We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Ranked #2 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Absolutely amazing and worth every dollar. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was amazing, from the to-die-for bed (which I must find out where to purchase one from) to the stunning views and open plan living which allowed for the views to be enjoyed from the bathtub. I have no complaints, and am sure that even if I do so, the staff would do everything in their power to make our stay more comfortable. The pool, sauna and gym facilities were excellent, and the 4metre croc living on the roof definitely was the "wow" factor.

I recommend to all and will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HannahJean03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne R, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2012

Dear HannahJean03,
Thank you for chosing to stay with us and for taking the time to post your feedback. Our beds receive a number of great comments, we are able to source one for you should you wish, please contact me at the hotel.
You should try the newly opening Zoom over the Croc!
Kind regards
Wayne Reynolds

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,052)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,313 - 1,319 of 2,052 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2012

Stayed last weekend for 3 nights at Reef Hotel Casino. Checked difference between Superior & Deluxe room was that one had city views the Deluxe had water views. We paid for the water views however after checking in at 10pm we awoke to not see any water except a glimpse from corner of balcony. To the credit of hotel they reduced our nightly rate to the cost of a Superior room but it definantly should not be sold as a Deluxe under as there were no water views, Tamarind restaurant was excellent for dinner and we went both nights. Breakfast was not so exciting spinach on eggs benedict had been cooked beyond recongnition. Room service ice & cleaning was very good. Pool was small and not inviting. Biggest disappointment was Vertigo Cocktail bar in casino. Had a list of a dozen cocktails on wall from which we selected 2 cocktails one required fresh berries and lychees. When we ordered we were told they did not have ingredients to make one of the key cocktails they had on the wall. Ok so we changed and ordered a champagne cocktail - (this was a cocktail bar) to be told by the girl serving she did not know how to make a champagne cocktail. In this day and age no excuse not to have the ingredients for your key cocktails and a list or even internet access for bar staff to look up cocktails they may not know. Common cocktails should be on cheat sheets behind bar so all can be made consistently, We went across road to Pullman International which did have a good and skilled cocktail bar with live music where we relaxed after dinner at the Tamarind. Great convenient location and new boardwalk at front of hotel is gorgeous to wander along at any time.

Room Tip: If paying for a Deluxe room insist on one facing boardwalk at front of hotel. Pool is on level 4 so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BTH84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne R, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2012

Dear BTH84,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I have passed your valuable feedback onto our bar team and apologise for the inconvenience caused.
Kind regards
Wayne Reynolds

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

We booked into the Pullman through Accor membership for a night in Cairns.
We had a terrific stay starting from the greeting a the front desk to departing next day. The room was great and all facilities were excellent, from the bed to the bathroom.
The staff were courteous, friendly and helpful.
As we didn't fly out until late the next night they stored our luggage and even let my wife have a shower and change before we had to leave for the airport.
In hind sight several more days there would have the thing for us to do!
Thanks Pullman and Accor.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnfhansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne R, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2012

Dear johnfhansen,
Many thanks for taking the time to post your kind words. It is fantastice to read that we were able to give you a memorable short stay. We do hope that you may get the chance to stay with us again when you next travel to Cairns.
Kind regards
Wayne Reynolds

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Reception very efficient and concierge very friendly. Room overall good and clean. The bed had a very thick duck down mattress topper which was so comfortable we bought one to use at home as soon as we could find one. The work on the cruise terminal opposite has now finished, but despite asking for a quiet room we were put directly opposite these noisy roadworks. Reception had previously told us we would have an ocean facing room at city view prices, knowing we would be woken up by the jackhammers in the morning. We resent being treated like idiots, don't lie to customers. We love staying here and will visit again but remain vigilant for the 'catch' if they mention no extra cost upgrades. Didn't try Tamarind but did, unfortunately, try Flinders Bar & Grill in the casino where the food is simply diabolical. We have since eaten there a couple of times & the standard of food is a disgrace with kitchen staff who don't give a damn. Whoever manages this place should visit Townsville casino on site cafe where the food is fresh, well cooked and very edible. For gamers who want to eat decent food they have to leave the casino and go to surrounding food outlets.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank SeniorSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne R, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2012

Dear senior sailor,
We do appreciate you taking the time to post your coments. I have passed your feedback to our Front Office Manager and Executive Chef for review with the team.
Kind regards
Wayne Reynolds

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank keith yashen j
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wayne R, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Recently stayed here pre and post departure Orion cruise. Very prompt, friendly front desk. The room was very nice with huge tub and comfy bed. I also enjoyed using the gym and pool, niether of which was crowded. Breakfast at Tamarind was good.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kentmorrdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne R, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2012

Dear Kentmorrdave,
We very much appreciate you taking the time to post your comments. Great to read that you enjoyed our service and facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back when you next travel to Cairns>
Kind regards
Wayne Reynolds

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noelene16
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wayne R, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.1 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#5 of 63 in Cairns
2,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
3.8 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut
1.5 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 63 in Cairns
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Reef Hotel Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Reef Hotel Casino

Address: 35-41 Wharf St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cairns
#1 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#4 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £128 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Reef Hotel Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled by Trinity inlet and cruise liner terminal, the five-star Pullman Reef Hotel Casino is Cairns most prestigious hotel. Each of our luxurious rooms has its own spa bath, separate walk in shower and garden balcony overlooking the city or water views. A roof-top swimming pool, gym, four restaurants and bars, boutique casino, conference spaces and a unique Wildlife Dome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pullman Reef Hotel Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Reef Hotel Cairns
Accor Reef Hotel
Sofitel Cairns
Cairns Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing