We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed bag” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pullman Reef Hotel Casino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Ranked #2 of 65 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Mixed bag”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

We researched hotels in Cairns and found in general The Pullmans was the best. Lots of good things to say. Staff really the best especially Mathew. He was so kind and helpful. Efficient and fast chech in, again front staff very, very nice. Bed the best there is and lovely pillows. Location very good and close to everything. Would have to say the best hotel we have stayed in.... Except our carpet was filthy and had what looked like blood stains on it. Housekeeping came up and cleaned it but we were not offered another room. One staff member said it was unacceptable and I have to agree. On the Tuesday evening I slipped and fell badly on the driveway of the hotel on spilt water. I was offered a cold pack but although we stayed for another 3 days management didn't didn't follow up to see how I was. Nearly 1 week later I still have a bruised foot. These incidents colour ones stay. In fact I was quite shaken and would have appreciated follow up by management. On the plus side the hotel did have barriers put up immediately so no one else would fall.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rosietas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianWilliams, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this review, 21 June 2011
Thank you for your review. I have personally addressed these issues in our recent telephone conversation and again we wish you a speedy recovery from your fall. We never like to hear of anyone having an accident impact on their time in Cairns and we hope that you were still able to enjoy the beauty of our region.

I note your comments regarding the carpet and I can confirm the red wine stains have been rectified. Although small, we have now replaced the carpet in that room and apologise this was not addressed prior to you entering the room per our normal standards.

Thank you again for your comments.

Warm regards
Adrian Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,849 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,233
    474
    101
    27
    14
See reviews for
260
1,064
100
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
w.a.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2011

we stayed in a deluxe king room with water views. room was very clean, and a good size. the bed was huge and very comfortable heaps of pillows to choose from.
the spa in the bathroom was great, bathroom overall very large and the separatepowder room is a great idea, everything was in good working order except we couldnt work the ipod dock not sure if it was faulty or just us, but we only tried it on our last night anyway. used the gym which is ok for a small hotel gym. didnt use the pool but it looked fab, my husband used the sauna he wasnt impressed took to long to heat up and when it did wasnt hot enough. all staff we encountered were extremely helpful and friendly they all smiled and genuinely looked like they were happy to be there, one night we got in quite late and there was a man polishing the brass handles on the door which he promptly opened for us and greated us with a smile and hello i was impressed, infact all staff rushed to open doors for you and press lift buttons for you if they were near by, such service in a hotel in cairns i did not expect. we had dinner one night in the Tamarind restaurant it was very good. i would definatley recommend this hotel. for business or pleasure, its attached to the casino but we are not gamblers, we picked this hotel on recommendation from cairns locals and it lived up to expectations. cheers.

Room Tip: get a room with a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stagcoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianWilliams, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this review, 13 June 2011
Thank you for your review. Travelling on business even to a beautiful location like Cairns can still be tough. Pullman hotels recognise this which is why we focus heavily on great service and I am pleased to read that our team lived up to our expectations. I note your comments on our iPod docking stations provided in all rooms. They are a plug and play system so should be straightforward however for guests needing assistance our team are always on hand to help. On the off chance that there was a fault in the unit in your room I have asked our team today to double check the units in all rooms.

Again thank you for your comments and I look forward to personally welcoming you back.

Warm regards
Adrian Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

The Pullman was well located within Cairns, a short walk to the city centre and boardwalk. The hotel was well presented and offered a nice quiet location away from the hussle and bussle. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and the conceiage was always happy to obllidge with any assistance or questions.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a view across the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geesurfsup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianWilliams, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this review, 13 June 2011
Thank you for your review. I hope that while you were with us that you had time to explore the World Heritage Great Barrier Reef and Daintree Rainforest. Our service team can help you with the best inside information on tours, packages and tips on the best restaurants.

We look forward to having you with us again.

Warm regards
Adrian Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

Found the beds too soft and the room a little noisy buy otherwise a very nice stay...........................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianWilliams, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this review, 9 June 2011
Thank you for your review. Our beds are typically one of the most loved features of our property and I receive many positive guest comments on them however I appreciate that bed comfort is subjective. To assist our guests who prefer a firmer sleep we are able to adjust the bed set up including removing the down-filled over-mattress. Guests are encouraged to let us know their preference so we can assist in setting the room to meet their needs. Our pillow menu will also assist in achieving personalised sleep comfort.

I hope to welcome you again when you are next in Cairns

Warm regards
Adrian Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

We have stayed at the Reef Casino several times over the last couple of years and thought i should write a review. On each trip to Cairns there is only one place we stay and that is here.

The staff just make this place warm and welcoming always greet you by your name that really goes the extra mile for me and are always asking how your day was is there anything i can do for you. They really want to go the extra mile to help you with your stay here to ensure it is as good as it can be.

The staff valet park the car after the first day i didnt even need to say my name they just knew me and my room and got the car with minimal fuss i love the personal service the reception area is stunning with its beautiful flowers and super clean.

The room we always stay in a junior suite and with mountain and water views it is just beautiful, the big spa overlooking the ocean and the marble shower with seat looking over the ocean is stunning to. The room is huge with a good lounge area and office desk the bed is HUGE and soo comfortable love it.

We also go out for dinner each night at various restaurants around Cairns and the reception staff are only to willing to book a table and assist with directions and reviews on the restaurants, it is nice to come home after dinner and get back to your room with the bed turned down all the lights dimmed and blinds closed really makes it feel homely not to mention the chocolate and water on your bedside table. The house keeping service is 5 star to never encroaching on your personal space we never saw them each day but came home to a beautifully clean room.

Breakfast each morning is just divine there is no menu, you just make it up and in a short amount of time there it is, thats what i call good service after the first day no need to tell them your room number the staff once again with their personal service remember you and your room!!

The hotels location is about 5 to 10 mins walk from all areas including the night markets and a leisurely walk from the Cairns Central and the Esplanade the facilities and gardens are always maintained green and lush and very tidy.

If there is only one problem i could pick with the hotel is that it needs a quiet lobby bar to unwind after dinner to kick back and have a piano playing and a cocktail is what i would like to see. There is a bar near the casino entrance but after having dinner and walking back to the hotel we would like to kick back and have a quiet relaxed chat and a cocktail or drink in peace not at the noisy casino bar.

Other than that this is my favourite hotel i have stayed at and wished there was one of these in every city its just very personable warm and welcoming congratulations on being such a top hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrRedgrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianWilliams, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this review, 9 June 2011
Thank you for your review. We delighted to read that you enjoy your time with us so much that you keep returning! I am especially pleased to read that you find our staff provide high quality service, they will be delighted to read your comments.

I note your comments regarding a quiet bar. We have a number of bars and a nightclub on the property although these are often very active areas. I would recommend two options: a drink on the terrace in our Tamarind restaurant. This is typically quieter and on a warm night is lovely to sit outside. Alternatively our hotel lobby lounge is very quiet and like the rest of the hotel is separated from the casino and entertainment areas of the property. Our staff are only too pleased to provide service to you there.

I look forward to seeing you next time you are in Cairns.

Warm regards
Adrian Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.1 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.1 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
1.5 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 65 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Reef Hotel Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Reef Hotel Casino

Property: Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Address: 35-41 Wharf St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#1 Business Hotel in Cairns
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#4 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Reef Hotel Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled by Trinity inlet and cruise liner terminal, the five-star Pullman Reef Hotel Casino is Cairns most prestigious hotel. Take the time to look at our rates to see all of our EXTRA INCLUSIONS - we have thought of everything. Each of our luxurious rooms has its own spa bath, separate walk in shower and garden balcony overlooking the city or water views. A roof-top swimming pool, gym, four restaurants and bars, boutique casino, conference spaces and a unique Wildlife Dome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Pullman Reef Hotel Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Reef Hotel Cairns
Accor Reef Hotel
Sofitel Cairns
Cairns Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing