We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mantra Esplanade Cairns
Ranked #10 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in a 1 bedroom apartment. Had an ocean view which was great. Room was very nice and spacious, beds were super comfortable - had a great night's sleep. Did not notice any street noise as had been mentioned in other reviews. The self-catering system did not worry us as we had a washing machine in the apartment which we found very useful. Friendly, helpful reception staff. Beautiful pool and surrounds, great location, handy to shops, restaurants and lagoon pool on esplanade. Look forward to returning to Cairns and will happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM027, Front Office Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2011

Dear CarolT,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with Mantra Esplanade. It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Melanie Legge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,674)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,469 - 1,475 of 1,674 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights in September - our trip organiser described it to us as a 4* hotel. Do not confuse this with a 4* hotel in Europe or America! It is a self-catering complex with facilities ranging from an en-suite hotel-type room to apartments of varying sizes. If you want your room cleaned and made up you pay extra for it on a daily basis - up to $25AUD, the same goes for clean towels - $1AUD per towel, toiletries etc. We were not impressed with having to take dirty wet towels to the reception area and put them in a laundry basket and then carry clean towels back to our room, nor with having to carry garbage to the garbage shute. Had we known that this was not a 4*hotel but a self-catering complex disguising itself as a 4* hotel we would not have booked it. Definitely not what we were looking for at the end of a long and expensive trip to Australia. The only good thing worth mentioning is location - handy for reef ferry terminals and restaurants.

Room Tip: Only go here if you want self-catering - don't be fooled by the terminology - "hotel-room&q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cer34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM027, Front Office Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2011

Dear Cer34,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us here at Mantra Esplanade. We were sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations, we do hope you had a safe trip home.

Kind regards,

Melanie Legge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Stayed here for 10 nights. Had a 1 bedroom apartment with an ocean view which was amazing. The only problem was we heard the street cleaners every morning(5.00am)cleaning the streets below with their blowers as well as the trucks with their reversing beepers and at that time of the morning was a bit hard to take. Understanding that this is not the hotels fault so we have written to the Cairns Council for feedback.The room itself is ageing and the airconditioners were noisy and not cooling the room properly. Overall a fantastic location and the staff were great.

Room Tip: Choose the ocean view rooms which look out over the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fathead1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM027, Front Office Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2011

Dear Fathead1958,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Mantra Esplanade.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Melanie Legge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Nice friendly & helpful staff, great central location convenient to everything. We had a comfortable & enjoyable 2 night stay. Our room was located on the 4th floor & the only complaint that we would have was it was facing a nightclub, therefore; it was very noisy so we found it quite hard to sleep. All else was fine.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SunRae1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM027, Front Office Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2011

Dear SunRaeGoldcoast,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with Mantra Esplanade. We were pleased you found the hotel enjoyable and your experience with our staff was favourable, we look forward to welcomoing you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Melanie Legge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Stayed here for 6 nights. We had a one bed apartment on the 3rd floor, pool view. The apartment wasn't big but very clean and looks like had been refurbished. Modern furniture, and lovely white bedding and towels. Very nice. We found the staff very friendly and helpful. Hotel great location as stated previously. Right next door to Courthouse pub which we liked. Very little noise from there. Lovely pool but very cold, disappointing but was end of winter, but would definately stay there again & can recommend to others.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurished room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kanga60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM027, Front Office Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2011

Dear Kanga60,

Thank you for choosing Mantra Esplanade for your recent holiday. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Melanie Legge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We spent two nights here before we picked up our car for a North Queensland tour. The hotel is in a good location right on the esplanade. We had a room on the front with great views. The room was clean and comfortable, the bathroom was a little small with a combined bath and shower but it met our needs for two nights fine. We did not eat in the hotel restaurant which I think may be a separate enterprise. There are loads of places to eat right outside the hotel and we found a great place for breakfast which we ate outside. The staff were friendly and very helpful. A good stopover in Cairns and would have no problem staying there again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ke1thred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM027, Front Office Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2011

Dear Ke1thred,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us here at the Mantra Esplanade. It was a pleasure to provide you with a lovely home away from home and we look forward to havinf the chance to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Melanie Legge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

This was a great place to stay. IT is within walking distance of the marina, lots of restaurants, bars, casino. We knew the rooms wouldnt be serviced as we were there for 7 days but it was no problem. Staff were great. We had a one bedroom apartment, it was in a reasonable condition.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shellz1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM027, Front Office Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2011

Dear Shellz196,

Fantastic to read how you enjoyed your stay here with us. We hope to get the chance to welcome you back to the Mantra Esplanade in the future.

Kind regards,
Melanie Legge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.2 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 63 in Cairns
2,330 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
1.3 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 63 in Cairns
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Esplanade Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Esplanade Cairns

Address: 53 - 57 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Outrigger)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#14 Family Hotel in Cairns
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £75 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Esplanade Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps away from the Cairns Swimming Lagoon and offering sweeping ocean, city and mountain views Mantra Esplanade offers a range of Hotel Rooms to fully self-contained One and Two Bedroom Apartments, featuring air conditioning, a balcony, cable TV, hair dryer, internet access (fee), iron and ironing board, and tea and coffee making facilities. Onsite facilities include 24 hour reception desk, tour desk, swimming pool, spa (not heated), exercise room and barbecue area. In the evening, stroll down the Esplanade to the night markets where you'll find souvenirs, aboriginal art work, crafts, homewares and jewellery. Cairns is a nature lover's paradise and the gateway to the World Heritage Listed Great Barrier Reef, as well as the Daintree National Park and Cape Tribulation. Take the SkyRail cable car and glide above the spectacular rainforest canopy to the laid-back market town of Kuranda. Catch the Kuranda Scenic Railway back to Cairns to enjoy more breathtaking scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mantra Esplanade Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Esplanade Cairns Hotel Cairns
Mantra Esplanade Hotel Cairns
Mantra Esplanade Resort Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing