We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 181 The Esplanade

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
181 The Esplanade
Ranked #30 of 65 Hotels in Cairns
Strathalbyn
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Love the place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

We stayed at 181 at the end of May, for 9 nights. This is the 4th time we have stayed there, so evidently we like the place. We have always stayed on the 7th floor, usually in the two bedroom apartment, No. 28. I must admit that the apartment could do with some refurbishment now, but it was still comfortable and clean, and very quiet. It is lovely to be able sit on the balcony with a glass of wine, and relax looking at the view. There is a very pleasant walk into the CBD along the waterfront, and there are plenty of places to sit while you take your time and enjoy the scenery. If we don't have a hire car, we usually walk to the main area, the shopping centre, or Rusty's Market, and get a Taxi back to 181. In our experience the staff have always been very helpful, and we would have no hesitation with staying there again.

Room Tip: Book early to get an apartment on one of the higher floors. We usually go in late May, before the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    44
    25
    10
    3
See reviews for
54
33
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rockhampton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

We stayed at 181 for 6 nights from 2/4/13. Even though we arrived after 6 pm had no problems accessing our unit, We had 2 bedroom unit (16) on 4 th floor .. Unit was very spacious,spotless , well equipped with amazing ocean views,, easy walk to convenience store and a variety of eating options.. (I recommend going to Cock and bull for a great meal).. Even though its next door to hospital we were not affected by it. Definitely would go there again it was great value for money.

Room Tip: Front ,left side of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisavRockhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

I am a Cairns local and chose to stay here at the 181 Esplande this weekend just gone. My friends and I found it value for money and the staff both friendly and helpful. The Cairns City Centre isn't too far away however if you're not keen on walking you can get a taxi for a small price. The place features a sauna, spa and pool which we found enjoyable. We were also impressed with the features and appliances of the room. We stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment on the 3rd floor which was nice and spacey with wonderful views of the sea and mountains - two balconies, modern kitchen & appliances, own laundry that includes washing machine, dryer, a satchet of washing powder and fold away clothesline in main bedroom cupboard, both rooms have built in wardrobes main with sliding mirrors, 2 bathrooms (ensuite & main) and a generous lounge and dining room. The staff are also able to help you organise and book trips and tours in Cairns and surrounding areas, the lobby has a wall full of pamphlets and information on different trips and tours if you would like an idea of where to go. My friends and I and my mother who visited are very impressed with the place. There's a construction site next door however this didn't effect our stay as we stayed on the opposite side to the construction site and they don't work on the weekend's. We will be staying again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alansah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

Stayed at this holiday apartment complex over the new year period for 1 week in a two bedroom apartment overlooking the pool and sea. A relaxing 20 minute stroll into Cairns central along the board walk. If you head out of the complex on the carpark side, there are some great eateries within a few minutes walk of the complex, one being the Cock and Bull on Grove Street. Some minor repairs needed to make apartment come up to speed which was reported to the apartment rental management, but all in all our stay was excellent. One suggestion I would have is that to extend the opening hours of the pool to adults and place a curfew on children entering the pool, and that children should also be accompanied by adults. We saw so many children creating mischief from our balcony with not a parent in sight. Lovely gardens to look at on site. Very helpful on-site manager.

Room Tip: Units on the sea & north side would be better. Discover the eateries nearby also instead of mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thirst4culture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingwood, TX
Level Contributor
140 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a 2 bedroom apt on the 8th floor. Queen bed in one, twins in the other. Clean, nice with a great view of the ocean. Reception said it was a 10 min walk to town, but it's more like 25 min ( or worse in the wet season!). Everything worked fine, laundry facilities were good, and they let you have towels for the beach for a small fee. Only complaint we had was that our bedroom and kitchen had small ants. They were in and on the bed. Ugh!

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kgwd000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsford, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

We booked a apt for 6 of us, but only found out that the apt we are allocated only has two bedrooms, and two of us had to sleep in the living room with roller beds.
The main problem is the air conditioner, because it only can work to the living room or bedroom, can't make the air conditioner working to both of bedroom and living room.
Another problem is that the bedroom is so duty that I kept sneezing for the whole night. I am not sure id because the carpet is too dusty or the blanket is too dusty! Anyway, I had a tough there!

Except those problems, the apt is located on the main street in Carins, and quite convenient to go to downtown.
Moreover, the receptionist is a very friendly lady!

Room Tip: The receptionist is only open to 6pm, so need to arrange the late check in. And make sure you get th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matilda_pan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

We just stayed 3 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment. Very happy with the standard of the room. Spacious, clean, basement parking. Good sized kitchen, large open dining and lounge area. We had a view of the Esplanade and water from the 4th floor. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirlana4053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Waterfront Terraces
Waterfront Terraces
#41 of 65 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coral Towers Holiday Suites
0.7 mi away
Cairns Aquarius
Cairns Aquarius
#25 of 65 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
0.1 mi away
Reef Gateway Apartments
Reef Gateway Apartments
#51 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 181 The Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 181 The Esplanade

Property: 181 The Esplanade
Address: 181 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — 181 The Esplanade 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Ctrip TA so you can book your 181 The Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
181 The Esplanade Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing