We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra Esplanade Cairns
Ranked #9 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
East Midlands
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good location and helpful staff”
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We spent two nights here before we picked up our car for a North Queensland tour. The hotel is in a good location right on the esplanade. We had a room on the front with great views. The room was clean and comfortable, the bathroom was a little small with a combined bath and shower but it met our needs for two nights fine. We did not eat in the hotel restaurant which I think may be a separate enterprise. There are loads of places to eat right outside the hotel and we found a great place for breakfast which we ate outside. The staff were friendly and very helpful. A good stopover in Cairns and would have no problem staying there again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ke1thred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM027, Front Office Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, 5 September 2011
Dear Ke1thred,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us here at the Mantra Esplanade. It was a pleasure to provide you with a lovely home away from home and we look forward to havinf the chance to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Melanie Legge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    497
    628
    200
    68
    34
See reviews for
356
568
88
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
L:ower Hutt
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2011

This was a great place to stay. IT is within walking distance of the marina, lots of restaurants, bars, casino. We knew the rooms wouldnt be serviced as we were there for 7 days but it was no problem. Staff were great. We had a one bedroom apartment, it was in a reasonable condition.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shellz1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM027, Front Office Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, 29 August 2011
Dear Shellz196,

Fantastic to read how you enjoyed your stay here with us. We hope to get the chance to welcome you back to the Mantra Esplanade in the future.

Kind regards,
Melanie Legge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

My daughter and I have just spent a great week in an apartment. The room was super and the desk staff helpful in every way. I had worried prior to our arrival about the lack of room servicing, but there was no reason for concern about that. Everything we needed was in the room. We would return to the Mantra Esplanade again and would recommend it. A really central hotel .

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimb370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM027, Front Office Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, 29 August 2011
Dear Jimb370,

Thank you for choosing the Mantra Esplanade for your recent holiday, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Melanie Legge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gundagai, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights while in Cairns & found it well positioned & comfortable.
Sure there are cheaper places to stay in Cairns but we wanted to be right on the Esplanade. Our 1st night there, "The Living End" were playing in the park across the road! Thankfully we had a city view room & slept through it all.
With the balcony door open, you do get a lot of noise from the pool, air conditioner units, & the pub out the back, but shut the door & it's pretty quiet.
We ate at the restaurant there on our last night, & really enjoyed the meal, It had a nice setting with a view & it was so much quieter than the wide range of eateries further down the street. The service was very good too. Eat before 7pm & get 20 percent of your bill!
The pool is a good size & looked clean, but is in the shade all the time (which is probably good in summer!) so we didn't try it.
Would be happy to stay again if we get back to Cairns.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maynspark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM027, Front Office Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, 29 August 2011
Dear Maynspark,

We are glad you had an enoyable stay with us and hope you do get the chance to come back to Cairns and enjoy the Mantra Esplanade again.

Kind regards,
Melanie Legge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

And that's the first thing. I stayed with my family booking two adjoining rooms. Rooms were well maintained and the staff were most helpful. Absolutely worth it.

Room Tip: Do you best to book the rooms facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ompong2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM027, Front Office Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
Dear ompong2,

It's alway's a pleasure to read our guests enjoyed their stay and our staff were helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mantra Esplanade.

Kind regards,
Melanie Legge
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

The rooms were clean, didn't see any bugs. Just be careful of what side of the building you get. One side there is a bar that goes on until late, so you may want to ask the front desk for a room facing towards the wharf and not the business district/Woolworths.
It's a short walk to the Esplanade and restaurants. The staff is pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: ask the front desk for a room facing towards the wharf and not the business district/Woolworths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATravel3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM027, Front Office Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
Dear GTDriver,

It was a pleasure to see you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Melanie Legge
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We stayed at Mantra Esplande for 3 days, and had a 1 bdroom city view room, room was clean and adequete we were on 5th floor all rooms are different some are bigger then others. The ocean view rooms would be nicer room up high for the views, the rooms are a little bit old and could be updated a bit. but the reception area and foyer is beautiful, the pool water was cold because it is in the shade all the time but you are out doing the tourist things most of the time. The staff where very helpful and we had no problems. The resturant Winks which is in the building was excellent a 5 star resturant meal and service would eat there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherryle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM027, Front Office Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, 9 August 2011
Dear Cherryle,

Thank you for taking the time to give the Mantra Esplanade a review. It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay here with us and I hope we have the chance to welcome you back to the hotel again.

Kind regards,
Melanie Legge
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.2 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
584 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
2,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Esplanade Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Esplanade Cairns

Property: Mantra Esplanade Cairns
Address: 53 - 57 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Outrigger)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#14 Family Hotel in Cairns
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Esplanade Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Esplanade offers a prime waterfront location, with stylish and contemporary accommodation in the heart of Cairns. Just steps away from the Cairns Swimming Lagoon and offering sweeping ocean, city and mountain views Mantra Esplanade offers a range of Hotel Rooms to fully self-contained One and Two Bedroom Apartments. All rooms feature air conditioning, a balcony, cable TV, hair dryer, internet access (fee), iron and ironing board, and tea and coffee making facilities. There is also a 24 hour reception desk, tour desk, shopping complex, swimming pool, spa (not heated), exercise room and barbecue area. Wander across the road to the Cairns Lagoon in front of the Mantra Esplanade or grab a bite to eat at the many restaurants and cafes on your doorstep. In the evening, stroll down the Esplanade to the night markets where you'll find souvenirs, aboriginal art work, crafts, homewares and jewellery. Cairns is a nature lover's paradise and the gateway to the World Heritage Listed Great Barrier Reef, as well as the Daintree National Park and Cape Tribulation. Take the SkyRail cable car and glide above the spectacular rainforest canopy to the laid-back market town of Kuranda. Catch the Kuranda Scenic Railway back to Cairns to enjoy more breathtaking scenery as it winds through rainforest and past tumbling waterfalls on its way back down to Cairns. Discover all the amazing sights and activities available in and around Cairns while staying at Mantra Esplanade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra Esplanade Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Esplanade Cairns Hotel Cairns
Mantra Esplanade Hotel Cairns
Mantra Esplanade Resort Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing