lovely stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdiplock_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCairns1, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 16 December 2010
Dear sdiplock_10,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor about your recent stay at Hilton Cairns. I read your comments with great delight knowing that your stay was enjoyable and that our staff left you with a favourable impression. Again, thank you for your positive feedback and I do hope we see you in Cairns and back at the Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
John Lucas – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
86 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

The Hilton Cairns is a bland hotel with a great location next to the Marina. The public areas are cold and more suited to an airport than a hotel, bar and souvenir shop included. Service is below average. Nobody was there to help me with the luggage, which is especially serious considering the staircase at the hotels main entrance. Check in and check out took ages. My room was in the spa level, and it showed a superficial renovation with new furniture but fairly untouched structure. The balcony had a superb view, but was probably the filthiest I've ever seen. The bathroom wasn't large, but it did have a jacuzzi which would be just perfect if it wasn't actually inside the shower. Yes, there was a very large shower cabin with a jacuzzi. I guess it was the only way to fit everything inside the small bathroom, but come on!
The cherry on the cake is the access to the pool, which requires a combination of elevators, emergency stairs, and a bit of luck. Really, it's the most uncomfortable, unpratical, unheard of access to anywhere in any hotel I've been, garages included.
There are probably much better options in Cairns, so no need to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PortoTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCairns1, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 16 December 2010
Dear PortoTraveller,

I appreciate the efforts you have gone to in posting your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your stay at Hilton Cairns.
I am happy to announce that we have just signed a refurbishment contract which will see all bathrooms & the remaining guest rooms brought up to a contemporary, very high standard. This is scheduled to begin in January 2011. Your last comment has also been discussed and in early 2011, work will begin on installing and outdoor stairwell to offer guests easy access to our wonderful pool.
Again, thank you and I appreciate your constructive feedback.

Kind regards,
John Lucas – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

We booked this hotel using my husbands honors points and were very pleased. The room was fresh and updated and had a great view of the mountains and water. Beds were comfortable. Location was close to restaurants, shopping, and docks. We did not eat at the restaurants, so I can't comment on those. I would certainly recommend this to other travelers who can swing the price.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank staceyss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCairns1, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 16 December 2010
Dear staceyss,

Thank you for providing comments on Trip Advisor about your recent stay at Hilton Cairns. I am delighted to read that your stay was enjoyable and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
John Lucas – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.1 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.1 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.1 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#5 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
1.5 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cairns

Property: Hilton Cairns
Address: 34 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#3 Business Hotel in Cairns
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#12 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the Hilton Cairns hotel is the perfect base for exploring the diverse wonders of this truly unique region, famous as the meeting place of two natural wonders, the Great Barrier Reef and World Heritage Rainforest. Our modern and inviting Cairns hotel rooms and suites are luxurious oases of comfort and convenience, offering pristine new bathrooms and spacious balconies with views of Trinity Inlet or Cairns Esplanade and the unique cityscape and blue-green mountain ranges beyond. Stay connected with the latest technology in the fully-equipped business centre. Enjoy relaxed, al fresco dining at the award-winning Mondo on the waterfront, or discover authentic italian flavours at Simply Italian. Experience modern, tropical, paradise today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cairns Hotel Cairns
Hilton International Cairns
Cairns Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing