We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Ranked #2 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,906 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,276
    484
    104
    28
    14
See reviews for
266
1,098
102
222
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We have stayed at this hotel twice in the last month. On both occasions we have had a great stay. The rooms were spacious, and it's great to have a balcony. Room service was tasty, and the reception staff were very efficient and friendly. We will stay again when we next visit Cairns.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade - we did and we were upgraded to a Junior Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeverHome3500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne R, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear OnTheRoadAgain,
Thank you so much for coming to stay with us twice in the one month. We are very proud when our guests come back to stay with us. We do appreciate your business and hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards
Wayne Reynolds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Awesome and comfortable stay, the beds wow!! Could've had blinds (as well as the louvers) for the late risers. The casino itself was pretty average, there are very few tables open. But the sports bar had an awesome cinema setup. The hotel staff were great and very helpful throughout our stay. It was a good location, and only a short walk to most attractions and restaurants. Although open late, there was no noise from the casino or bars downstairs - which was a pleasant surprise. The gym was well equipped, and the pool area was relaxing (could've had the spa heater on). We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AimeeRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne R, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear AimeeRichard,
Sorry about the blinds, we can't have you missing too much of all the great things to do in the region! Our beds are often commented on as super comfy I am glad you enjoyed them, the room and our location. Hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards
Wayne Reynolds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Our recent first time visit to Cairns was made so special by the staff at the Pullman Reef Hotel Casino.

We chose the hotel because of its proximity to the water, views, the jetty for reef tours and the boardwalk...and all of these things were met perfectly.

The service at the hotel was exceptional...staff and manager at the front desk were attentive, helpful and wonderful to deal with. They always used our name and were happy to book tours for us and help us choose breakfast cafes and restaurants for dinner. They were helpful with moving us rooms and looking at our TV problem.

The rooms are clean, spacious and lovely. The toilet being separate to the bathroom is great and the bathrooms are large and very bright.

If you are going to stay at this hotel for the view be sure to check what the specific view is from the room you are choosing as some rooms are described as having water views on the internet when in fact there's not much of a water view.

The view from the rooms looking over Trinity Inlet is spectacular. We could have sat on the balcony all day watching the mountains, the water and beautiful rainbow that appeared one afternoon.

The Nespresso coffee machine available in the foyer is a wonderful touch, as it is in some of the rooms. We had a Nespresso machine in our room along with the usual tea and coffee making facilities.

The parking underneath the hotel is convenient and inexpensive.

If I was to visit Cairns again I would definitely be staying at the Pullman Reef Hotel Casino.

Don't let the fact that the Casino is attached to the building put you off. We don't use Casinos and did not find that having the Casino so close was a problem.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GracePip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne R, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear GracePip,
Brilliant to see that we ticked all the boxes for you from a location, service and facilities point of view. Throw in a bit of romance and some exceptional staff and hey presto a stay at the Pullman Reef Hotel Casino! Thank you for choosing to stay with us we do appreciate you taking the time to post such a great review.
Kind regards
Wayne Reynolds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Not much more needs to be said. I don't dish out 5 stars that often, when I do it's because they earned it. As a member of Advantage Plus was upgraded on arrival to a delux room. Beautifully appointed, decent view, brilliant price.

Staff proffessional, helpful, friendly. Location perfect.

There's not much more that needs to be said, this is a very well run hotel, well priced, good location. If staying in Cairns, this is where to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank always_Itchy_feet27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne R, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear always_itchy_feet27,
Thank you for the 5 stars! Excellent to see we have made the grade, we thank you for your great recommendation.
Kind regards
Wayne Reynolds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Very happy to have spent a night at the Pullman Reef Hotel - I booked the junior suite which was lovely ! Very nicely decorated and very spacious- great bed and a huge bathroom with a spa bath and a wonderfully powerfull shower. Staff were all very helpfull and friendly and I had a wondeful chat with the lovely lady who did the turn down service ! Room service was quick - food was hot and very very nice ! So I will be staying again and happy to recommend to all.

The casino on the other hand was the complete opposite ! Croupiers were totally disinterested and very unproffessional carrying on private conversations with each other whilst spinning the roulette wheels. The bouncers at the entrance sneered on entry and exit and I felt totally unwelcome. A very average experience.
So stay in the hotel forget the casino !!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne R, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Mike W,
Great to see you enjoyed the suite our super comfy beds and huge bathrooms! I do apologise for your Casino experience and have discussed your concerns with the team. Look forward to welcoming you back when next in Cairns.
Best regards
Wayne Reynolds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.0 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.1 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
1.6 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Reef Hotel Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Reef Hotel Casino

Property: Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Address: 35-41 Wharf St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cairns
#1 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#4 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Reef Hotel Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled by Trinity inlet and cruise liner terminal, the five-star Pullman Reef Hotel Casino is Cairns most prestigious hotel. Take the time to look at our rates to see all of our EXTRA INCLUSIONS - we have thought of everything. Each of our luxurious rooms has its own spa bath, separate walk in shower and garden balcony overlooking the city or water views. A roof-top swimming pool, gym, four restaurants and bars, boutique casino, conference spaces and a unique Wildlife Dome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Pullman Reef Hotel Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Reef Hotel Cairns
Accor Reef Hotel
Sofitel Cairns
Cairns Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing