We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel for Relaxation and Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Ranked #2 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel for Relaxation and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

This was our 3rd or 4th time back at the Reef Hotel Casino and i can say once again another absolutely stunning stay. We had planned to go to Sydney or Melbourne but the charm of this hotel called us back. The exceptional service is what sets this hotel apart.

As you step in the door is generally opened for you and you are greeted by a genuine warm friendly smile. The check in desk is sit down and very comfortable. This time we got upgraded to a Pullman Suite and i can honestly say the room was beautiful clean tidy and the view from the city to the ocean was stunning.

Everyone knows your name the cleaners, the front office people always greet you by your name which i find is very personable. Our dry cleaning did get lost one day but i must make a special thanks to Odette on front desk who did everything she could to get it back and it was received later that night really no big problem.

The hotel did organise flowers for my partners birthday which was something very nice and greatly appreciated. We must say it is a pleasant and thoroughly enjoyable place to stay the turn down service is second to none we never saw them but each night it was turned down the room was cleaned up a a bit and the towels all changed and the bins emptied and chocolates and water on your table now thats service!!

We hummed and harred about having dinner in the Tamarind Restaurant as im not usually a big fan of Asian food but on the last night we were there we went after gentle persuasion from the front office staff, and i can honestly say i wish i went there every night i had the Sirlion Steak it would have to be the best steak i have ever had cooked to perfect and just the perfect size highly recommended my partner had the chicken and said it was divine. The service is exceptional you never have to chase them for more water or service its always there perfect and very reasonably priced, its a shame we didnt dine there more next time!!

Once again a lovely stay there the staff and hotel are really second to none and its why we keep returning the warm friendly smiles and a genuine love for the job look forward to our holiday up there again next year.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrRedgrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne R, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this review, 20 October 2011
Dear Dr Redgrave,

We do appreciate you choosing to stay with us at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino and thank you for taking the time to post your feedback.

Thank you for your kind words, the team thrive on providing exceptional service and it is pleasing to see that we have delivered on this occasion. I do apologise for the mix up with your dry cleaning and have spoken with the team to see where we went wrong.

Tamarind is our multi award winning restaurant and it is great to see that they have lived up to their service promise for you.

Dr Redgrave, thank you once again for coming back to us time and again and we do look forward to welcoming you back when you next holiday in Cairns.

Warm regards
Wayne Reynolds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,873 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,250
    481
    101
    27
    14
See reviews for
262
1,079
101
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

I travelled with my spouse, on business, and had a very relaxing enjoyable time. Part of the charm of this hotel is it's size, bigger than boutique, but smaller than grand. It was perfect, you could swim in the pool without the crowds. Everything about the hotel was first class. Thanks Pullman Reef Hotel Cairns!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KylieF6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne R, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this review, 13 October 2011
Thank you for choosing to stay with us while on business and for taking the time to pass on your feedback.

We are fortunate to be able to cater perfectly to our valued business travellers as well as leisure guests with our beautiful pool deck overlooking Trinity Inlet and our newly refurbished conference rooms with state of the art technology and seamless service.

The team at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino look forward to welcoming you back for your next business or leisure trip.

Warm regards
Wayne Reynolds
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innisfail
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

have stayed at the casino several times will do so again walking distance to most of cairns shopping restaurants, picture theatres and entertainment.the espanade is close by with pool and walking track workout stations along the track. great helpfull staff great place to stay .

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shauna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne R, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this review, 13 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback and choosng to stay with us at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino.

It was fantastic to read that we were able to cater to all your needs, we are perfectly located in Cairns close to all amenities and entertainment at our doorstep.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Wayne Reynolds
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

Hotel casino. If you are anything like me, I am naturally sceptical when it comes to staying at hotel casinos in resort type destinations (unless you are high roller and been given the presidential suite). They are typically dated and run down.

To our *pleasant* surprise, Pullman was far from that. Our superior room was understated and amazingly well maintained. Everything worked as they were suppose to, no funny charges, check-in and staff were low-key and friendly, fantastic location and all round good stay.

There were very little negatives if any. I guess if you are about the view, there is not much of a view from the room. Parking is not free even if you are a hotel guest, you pay a 'discounted' rate of $18 *I think* and no free internet wifi access (although there are computers in lobby that you could use for free). However, I guess you can't have everything.

Just by way of comparison, we walked past Shangri-la late one night and if we were staying there, we would not have been amused by the loud music from the restaurants and bars at the base of the building.

Long story short, if you are looking for a simple, nice and comfortable hotel, we would thoroughly recommend staying at Pullman.

Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kerwei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne R, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this review, 13 October 2011
Dear Kerwei,

We do appreciate you choosing to stay with us at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino.

It is great to read that we were a pleasant surprise! Our team take a great deal of pride in the hotel and in delivering a memorable guest experience.

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Wayne Reynolds
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.0 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.1 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
1.6 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Reef Hotel Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Reef Hotel Casino

Property: Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Address: 35-41 Wharf St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#1 Business Hotel in Cairns
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#4 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Reef Hotel Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled by Trinity inlet and cruise liner terminal, the five-star Pullman Reef Hotel Casino is Cairns most prestigious hotel. Take the time to look at our rates to see all of our EXTRA INCLUSIONS - we have thought of everything. Each of our luxurious rooms has its own spa bath, separate walk in shower and garden balcony overlooking the city or water views. A roof-top swimming pool, gym, four restaurants and bars, boutique casino, conference spaces and a unique Wildlife Dome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pullman Reef Hotel Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Reef Hotel Cairns
Accor Reef Hotel
Sofitel Cairns
Cairns Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing