We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Ranked #2 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“wow”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This Hotel took my breath away. When we got there we told told by the receptionist that we had a lovely room and she wasnt wrong!!! It was a good size with a beautiful view of the water. It was done in colonial style and the louvre doors opened up between the bedroom and the bathroom so you can have a bath and look at the view from your window in private...amazing! The staff were very helpful and the concierge who I think was called Matthew could not have done any more for us, he was truly brilliant at what he did

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Br0lga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne R, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Br0lga,
We do thank you for your recommendations, it's excellent to see that we were able to provide that "WOW" factor for you during your stay. Matthew our concierge is amazing, I have passed your feedback onto him, he is chuffed that he has helped.
We do hope to welcome you back when you next holiday.
Kind regards
Wayne Reynolds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,901 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,272
    484
    103
    28
    14
See reviews for
265
1,096
102
220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
US
Level Contributor
112 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

This is the second of our one night stays at this hotel. Rooms are beautiful, large and well appointed. What I wanted to commend was the night manager Mr. Vasudev Walie. My partner fell ill and the manager first tried to get us a doctor at the hotel, and when the timing proved unsuitable, he personally drove us to the 24 hour medical clinic in town at 6.00 am and then returned to pick us up. Accor a Hotels should be proud to have this caliber of staff.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Serendib100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne R, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Serendib100,
Thank you for coming back to stay with us! I do hope that your partner has fully recovered, I have passed your compliments to our team member, we are very proud of our team and the lengths they will go to ensure our guests are looked after in every way.
Kind regards
Wayne Reynolds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC
Level Contributor
179 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

This place is amazing. We took the double bed upgrade for an extra $45 a night which had a water/city/mountain view and a balcony. It also had ensuite espresso machine and milk frother and a double spa bath. It is much more spacious than our original booking of standard 1 K. The pool was nice as well. There are a lot of places to eat at and near the hotel; however, the hotel restaurants close EARLY. This hotel is also a very short walking distance to the reef terminal where the Great Barrier Reef tours leave from. The concierge was extremely helpful with our tour bookings and also provided us with our tour towels. They also have complimentary Nespresso at the lobby for guests that you can take with you in take away cups.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunset007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne R, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Sunset007,
Thank you for chosing to stay with us, it is fantastic to read that you enjoyed your room and all of it's luxurious amenities. We do hope to welcome you back when you next holiday in Cairns.
Kind regards
Wayne Reynolds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The hotel is semi-attached to the casino. The casino is arguably nicer than the hotel, and the casino is solidly mid-level. So the hotel- while maybe on the better side compared to others in town- is just okay. Lobby was unremarkable. Gym was minimal. Pool was nice. Room service was below average (I was out of options due to hotel restaurant being closed; see below). I stayed in a suite with a great water view and wrap around balcony. That was the best part of the room and best part of the hotel. The room was spacious, but the work desk was too small and the spot lights directly above the bed had no independent controls. If fact the room lights were either on or off; sometimes it is helpful to offer degrees of each. The bathroom was adequate (windows in the shower and tub were a nice touch), but the closet was too small. Internet/wi-fe was easy, if not a little slow. I can deal with the room and ultimately it served its purpose. However, the staff was really a low point. Nobody seemed to know basic information about restaurants, transportation, and local information. Asked for a nail salon, nobody had any recommendations (I found one two blocks away). Asked for bus service, they sent me to the main station closed for renovations. Asked for Thai restaurant, nobody had any information (I found one on the esplanade a few block from the hotel which was very good and I wish I could recall the name of it so that I could point others to it (it was located upstairs past the McDonalds is the best I can recall). Asked what time the Chinese restaurant in the hotel closed and I was not give a specific time only told no earlier than 10 or 11. Turns out the restaurant closes before 9. Asked for more towels, it took two calls as an many hours to spurn movement. These are just a few of the problems. None of these questions were meant to be confounding or confusing, just the basic stuff. These are signs to me that the staff is really not interested in being helpful and not engaged in creating a positive customer experience. I won't be back and I would recommend that you try another property. There is a Hilton, as well as another Pullman property across the street. They looked more than adequate and will surely be a better choice in the overall.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Latitudes_Dancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne R, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Latitudes_Dancer,
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. I am very sorry that we were unable to meet your expectations on this occassion. I have followed up with our team members and they are equally dissappointed we could not meet your needs.
We do thank you for staying with us.
Kind regards
Wayne Reynolds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Another amazing stay this time it was moving my sister up to Cairns for university.
This hotel is amazing it never ceases to bring a smile to my face each time we visit, i know some people will say its a little bit dated and thats true but its still kept in immaculate condition and very well looked after.

Upon check in you are always greeted warmly and welcoming this time we were late and they knew we were arriving with a trailer full of items we moved up they checked us in then concierge assisted with storing the trailer and helping around that it was great they could accommodate the trailer, very helpful.

They had a roll away bed for one night that was great and the room is always beautifully neat and tidy over looking the water beautiful view on a great floor they have had a minor update but still great rooms!!

The beds are really comfy and soft we love them like sleeping in a cloud they really are good they rooms are always superbly cleaned a real testament to the staff that work there.

We had to get the trailer in and out and store it for a few days concierge knew this and was always will to help and offer any assistance with the task, i can't thank them enough certainly made the trip that much easier as i know its a pain for them but thank you, Michael i think his name is older gentleman on concierge truly went above and beyond his duties!!!

The staff always set this place apart as i always stay and why we keep coming back! Lovely friendly atmosphere its really great we love it and will continue to always come back, you just feel so relaxed here, and all the fresh flowers in the lobby is great along with the turn down service.

A great hotel 5 star in our eyes!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrRedgrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne R, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear DrRedgrave,
Always a great pleasure to welcome you back, we do thank you very much for your continued support. I hope your sister is well and truly settled into life in Cairns and we look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit.
Warm regards
Wayne Reynolds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights as Cyclone Ita was due to hit North Queensland. We were amazed and delighted by the service offered by all the staff in a time of crisis.

We arrived on the day the cyclone was due to make landfall at a time that all hotels in Cairns were starting to fill up. The first positive I will say about the hotel is that they didn't hike up their rates at a time when they quite easily could have done so.

The rooms themselves are lovely. Spotlessly clean and well appointed. Ours had a jacuzzi bathtub which was very nice.

From the point of check in, the staff went out of their way to help us. Firstly they talked us through the emergency plans if the cyclone were to hit, which involved going to the ballroom on the second floor where we would be provided with blankets and water. The fact the hotel had already considered the impact of the cyclone made us feel safe and secure.

Later that day we were emailed by our airline to say our flight had been cancelled. Again, the hotel staff went out of their way to help by searching for local contact numbers for the airline which would be inexpensive to call. Whenever we walked through the lobby, they would come and ask us how we were getting on with resolving the issue which really made us feel welcome and that they cared.

As the storm passed through and it was not possible to leave the hotel, we received a note to our room which stated that we would be offered complementary breakfast, lunch and dinner. Again, the hotel could have decided to make a quick profit here but instead made the decision to really look after their guests.

I have never had such a positive experience of a hotel and can't speak highly enough of the hotel itself, its caring staff and its management.

Absolutely fantastic.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank pa0067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne R, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear pa0067,
The team are very gratefull for your kind words. It is pleasing to see that we were able to look after you well during the cyclone and that the steps we took to ensure your safety was well received.
Kind regards
Wayne Reynolds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.0 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.1 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
1.6 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Reef Hotel Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Reef Hotel Casino

Property: Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Address: 35-41 Wharf St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#1 Business Hotel in Cairns
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#4 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Reef Hotel Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled by Trinity inlet and cruise liner terminal, the five-star Pullman Reef Hotel Casino is Cairns most prestigious hotel. Take the time to look at our rates to see all of our EXTRA INCLUSIONS - we have thought of everything. Each of our luxurious rooms has its own spa bath, separate walk in shower and garden balcony overlooking the city or water views. A roof-top swimming pool, gym, four restaurants and bars, boutique casino, conference spaces and a unique Wildlife Dome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pullman Reef Hotel Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Reef Hotel Cairns
Accor Reef Hotel
Sofitel Cairns
Cairns Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing