We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very comfortable and relaxing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pullman Reef Hotel Casino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Ranked #2 of 65 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“very comfortable and relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

we enjoyed to stay in this hotel: we got a very spacious, comfortable, clean room with everything you need to rest and relax, great spa bath, lovely balcony with ocean and city view. Service is good, receptionists are very helpful and friendly. Not sure about restaurants there as we didn't eat there (price for breakfast was too high, and there are a lot nice cafes nearby proposed beautiful breakfast for less money). We visited a hotel casino (though at night it didn't disturb our stay in the hotel as our room was in different wing of the building). We wanted to visit a hotel zoo on the roof and were surprised that we should buy a ticket in spite of being hotel residents. Location of the hotel is very good, 5 minutes walk to the quay to take any boat trip to the great barrier reef and good choice of restaurants for evening meal with nice sea view.

Room Tip: our room was on 8th floor with ocean and city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne R, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Jane M,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we do appreciate you taking the time to post your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and the surroundings.
Kind regards
Wayne Reynolds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,847 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,231
    474
    101
    27
    14
See reviews for
260
1,063
100
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Very comfortable, clean, spacious, and quiet rooms. We enjoyed retreating to the calm and cool of the room everyday. The staff was always welcoming and happy to assist with any requests. The pool and workout room were well-maintained and were also a bit of a sanctuary from the active tourist spots. The hotel is directly across from the main harbor port where you can directly book all of your reef excursions without having to choose from the hundreds of "information" offices (travel agencies) in town. It made getting to the port for departures a stress-free experience. It is also a short walk to the Esplande and several good dining options; from burgers to upscale local. We didn't spend much time in the casino, but it was nice to have an evening activity option close by. We must have had a room away from the casino, as we did not suffer from any noise from the casino, or street, or otherwise. We enjoyed our 5-night visit to Cairns very much!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne R, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Tammy K,
We do appreciate you staying with us and taking the time to post your comments. It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay in comfort.
Kind regards
Wayne Reynolds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yungaburra, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

While the bed was incredibly comfortable and the rooms were nice and clean, you do expect this for the price! The pool was nice (although not very cold - but Cairns is hot!!), drinks and meal service to the pool was lovely. Firstly, the parking is $8 per night (on top of a hefty room charge) and we couldn't use it anyway (2.0m maximum height) so we had to find a park on the street which was pretty hard! Secondly, you had to pay for internet in your room! For a supposedly 5 star hotel, I thought this was ridiculous. There should have been free wifi. I was pretty disappointed with the hairdryer; no strength at all, took half an hour to get my hair half dry. Breakfast was nice, but for $35 for the buffet, there wasn't much choice. Overall, for a 5 star hotel, it was overpriced. I would say it's 4 star. Nice, but not the wow factor you're looking for when you pay that money for a room.

Room Tip: A water view room would have been nice, but even more costly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nellie117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne R, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Nellie117,
Thak you for taking the time to post your feedback. I'm sorry we didn't meet your expectations on this occassion. Our parking is some of the most economical in the Cairns CBD and we try and keep it very reasonable, you will find all of the 5 star hotels have a levy for parking. We do provide 30mins free wifi in your room or in the lobby daily, I am very sorry this was not bought to your attention.
Kind regards
Wayne Reynolds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed at the Reef Casino Hotel in january 2014. The rooms and service was very nice but the noice of the club in the casino was spoilling it for us. We had to stay up till 02.00 pm till the street noice and the drum stopped. The hotel was very sorry about the inconvience and they were very helpfull. At the end we were very happy about the service, the room and the facilities but we can not recommend it for people who like a good night sleep.

Room Tip: Rooms on the pool side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barman P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne R, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Barman P,
I do sincerely apologise for the inconvenience of the street noise and club, being part of an entertainment complex does at times unfortunately have some of the festiveness cross over into the serenity of the hotel surrounds. Fortunately, with the hotel rooms located away from the main entertainment area and security key access to all accommodation floors, for the most part the fun stays in the entertainment areas and the serenity in the accommodation areas. We do our very best to ensure a good nights sleep for all.
Kind regards
Wayne Reynolds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.1 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.1 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
1.5 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 65 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Reef Hotel Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Reef Hotel Casino

Property: Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Address: 35-41 Wharf St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cairns
#1 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#4 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Reef Hotel Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled by Trinity inlet and cruise liner terminal, the five-star Pullman Reef Hotel Casino is Cairns most prestigious hotel. Take the time to look at our rates to see all of our EXTRA INCLUSIONS - we have thought of everything. Each of our luxurious rooms has its own spa bath, separate walk in shower and garden balcony overlooking the city or water views. A roof-top swimming pool, gym, four restaurants and bars, boutique casino, conference spaces and a unique Wildlife Dome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Pullman Reef Hotel Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Reef Hotel Cairns
Accor Reef Hotel
Sofitel Cairns
Cairns Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing