We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff--great hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pullman Reef Hotel Casino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Ranked #2 of 65 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Toowoomba Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great staff--great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2010

Everyone was so helpful From check in to room service to the breakfast staff to helping to organise a tour. My only regret is I didn't write down every ones name and then I could THANK YOU PERSONALLY-----Anyway we'll be back!!!!!!















































so thankyou to all who dealt with us---You know who you are !































NK THEM PERSONALLY ON THIS SITE

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOseph710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianWilliams, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this review, 28 January 2010
Thank you JOseph710 for the wonderful review. We are proud of the service our staff provide and very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable time with us. I will pass on your comments to our team. We look forward to having you with us again.

Adrian Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,850 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,233
    475
    101
    27
    14
See reviews for
260
1,065
100
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2010

Stayed at the Pullman for three days in a junior suite - very comfortable bed, large amount of space and an excellent bathroom, all extremely clean. The TV was a bit small. The staff were excellent - very professional - my teenage sons were looking forward to the blueberry pancakes at the buffet breakfast but they were not available - the female chef must have overheard as five minutes later she brought some pancakes to our table - the boys were most impressed and it is little touches like that which can really lift a place.

We had room service and that was quick and flexible. The gym was ok for our inexpert use and the pool was pleasant though they could do with some decent shade around it.

The only thing that annoyed me was that each night I had to shut about 12 shutters manually and then each morning they would open them. I like it dark when I sleep!

The valet car parking was efficient and the concierge helpful. All the tours that we went on would pick us up at the front door so there was little need for a hire car unless you wanted to go sightseeing at your own pace. It is close enough to walk to the shops, night market, restaurants, and swimming areas. All in all, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan_J_S_MELBOURNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianWilliams, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this review, 8 June 2010
Dear Alan-j-sMelbourne

Thank you for your review. I'm pleased to read that you explored Cairns and found the night markets. It is always an interesting thing to do after exploring the Reef during the day!

warm regards

Adrian Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2010

The Pullman was our first stop during our 4 weeks honeymoon in AUS. The hotel is of good standard and the room was clean, spacious and well furbished. Parking is also fair at $8/night and many restaurants are in walking distance. Definetly a very good place to stay!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jemei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianWilliams, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this review, 8 June 2010
Dear jemei

Thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your first night of your honeymoon with us! I hope you enjoyed your time in our region and had a honeymoon to remember.

warm regards
Adrian Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2009

We only had the one night here but as a Cairns local (now residing elsewhere) it was nice to stay somewhere I had not stayed for a long time. The hotel is close to everything and has restaurants, bars and entertainment in the complex and is walking distance to many others. The quality is there, the staff were helpful and the room was better than I remembered. We had a relaxing evening here and will return. Our only issue was noise from a neighbouring room, I poked my head out to see where it was coming from only to come face to face with a very kind staff member who rectified the situation immediately.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smartin33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianWilliams, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this review, 8 June 2010
Dear Smartin33

Thank you for your review. It is really pleasing to have the support of a (former) Cairns resident for our property. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and you can talk with pride about your old city!

Warm regards,

Adrian Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s1cl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2009

And they will- in a tropical environment- bar you from entering the casino- where the day before they will ask how much you had to drink. When I responded with a ridiculous number just to play around, they responded go have a good time.

Not a good casino. They'd do well to learn from vegas casino business approaches. As a prolific gambler- this casino is for rookies- and specifically looks to fleece casual gamers. They enjoy making customers into patsies as opposed to offering an experience. In other words- they just want you money, and poorly copy american casinos in function and don't grasp the form.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s1ck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianWilliams, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this review, 18 December 2009
Thank you for letting us know of your experience.

To provide a safe venue for our visitors to enjoy is of upmost importance to us so we are steadfast when it comes to upholding responsible service of alcohol regulations.

We create memorable experiences for our guests by offering a fabulous range of free entertainment 6 nights per week, very reasonably priced dining and beverage options, great value inclusive accommodation packages and a VIP Services department for dedicated gamblers

Adrian Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canberra
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2009

As the last stop on our holiday we decided to stay at the best place last. The rooms were certainly luxurious and the beds beautifully comfortable. What a let down at the gym though no free weights and very limited machines the cheaper hotel in this franchise was far better equiped.Otherwise the hotel is well situated and our view over the marina lovely.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aliboo_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianWilliams, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this review, 8 June 2010
Dear aliboo_9

thank you for your review. You will be interested to know that we are currently planning for an upgrade to our gym equipment. I hope to welcome you back shortly when this work is completed!

Warm regards,

Adrian Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2009

I could easily have stayed in the spacious 2-room King Deluxe suite the whole time, but I came to visit the Great Barrier Reef. The taxi driver told us on the way to the hotel that the Pullman had the best matresses in Cairns, and I believe him. The spacious, modern bathroom included a huge spa bath (probably big enough for 3) and by opening the louvered wall you could expose the spa to the main room of the suite and to the view of the outside. There was a small private balcony with a table and chairs. From the pillow menu to the minibar the Pullman is top drawer all the way. The only downside is that the excellent television merely highlighted the lack of any interesting programming on Australian TV! The first floor casino was a little rich ($20 minimum table bids) but very swank. They also had an interesting array of entertainment in the main bar.
I didn't eat in the hotel, preferring to go to the beachside eateries convienently located across the street, except for one very good room service meal the first night. Great, great, great!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beth_was_here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianWilliams, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this review, 17 December 2009
Dear Beth,

We like this taxi driver! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and experienced some local entertainment too. We showcase free live entertainment six nights a week in Vertigo bar, varying from jazz to blues to Latino to popular favourites. During November we also hosted performances by Australian legends Daryl Braithwaite and Dragon.

Adrian Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.1 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.1 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
1.5 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 65 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Reef Hotel Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Reef Hotel Casino

Property: Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Address: 35-41 Wharf St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cairns
#1 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#4 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Reef Hotel Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled by Trinity inlet and cruise liner terminal, the five-star Pullman Reef Hotel Casino is Cairns most prestigious hotel. Take the time to look at our rates to see all of our EXTRA INCLUSIONS - we have thought of everything. Each of our luxurious rooms has its own spa bath, separate walk in shower and garden balcony overlooking the city or water views. A roof-top swimming pool, gym, four restaurants and bars, boutique casino, conference spaces and a unique Wildlife Dome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Pullman Reef Hotel Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Reef Hotel Cairns
Accor Reef Hotel
Sofitel Cairns
Cairns Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing