We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never again”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Cairns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Cairns
Ranked #7 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed 12 January 2011

This hotel is a rathole. Air conditioning does no work properly, the pool is dirty and service at the front desk is extremely poor. Never ever waste your money and stay in Hilton Cairns!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minipo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCairns1, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 17 January 2011
Dear minipo,
I was very disappointed to read your comments on Trip Advisor about your recent stay with us at Hilton Cairns. We regularly receive positive comments from guests about our hotel and team, and this saddens me to know that your stay did not meet your expectations. I appreciate your feedback.

Kind regards,
John Lucas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    933
    742
    294
    103
    55
See reviews for
402
978
143
296
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, AUS
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2011

Overall was a good stay, the rooms are a little dated but they have done some work on some rooms. Cairns is such a beautiful place you cant help but like everything about it. Will go back as the service was very good.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimMelbourne_AUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCairns1, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 11 January 2011
Dear TimMelbourne_AUS,

It was great to read your positive comments about your recent stay at Hilton Cairns. Cairns is a beautiful place and there is nothing not to love. You will be happy to know that we have begun refurbishments on our bathrooms and guest rooms. This is a very exciting time for the hotel and our guests. I am glad your stay was enjoyable and that you received excellent service from our team. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Kind regards,
John Lucas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
101 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2011

2nd best place to stay at Cairns. (the best is the hotel on the other side of the waterfront park - forgot the name).

Location is great - 3 mins walk from the marina where all great barrier reef cruises leave. Could see the cruise ship berthing from my balcony. The buffet breakfast is excellent. Rooms are clean.

But this place is really high priced. worth it if you have the cash to splurge. Ideally for 2-3 days. Reef casino is just opposite and has a fantastic wildlife dome. There are shops all along the waterfront to eat and buy daily necessities. 15 mins from airport (but then all cairns hotels are!)

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JabberwockyIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCairns1, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 10 January 2011
Dear JabberwockyIndia,

I am glad you enjoyed your stay in Cairns and were able to take advantage of all the wonderful facilities within walking distance of the hotel. Your comments are greatly appreciated and we do hope to see you back at the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
John Lucas – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sussex
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

The Hilton has a fantastic location ,the rooms facing Trinity Inlet have amazing views.Rooms are of a good size with very effective air con(a must for Cairns) and on our floor a great refurbished bathroom.
Pool area is a good size and was always quiet while we were there.
Lounge access is well worth the extra cost with the most friendly helpful efficient team looking after you and excellent views across the city and esplanade.
Only negative is that there is no free wi fi antwhere in the hotel and only 1 pc available in the lounge.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

On the way from the airport our taxi driver told us that the Hilton Cairns was the best hotel in Cairns, and the hotel did not disappoint! First, the rooms - We took two interconnected rooms for us and two teenagers, and both we good-sized, clean, and well-appointed with flat screen televisions, mini-bars, desk and chair, bathrobes, alarm clocks and the like. The beds in particular were delightful, with pillows you just sank into. Second, the food - we had dinner one night at Hanuman in the lobby and the Asian fusian cuisine was very good, lunch at Mondo cafe (huge portions, great quality, lots of choices), and drinks in the lobby every night, which was very comfortable (soft chairs) with a casual feel and great service. And since we were on the executive floor, we had breakfast every morning in the executive lounge, with lots of options and great service. Third, the service - it really could not have been better from start to finish. The check-in staff were fast, friendly and helpful and bags were delivered promptly. Blythe at the activities desk was incredibly helpful and knowledgeable, and was able to get us spots on a reef diving trip at the last minute despite most places being booked. The staff at the executive lounge every morning could not have been more attentive and friendly, So, in sum, we loved our stay, would go back in a heartbeat, and would agree with our taxi driver - the best hotel in Cairns!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLStern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCairns1, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 10 January 2011
Dear DLStern,

What a delight to read on Trip Advisor your comments about your recent stay at Hilton Cains. I am delighted to read that your stay was enjoyable and that your stay was positive from your arrival through to your departure. Your positive feedback is greatly appreciated by all of our team at the hotel and we are very much looking forward to seeing you and your family again.

Kind regards,
John Lucas – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2011

my wife and i had a really great stay st this hotel. we found the staff to be very helpful and polite and help us out with all our needs. the location is great just minutes walking from all the dining and nightlife in cairns and minutes from the city heart for shopping. would quickly recommend and stay here again

Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank SydneyWeekendaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCairns1, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 10 January 2011
Dear SydneyWeekendaway,

Thank you for your positive comments posted on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at Hilton Cairns. I am delighted to read that you and your wife had an enjoyable stay and were able to enjoy many of the great spots within walking distance of the hotel. We look forward to seeing you both again in the near future.

Kind regards,
John Lucas – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2011

I visited Cairns in Dec. 2010 and chose this hotel because I had member points to use and it was located near the tour company I was doing an excursion with. Great location on the water and near restaurants, lounges, and bars.
The big mistake occurred first. I checked in and it was early and I expected just to ask them to keep my luggage. They said they had a room available and checked me into 620. I went to the room, put the key in the door, opened it and to my surprise, there were 2 people in the bed, handling some business. We all continued to apologize to each other through the initial shock and verification that I was in the right room. I called the front desk from the phone at the elevator and they quickly corrected the issue stating there is a computer problem dealing with that room and they didn't know that it wasn't vacant. They kindly upgraded me to an executive room on the 9th floor.
Besides the initial mix up, I had no problems with the room and the nice view besides the price for internet and if you choose not to pay you have to use the business center at 20min per password. This was painful because I can't get anything done in 20mins on the internet ;-)

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tlittlej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCairns1, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 10 January 2011
Dear tlittlej,

Happy New Year and thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at Hilton Cairns. I do apologise for the initial error at check in, however I am glad your stay with us was enjoyable and that you were able to experience one of our executive rooms. I do hope your tour was wonderful and that you will come back and visit us in 2011.


Kind regards,
John Lucas – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.1 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.1 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.1 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
432 reviews
1.5 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cairns

Property: Hilton Cairns
Address: 34 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Cairns
#3 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#12 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the Hilton Cairns hotel is the perfect base for exploring the diverse wonders of this truly unique region, famous as the meeting place of two natural wonders, the Great Barrier Reef and World Heritage Rainforest. Our modern and inviting Cairns hotel rooms and suites are luxurious oases of comfort and convenience, offering pristine new bathrooms and spacious balconies with views of Trinity Inlet or Cairns Esplanade and the unique cityscape and blue-green mountain ranges beyond. Stay connected with the latest technology in the fully-equipped business centre. Enjoy relaxed, alfresco dining at the award-winning Mondo Café Bar and Grill on the waterfront, or discover authentic italian flavours at "Donninis "Simply Italian". Experience modern, tropical, paradise today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cairns Hotel Cairns
Hilton International Cairns
Cairns Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing