We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great staff, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra Esplanade Cairns
Ranked #8 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great staff, great location”
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We sent 3 nights here. The room was spacious and the bed very comfortable. we booked a hotel room and were upgraded to a 1 bedroom suite which was lovely. You are in the middle of all the action with restaurants all around and a supermarket at your back door. The staff were all more than helpful and went out of there way to make you feel welcome. thanks Gaye for sorting us out.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneneKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
Hi JaneneKerry,

Thank you taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. We are very happy we were a positive part of your unforgettable holiday.

It was my pleasure to be of assistance to you when you were here.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Mantra Esplanade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    452
    557
    184
    56
    29
See reviews for
315
515
87
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

I stayed here on business, so selected the Mantra on the basis of location and price. It was an excellent price and right on the water front in the middle of the main street you could walk to town. The service was reasonable - we were upgraded to a side apartment with a bit of a view. It had a small kitchen /burner, a nice lounge and good twin beds. It must have been double glazed because there was no problem with noise. The pool was a bit out of the way (?afterthought) but we didn't swim anyway. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doctimtam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraesp, Front Office Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, 31 July 2011
Dear Doctimtam,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We were happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Melanie Legge
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in June 2011 and had a two-bedroom apartment, which was a perfect set-up for us (parents and 3 adult children). We paid for a city view, but got upgraded to a water view apartment upon arrival, which was very nice and we did have a great view of the water, the lagoon, and the mountains. The apartment was actually two separate rooms -- a regular hotel room with one king bed and a one bedroom apartment with a pull-out sofa and a kitchen -- connected by a common door. Both rooms were clean, modern, and inviting and had everything we needed. We did keep some food in the kitchen, which resulted in ants, but as we were in the tropics this was not unexpected and did happen in other places we stayed, too. Each room had a balcony which was the perfect place to sit in the morning or evening.

Before booking, I read all the other reviews on here warning about the extra charges and lack of hotel-style services, so I knew what to expect, and that was perfectly fine. During our 3 night stay we did not run out of anything and did not mind at all that our room was not made up, so this didn't negatively affect our stay in any way. Every staff member we encountered was extremely friendly, and the people at the desk were very helpful with any questions we had.

The location was ideal -- as close to the lagoon as possible, and a short, easy walk to the departure point for day trips to the Reef.

The only disappointment was the pool, which was ice cold (even the "hot" tub) and never got any sun.

We would absolutely stay here again, if we were to stay in Cairns again. A word about Cairns, though, for anyone who is unfamiliar with it (and this has nothing to do with the hotel) - there's absolutely nothing to do in Cairns itself, other than day trips outside of Cairns. We scheduled one day of our trip to stay in Cairns and see the city, but regretted that, as there is really nothing to see. There's no beach (only the lagoon, which was nice, at least) and no sights.....just touristy, over-priced restaurants, backpacker accommodations, souvenir shops, and travel agents to book day trips. Cairns is best used as a base for day trips (i.e. snorkeling at the Great Barrier Reef, which was the highlight of our two week trips and highly recommended!) but nothing else. The one thing we did enoy in Cairns was the public barbeques available on the lagoon which served as a great alternative to the overpriced and not very appealing restaurants along the Esplanade. It's worth it to rent a car and make the short drive to the northern beaches, such as Palm Cove!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KRB222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraesp, Front Office Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, 31 July 2011
Dear KRB222,

Thank you for taking the time to write of your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure to read that we were able to assist you in provifing a memorable holiday and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Melanie Legge
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

The Mantra Esplanade is a nice property located on the esplanade in Cairns. The room was actually a 1 bedroom apartment with a large kitchenette, a nice bathroom with stackable washer and dryers, and a seperate living room, bedroom area. It also had a large patio which we enjoyed. The downside to this property is the way they try to nickel and dime you to death. They charge for sugar packets, coffee, tea, extra towels, use of the in room safe and maid service. Seems to me that a property of this quality would provide maid service and the basics for their guest.

Room Tip: Pick up supplies(coffe, milk, snacks etc) at the woolworths across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philco214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraesp, Front Office Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, 31 July 2011
Dear Philco 214,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of your recent stay. I am sorry you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay. We hope we have the chance to welcome you back to the Cairns Esplanade in the future.

Kind regards,

Melanie Legge
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed here Aug 2010 for 5 nights. After much research we picked this hotel for the location. It was a very good decision! We were able to walk everywhere. We had a 2 bedroom, as others have noted the entry door situation is a little odd. It was fine for us because we were all adults, but if we had young children, I am not sure I would have liked it. The rooms appeared to be clean, but when we arrived there were a few ants on the kitchen counter. I went down to inform the front desk and she simply smiled and said " It is the tropics" and handed me a can of bug spray to take to my room. We sprayed and did not have any other problems but I was surprised that she did not send someone up to take care of it for us. Other than that we really did enjoy the hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eztraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraesp, Front Office Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, 31 July 2011
Hi Eztraveler,

Thank you for taking the time to write of your stay with us last year. It was a pleasure to read that we were able to provide you with a memorable holiday experience and look forward to welcoming you have again soon.

Kind regards,

Melanie Legge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

We only spent one night here as a place to get organised for our flight home after spending a few nights on Fitzroy. We did the Sunlover trip to Moore Reef ( highly recommend it) then walked from the reef terminal with our luggage direct to the hotel, really easy walk.

When I booked I was mainly concerned about position as I wanted to be central for looking around and close enough to the reef fleet terminal to walk.

I couldn't of picked a better position, across the road from the lagoon. So much within a few minutes walking distance, two minutes to the nights markets, 3 mins to the reef fleet terminal and a few minutes to a huge Woolworth's grocery store.

Our two bedroom suite on the sixth floor was fresh bright and clean with gorgeous views. More than enough room for two adults and two teenagers. Decor was nothing fancy, but it had everything we needed for cooking and even had a washing machine and drier.

Staff were really friendly, we could of easily spent a week here and wouldn't hesitate to stay here next trip.

Tips for the two bedroom apartments:

Don't forget it is self contained so you need to take care of yourself. I think this is something that gets a lot of hotels bad reviews up north as people tend to over look this fact when booking and expect their rooms to be serviced, which they are not.

The other thing is, if you have very young children be aware that the rooms are not actually connecting. The doors for each room are side buy side with their own keys. They are together in their own little private foyer so you can prop them open and still have privacy.
I'm not sure how secure the common door to the hallway is? maybe it is as secure as the room doors as you do need a key to open it? Bring door wedges, management would do well to supply them I think.

It was fine for us as during the day we put bags to hold the doors open and the kids being over 13 years were ok sleeping in their own room. But if my children were much younger it might of been a problem, unless that common door is secure?

Room Tip: Ocean views are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tannalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, 14 July 2011
Hi tannalee,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay.

Yes, the main door is secure!

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and left with wonderful Mantra memories.

I look forward to welcoming you and your family back again.

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

We stayed in a 2 bed apartment, which is a one bed apartment with kitchen and bathroom and bedroom, dual keyed with a motel style room with it's own bathroom. Doors to both rooms open off a little lobby, and the only problem is that the doors self close and lock themselves, which makes keeping track of kids and keys a bit tricky. We solved this by propping doors open with chairs (door to corridor stays shut & locked). There are laundry facilites, and a fully equipped kitchen. Woolworths is around the block for supplies.
Great location opposite the swimming lagoon and esplanade. Short walk to boat terminal for all trips to reef and islands, and we walked 10mins to the main train station to catch the train to Kuranda also.
We weren't expecting daily servicing, and for 5 nights this was fine with us. All 3 TVs in the apartment were new, and the furniture looked pretty up to date also.
All in all we were very happy there. Other family members had apartments on the same level and there was plenty of room for visiting and eating together.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JazzAlert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, 14 July 2011
Dear Jazzalert,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us.

We are very happy we could assist you and your family to have a memorable holiday and look forward to seeing you back at the property in the near future.

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Mantra Esplanade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
1.3 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
554 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
1,058 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.1 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Esplanade Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Esplanade Cairns

Property: Mantra Esplanade Cairns
Address: 53 - 57 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Outrigger)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#14 Family Hotel in Cairns
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Esplanade Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Esplanade offers a prime waterfront location, with stylish and contemporary accommodation in the heart of Cairns. Just steps away from the Cairns Swimming Lagoon and offering sweeping ocean, city and mountain views Mantra Esplanade offers a range of Hotel Rooms to fully self-contained One and Two Bedroom Apartments. All rooms feature air conditioning, a balcony, cable TV, hair dryer, internet access (fee), iron and ironing board, and tea and coffee making facilities. There is also a 24 hour reception desk, tour desk, shopping complex, swimming pool, spa (not heated), exercise room and barbecue area. Wander across the road to the Cairns Lagoon in front of the Mantra Esplanade or grab a bite to eat at the many restaurants and cafes on your doorstep. In the evening, stroll down the Esplanade to the night markets where you'll find souvenirs, aboriginal art work, crafts, homewares and jewellery. Cairns is a nature lover's paradise and the gateway to the World Heritage Listed Great Barrier Reef, as well as the Daintree National Park and Cape Tribulation. Take the SkyRail cable car and glide above the spectacular rainforest canopy to the laid-back market town of Kuranda. Catch the Kuranda Scenic Railway back to Cairns to enjoy more breathtaking scenery as it winds through rainforest and past tumbling waterfalls on its way back down to Cairns. Discover all the amazing sights and activities available in and around Cairns while staying at Mantra Esplanade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Esplanade Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Esplanade Cairns Hotel Cairns
Mantra Esplanade Hotel Cairns
Mantra Esplanade Resort Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing