We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury and Confortable hotel, but disappointed by ants”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Ranked #2 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
geneva
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Luxury and Confortable hotel, but disappointed by ants”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Though we liked the overall luxury settings and comfort of the room, we were a disappointed due to the presence of the ants that we discovered the second day, first in the bathroom, walking around the sink, then in the bedroom, walking on the walls and on the TV furniture. We reported to the reception. The lady was nice enough to come, to note the ants-issue and to spray around in the room. Following her instructions, we aired the room for a while. She indicated to us that it was normal to have ants, even lots of ants in the tropical region. We felt that as we didn't leave any food, nor fruits, not even opened bottles in the room, we shouldn't have ants. These were small almost invisible brown-red ants. We felt a bit uncomfortable, but she said in case it comes again, they will look for possibilities to change. The next day, as we were leaving at 6:30am, we still notice the return of the ants, but we were checking out anyway, as we had a flight at 8am and were not going to change the room. For a luxury hotel, we would have thought that ants would not be present, even in tropical regions.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SushiTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne R, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear SushiTrotter,
We thank you very much for the review on your stay at our hotel. We are very sorry for the ant issue in your room which could not be rectified during your stay and left you with bad memories of your time with us.
Unfortunately, due to the tropical location of our hotel, ants can be present at times, although we take every possible step to avoid pests entering the building.
We very much appreciate you sharing your concerns and it is our hope that you will still consider staying with us when you next visit Cairns.
Yours sincerely,
W. Reynolds
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,944 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,307
    489
    105
    28
    15
See reviews for
273
1,117
104
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

A few nights in the Junior Suite were comfortable thanks to a good size room and big balcony.
The room amenities are nice and the beds soft but are sagging in the centre. The location is convenient to the mall, restaurants and esplanade, there is a small 24hr store accross the street. The Concierge staff were the stars, always helpful and friendly. We would definately stay again on our next visit.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the water will have the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trippin_4Kicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne R, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Trippin_4Kicks,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. Your feedback is very important to us, as we strive to provide a superior service experience for all our guests. I will also share your comments with our staff, especially Concierge. I am sorry that the bedding in your suite was not satisfactory, I will definitely follow this up with our team.
We hope you will allow us to look after you again in the near future!
Yours sincerely,
W. Reynolds
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The very best in Cairns. Close to the pier to get to GBR, also to restaurants and if you want to stay late into the night it also has a casino. Rooms are recently done up with a spa bath tub in room. Ask for a harbour facing room. And if you have time, go out for a run over the boardwalk. Wonderful place.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ash2501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne R, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Ash2501,
Thank you for your recent review on your stay with us. We truly are located in a great spot in Cairns, great to explore the city and its' surrounds. The boardwalk is always nice to go for a walk or run too. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back soo!
Kind regards,
W. Reynolds
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last week for one night for a work trip. Great stay- wish it had of been longer. Extremely helpful concierge, spacious and well equipped room with a beautiful view of the water, ideal location and great pool area. (Although the water temp was a little chilly)
Will definitely be back.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank 1180Bel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne R, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear 1180 Bel,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback from our guests and I will share it with our team.
We hope you will consider us when planning your next holiday and spend some more time here to be able to truly explore what our region has to offer.
Kind regards,
W. Reynolds
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

My partner and I were there for 2 nights for our short trip to Cairns.. compared a few different hotels on Tripadvisor and decided to go to with Pullman Reef..and we were glad that we did..
We got to the hotel around 930am due to our early flight..Our room wasn't ready so we were given a key to freshen up at the pool level..got our luggage stored and headed out for a nice walk along the harbour.. Right across the hotel there was some bbq pits, a big playground that was built around a big tree.. Walking distance to the Esplanade and the town centre..

Got a call when the room was ready to check it..our luggage were sent up to our room.We had a room on Level 7 (highest level ) and facing the water. The room was just amazing..spacious and clean and we had a little balcony too. Bathroom was awesome too..double sink..separate shower and bath (jacuzzi bath) and the toilet was in a separated room by itself..with a sink in it..Big wardrobe with safe box..
Provided with heaps of tea (different selection)/coffee..Bed was just heavenly! I totally passed
out on the bed and pillows..

Things to pick on :They was roadwork right on the street in front of the hotel..So when it was around 8am ..the noise was pretty loud..might not be good if you are looking to sleep in.. It
was fine for us since we were getting up early.
Furniture at the balcony were bit dated.. need some maintenance or replacing..
The little table beside the tv was too dark. Think there was a power outlet for a lamp ..but there was just no lamp!

Hotel lobby was nice and quiet.. Lovely environment ..We didn't visit the pool since it was so small. We asked for a late checkout and were accommodated with a fee (not expensive which was great). We didnt get to try the breakfast at Tamarind but we will for our next trip back. Will definitely spread the words about how great this place is..

Room Tip: Rooms are all amazing. Probably get the suite if its in your budget and higher floor with water view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PocketJenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne R, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear PocketJenni,
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for your comments.
A good rest is so important, great that you liked our comfy beds. We are very sorry for the street noise coming from the road works, this should no longer be an issue when you next come and stay with us. Please do try our Tamarind restaurant for breakfast and dinner, you should not be disappointed.
We are looking forward to welcome you back soon!
Best regards,
W. Reynolds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Stayed for 3 nights,wish I had booked in for longer. Took advice from fellow travellers and upgraded to room with balcony and water views.this was certainly the way to go. Very comfortable room and very quiet. Breakfast in the adjoining Tamarind Restaurant was A La Carte and the best hotel breakfast EVER ! Loved having the Casiino adjacent and even scored a couple of wins !!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank BHP534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne R, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear BHP 534,
Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us, great choice staying in one of our lovely waterview rooms. Our Chef always tries to create something new for our breakfast menu, so it is nice to read that you enjoyed his offerings. Hopefully you will be back for a visit in the near future and even score some more wins at the Casino!
Yours sincerely,
W. Reynolds
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I stayed here for a conference and was very happy with the level of customer service and Friendly staff. It was a Pleasant environment from the moment I arrived. The rooms are large, clean and modern. Mine looked out over the water so I enjoyed a great view. I stayed for a week and could not fault anything. We had meals during the conference for 100 and food was prompt and fresh and very yummy.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne R, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Melmusic,
Thank you for your review on your stay and the feeback on the conference you attended. Our team will be delighted to hear that you were happy with the food offerings during the conference and the level of service provided. We hope you will be able to come and visit us again for a holiday to enjoy our lovely waterview rooms.
Kind regards,
W. Reynolds
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.0 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.1 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
2,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
1.6 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
584 reviews
3.8 mi away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Reef Hotel Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Reef Hotel Casino

Property: Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Address: 35-41 Wharf St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cairns
#1 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#4 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Reef Hotel Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled by Trinity inlet and cruise liner terminal, the five-star Pullman Reef Hotel Casino is Cairns most prestigious hotel. Take the time to look at our rates to see all of our EXTRA INCLUSIONS - we have thought of everything. Each of our luxurious rooms has its own spa bath, separate walk in shower and garden balcony overlooking the city or water views. A roof-top swimming pool, gym, four restaurants and bars, boutique casino, conference spaces and a unique Wildlife Dome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pullman Reef Hotel Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Reef Hotel Cairns
Accor Reef Hotel
Sofitel Cairns
Cairns Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing