We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel but car rental co. They recommend is a fraud.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Ranked #2 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but car rental co. They recommend is a fraud.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2011

We were referred to sugar land car rental by the hotel. When we returned the car the owner got on her Hands and knees and found a scrape under the bumper and wanted us to pay for it. We only had the car 6 hours and did no damage. We took pictures of the car before leaving and even had to walk two miles back to the hotel. We brought this to the mgr at the hotel but were told this was the only rental company they work with. Find another car rental company on your own if staying at this hotel. Otherwise 5 stars.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muskymaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianWilliams, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this review, 9 June 2011
Thank you for your review. I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with our property. It is always disappointing when matters such as your car rental experience sour your time on holidays. I am aware of this incident and am pleased that our team were able to make arrangements with the car rental company to ensure you were not charged for any damage.

We typically recommend Europcar internationally for all our properties as we have preferred rates that our guests can take the benefit of. We suggest that guests should book early as last minute plans will often mean that cars are not available. In such instances we have found Sugarland to be professional and again in this matter we note that no charge was applied for car damage.

I look forward to personally welcoming you when you are next in Cairns.

Warm regards
Adrian Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,873 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,250
    481
    101
    27
    14
See reviews for
262
1,079
101
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

I went on a holiday with my mum to Tropical North Queensland and stayed our first night at the Pullman in Cairns. From first arrival when were greeted by very friendly staff and when we walked into the room there was definate Wow factor. There were 2 double beds in the room and a nice bug spa bath. The shower had a double shower head and a bench seat and there was a Cappucino machine in the room, for someone that does not use those machines it would have been handle to have a manual in the room. It was also great to be in the casino and the Tamarind restaurant was amazing to eat at for both dinner and breakfast. Would definately stay here again if i went to Cairns.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladychippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Mission Beach
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

My husband and I stay at the Reef Casino almost annually as a wedding anniversary treat. The staff have always been exceptionally friendly and helpful, the beds are very comfortable, and the Tamarind restaurant is one of the best in Cairns.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianWilliams, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this review, 9 June 2011
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to read that you are with us each year for your anniversary celebrations. Combined with our multi-award winning Tamarind restaurant we are a wonderful hotel for romantic getaways and milestone events.

I look forward to welcoming you back again next anniversary!

Warm regards
Adrian Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

The service was great from the time we checked in till the time we checked out. The room was great, and the bed.... Oh.. I have never had a better sleep in a motel room ever (and I travel alot for work) Usually I travel for business and this was supposed to be just a business trip, but I decided to spend a few extra days and bring my wife along. She also had a great time and loved the Place. We will be back someday.
The only thing that annoyed us was someone smoking in the next room and the smoke was coming around the balcony and into our room. We had to close the doors and were not able to enjoy the view and fresh air. Hate the smell of cigarette smoke.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianWilliams, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this review, 9 June 2011
Thank you for your review. Well done on extending your business trip to take a few extra days to enjoy the beauty and adventure of Cairns and the tropical north! I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time in the region and at our hotel and will be looking to come back again.

We look forward to having you with us when you do return.

Warm regards
Adrian Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

If you want to be in town, this is a great place to stay. Even though most of the hotels in Cairns have had or are being refurbished - this hotel is starting to look old and dated.
This hotel is not really set up to accommodate a family, though can have rooms next to one another- but at extra expense. Their beds and pillows are to die for, so comfortable.
The spa in the room is definitely a decider to book this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uschi2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianWilliams, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this review, 9 June 2011
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. While it is true that other hotels such as the Novotel and Mercure in Cairns have undergone refurbishment, we spend a lot of time and money on maintaining our rooms. Our room design, as shown in the images on this site, is a more classic room with a great sense of tropical Queensland. This is highlighted by the garden balconies and the plantation shutters. This is a deliberate design brief and differentiates our property from the many minimalist hotel rooms found in Sydney or Melbourne.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed our beds and in-room spa and that our service team provided friendly and knowledgeable service.

Warm regards
Adrian Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

* great product
* friendly & helpful team members
* outstanding location

No need to look any further in Cairns CBD

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indulgence_Hunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianWilliams, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this review, 9 June 2011
Thank you for your review. Short and sweet, and we agree!

Warm regards
Adrian Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

Only stayed for 1 night but found the allocated room very comfortable with excellent amenities plus a view of the harbour,the only downside was the smell of smoking in the room,perhaps that was our fault for not asking for a non smoking room,but generally now days we just expect not to have too ask.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geojud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianWilliams, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this review, 9 June 2011
Thank you for your review. It is a shame that you were not with us longer than one night! We do offer our guests a selection of smoking or non-smoking rooms however typically even our smoking rooms are not smelly due to the outstanding work from our housekeeping team.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to having you with us again.

Warm regards
Adrian Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.0 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.1 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
1.6 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Reef Hotel Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Reef Hotel Casino

Property: Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Address: 35-41 Wharf St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cairns
#1 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#4 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Reef Hotel Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled by Trinity inlet and cruise liner terminal, the five-star Pullman Reef Hotel Casino is Cairns most prestigious hotel. Take the time to look at our rates to see all of our EXTRA INCLUSIONS - we have thought of everything. Each of our luxurious rooms has its own spa bath, separate walk in shower and garden balcony overlooking the city or water views. A roof-top swimming pool, gym, four restaurants and bars, boutique casino, conference spaces and a unique Wildlife Dome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pullman Reef Hotel Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Reef Hotel Cairns
Accor Reef Hotel
Sofitel Cairns
Cairns Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing