We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible accommodation”
Review of Acacia Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Acacia Court Hotel
Ranked #60 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Terrible accommodation”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We were late getting to Carins and booked Acacia Court, the door is not on The Esplanade so we drove around looking for ten minutes. The room we were given is outdated and very basic, air conditioning did not work and the shower was so powerful it blew the shower curtain away, so strong I was unable to wash my two year old daughter under it.
We hopped into bed to find stains on the sheets which was disgusting!
NEVER AGAIN will we stay

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vanessa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    80
    82
    45
    58
See reviews for
58
92
34
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This is a good budget hotel with all the basic facilities required for a comfortable stay.
The hotel is on the ocean, however, if you want a sea view you need to pay a little extra.
Breakfast is good and well priced from $9.95, however, try and get it as part of your package.

The hotel is about 15 minutes walk to the centre of Cairns, however, walk via the Esplanade as it's really pretty.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We scored a cheap deal online but it turned out to be the motel section of this property rather than the hotel. That said, room was good value for money even though it was basic. Breakfast good too. Staff are really helpful and friendly here and I was happy they effectively and swiftly addressed an inappropriate noise complaint the night we stayed. Centrally located, a good option if it fits your budget.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Due to a very early arrival our hotel sent us to this one for some rest before check in.

Upon arrival the main building looked very nice. We had a double plus 2 beds for the kids which was expensive but as I said after arriving at 5am we needed some rest after the flight from the UK.

The room. Humm well had I booked this for more than one night I would have been gutted and found alternative accommodation or slept in the car!

The room is desperate for a face lift and the bed side lamps should have gone to the tip many years earlier.

The bed sheets was below par and you could see the bed structure which I really did not want to explore further!

The whole room just was drab and I could imagine how a prison would feel.

The shower was hot but the bathroom in general needs replacement.

For the price honestly avoid

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlandMary_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed either side of our Cape York camping trip, and used both the motel units and the Ocean view rooms, they were clean, and we appreciated not having to ask for clean towels every day, the beds were comfortable and that's all you need when you have been out and about all day.

Room Tip: Eighth floor- ocean view has great views of both the city and the airport, my husband loved watching...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

It's a reasonable place to spend the night. Being closer to the airport than a lot of other hotels is it's most redeeming factor (although there are others closer). Beds are big, not much looks new and whatever scent they use to clean is very strong!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tugun, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Dont expect too much from the Acacia Court and you wont be disappointed. Its not much more than a bed for the night. Rooms are clean and large but try to avoid the first floor (they call it 2nd floor) because your ocean view will be overpowered by the roof of the outdoor dining and entry area.

This is not a resort and while it does have a pool, it is right off the dining and bar area with the road on the other side. No privacy and quite small for such a large hotel.

Breakfast is great value but we only tried Charlies buffet at night once, it was not that good.

All staff were great with the exception of one grumpy rude older gentleman that was on the desk each evening.

Bottleshop was closed during out stay.

A fair distance from the centre of Cairns but still very walkable and a nice trip along the Esplanade which is right outside the hotel. Lovely atmosphere in the afternoons.

Not much in the way of restaurants in this area.

If you are planning on spending everyday out sightseeing and not lounging around a resort then this hotel is great value.

Room Tip: avoid the second floor because view is obstructed by roofing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
Tropical Queenslander Cairns Holiday Studio & Apartment
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
0.6 mi away
Sunshine Tower Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Waterfront Terraces
Waterfront Terraces
#45 of 64 in Cairns
111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
584 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 64 in Cairns
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acacia Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acacia Court Hotel

Property: Acacia Court Hotel
Address: 223-227 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Acacia Court Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 10-story Hotel located on the Esplanade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Acacia Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cairns
Cairns Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing