We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pick your room wisely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Ranked #2 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2011

At the outset, let me say this is a fabulous hotel. The fittings, professionalism of most staff and general vibe of the place is sensational. Apart from a very dated entrance doorway to the lobby, most things were first-class.

However, we were given a room right above the loading bay - which we were not aware of at the time, and spent the first night woken virtually every single hour by bins loads of bottles being tipped into a recycling bin below us on a Monday night (room 212). Presumably the casino bars empty their bins all through the night and I would suggest the hotel could benefit by asking casino staff to hold off empyting these until well into the next morning. I went down to complain to the overnight duty staff member at 4.30am. So, at almost $300 per night, our first night was non-existent.

The overnight staff member told me that someone would contact me when day staff arrived after 8am, which I accepted as being reasonable and went back to bed, as the casino had closed by then. They didn't. I went back down at 10am to follow up and the day staff members had no record of my complaint. Sorry - not good enough for a 5-star hotel. The lady at the front desk kindly arranged a room transfer to 503 where we thoroughly enjoyed our remaining 2 nights.

As we booked through Hotels.com, I fear we were deliberately given a dud room over the loading bay (212) and, having paid in advance, had no recourse. I read of everyone else's water views and delightful stay and just wish we had started on the right foot. There was no apology or acknowledgment of our problem and no apology for the complaint not being recorded (even though the european man who took my complaint wrote it all down).

That aside, the hotel is in a sensational location and is handy to the city centre, the casino and has first-class concierge staff - Matthew and Andrew were so refreshingly genuine and helpful. The China Cafe in the casino foyer was sensational.

Room Tip: Avoid the city rooms above the loading bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GumnutMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianWilliams, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2011

Thank you for your review. As discussed in our direct correspondence again please accept my apologies for the difficulties you encountered on your first night. This was caused by a new staff member not understanding our process. Our standard procedure is to leave bottle bins in the basement until normal daylight hours to avoid any guest impact. Following your comments we have raised this with our bars team and retrained where necessary to ensure we do not have any other impact on our guests' enjoyment.

I can also assure you that your room allocation was not made as a result of any prepaid booking channel and despite the one off noise you experienced the room allocated is otherwise a beautiful room. Naturally all our guests are important and we strive to ensure all our guests leave delighted regardless of how the booking was made.

I am pleased to read that after the first night you enjoyed your stay and found our service team helpful. I hope to personally welcome you back when you are next in Cairns.

Warm regards
Adrian Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,039)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,670 - 1,676 of 2,039 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2011

This was our second stay at the Pullman. We were greeted warmly upon arrival and found our upgraded room to be fantastic. The water views made it so easy to sit on the balcony and relax. The Tamarind restaurant was fantastic - highly recommended. The other cafes and restaurants cater for all tastes. A handy location too- with shopping just a short stroll away. Would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeMac61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianWilliams, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2011

Thank you for your review. It is wonderful to read that you are a return guest and have again enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your comments on our signature restaurant Tamarind. Tamarind is Cairns' most awarded restaurant and we are please you enjoyed your experience with us.

I look forward to personally welcoming you when you return next.

Warm regards
Adrian Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Accor traveller
Innisfail
11
Reviewed 15 June 2011

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AdrianWilliams, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2011

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 June 2011

The Pullman Reef Hotel is a gem. The staff are as helpful and friendly as any Five Star hotel ( Four Season, Etc).... but a much better price. After staying almost a week I did not find anyone who was not helpful, pleasant and accomodating.

The hotel rooms are very nicely appointed and the lobby and public spaces were elegant. The hotel design allows you to come and go and not go thru the Casino, unlike most Vegas hotels.

The location is on tne boardwalk and is excellant. Any part of Downtown including all the restauarants are within a five-ten minute walk. I would go back with out hestiation

Room Tip: Ask for a water view room... over look the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndrewCharles11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianWilliams, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2011

Thank you for your review. It is wonderful to have you all the way from Toronto. Although we may not have Tim Hortons in Australia I am sure you will have found everything else in Cairns was a trip to remember (and I would argue with better coffee than Timmys too!). We appreciate your comments and hope that you spread the word about the beauty of Cairns.

I look forward to personally welcoming you back.

Warm regards
Adrian Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I stayed overnight on a quick business trip to Cairns and loved everything about this hotel. Pullman Reef is in a great location in the centre of Cairns and faces the water. The rooms are perfectly decorated with a stylish yet relaxed tropical feel, the facilities (including conference rooms) are spot on and the staff are exceptional. This is a stylish and very guest friendly 5 star hotel. I will return for a leisure trip so that I can take the time to soak up all that Pullman Reef has to offer.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynWollongong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianWilliams, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2011

Thank you for your review. As a seasoned traveller (ref the number of your posted reviews) we highly appreciate your comments. Coming to Cairns on business often means that you miss out on the best of the region so we do hope to see you return for a more leisurely visit where we can assist you in discovering the hidden secrets of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef!

I look forward to personally welcoming you when you are next in the Tropical North.

Warm regards
Adrian Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We researched hotels in Cairns and found in general The Pullmans was the best. Lots of good things to say. Staff really the best especially Mathew. He was so kind and helpful. Efficient and fast chech in, again front staff very, very nice. Bed the best there is and lovely pillows. Location very good and close to everything. Would have to say the best hotel we have stayed in.... Except our carpet was filthy and had what looked like blood stains on it. Housekeeping came up and cleaned it but we were not offered another room. One staff member said it was unacceptable and I have to agree. On the Tuesday evening I slipped and fell badly on the driveway of the hotel on spilt water. I was offered a cold pack but although we stayed for another 3 days management didn't didn't follow up to see how I was. Nearly 1 week later I still have a bruised foot. These incidents colour ones stay. In fact I was quite shaken and would have appreciated follow up by management. On the plus side the hotel did have barriers put up immediately so no one else would fall.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rosietas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianWilliams, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2011

Thank you for your review. I have personally addressed these issues in our recent telephone conversation and again we wish you a speedy recovery from your fall. We never like to hear of anyone having an accident impact on their time in Cairns and we hope that you were still able to enjoy the beauty of our region.

I note your comments regarding the carpet and I can confirm the red wine stains have been rectified. Although small, we have now replaced the carpet in that room and apologise this was not addressed prior to you entering the room per our normal standards.

Thank you again for your comments.

Warm regards
Adrian Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Accor traveller
atherton
11
Reviewed 10 June 2011

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AdrianWilliams, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2011

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.1 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 63 in Cairns
2,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
3.8 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut
1.5 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 63 in Cairns
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Reef Hotel Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Reef Hotel Casino

Address: 35-41 Wharf St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cairns
#1 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#4 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £129 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Reef Hotel Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled by Trinity inlet and cruise liner terminal, the five-star Pullman Reef Hotel Casino is Cairns most prestigious hotel. Each of our luxurious rooms has its own spa bath, separate walk in shower and garden balcony overlooking the city or water views. A roof-top swimming pool, gym, four restaurants and bars, boutique casino, conference spaces and a unique Wildlife Dome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pullman Reef Hotel Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Reef Hotel Cairns
Accor Reef Hotel
Sofitel Cairns
Cairns Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing