We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything was "extra"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra Esplanade Cairns
Ranked #8 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Everything was "extra"”
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We felt that we were charged extra for absolutely everything. Even extra towels. It was an older property but was fairly well maintained. Location was very good. We were away from the elevators. No ice available. Had a small fridge in the room which was good. Had a safe but we had to pay for the key.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drcmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Dear drcmd,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us.

Although there were some aspects of the property you found disappointing, I was pleased to hear that the positives outnumbered the negatives and you had a lovely time in Cairns.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Mantra Esplanade, Cairns.

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    452
    553
    184
    56
    29
See reviews for
315
512
87
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
doncaster
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

This hotel was fantastic. Beautiful rooms, ours was overlooking the esplanard with a large balcony, 3rd floor. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel is central, you couldn't get any more central. The pool and gardens are just over the road, the bars and restaurants are just next door, the Barrier Reef trips are just further up the road.
There was only one downside, and that was, there was no room service, you had to pay an extra $25 per day for this service, which i was not informed of at the time of booking.
We would definately use this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cazDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Dear cazDoncaster,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us.

The staff were very pleased to hear they had helped you have a memorable holiday at the property and in Cairns.

I was pleased to hear you were impressed with the proximity of the our property to all the wonderful Cairns restaurants and shopping.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Mantra Esplanade in the near future.

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012 via mobile

Enjoyed my stay there. The reception, Samara was very accommodating. Our truck couldn't fit the parking height limit and due to this inconvenience we got upgraded to a 1 bedroom.
The room was big enough for the 2 of us, and we enjoyed our stay esp after doing a week of camping. Nice way to end the trip.
Only thing lacking was free wifi.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LostinBALI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Dear lostinBALI,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of the property and the staff.

Samara was very pleased to hear she had been part of your memorable experience with us.

We hope you arrived home safely and and thank you again for your wonderful feedback .

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

The hotel's location could not be better. A room with balcony facing the esplanade will let you see from your balcony what is going on on the esplanade and see the port. The restaurants, shops, and a museum are a few steps away from the hotel. The hotel has a beautiful lobby, the rooms are also spacious, nice and have balconies. One can make coffee and tea in the room and there is a small fridge. The linen service is only once a week, unless you request it more often before your arrival. You can rent a beach towel at the reception for $1. The only problem was that the internet was very pricey.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor facing the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxineSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Dear maxineSF,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us.

We were so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful time when you were here and that the location of the property meant all your Cairns experiences were so close to hand.

We hope you arrived home safely and look forward to welcoming you back someday!

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We stayed at the Mantra Esplanade for 5 nights at the end of September 2012. The taxi to/from the airport cost about Aus$22 and only took about 15 minutes. Check in was very quick and easy. We had an ocean facing room on the 5th floor and it was fantastic to sit on the balcony,(which had a table and 2 chairs) and watch all the activity on the esplanade and the beautiful views of the ocean and the mountain range in the distance. The room was spacious and clean with tea/ coffee making facilities. Having no room service wasn't a problem at all for us as we sometimes find room service an inconvenience and we would rather the price be competitive, but this is a personal preference. It was absolutely no problem when we asked for top up facilities from the front desk which were given freely and without question. We used the gym, sauna, jacuzzi and swimming pool several times which were all great, although the pool was quite cold. Towels were available from the gym or the front desk for no charge. There was one computer available in the hotel lobby providing free internet access whilst we were staying there (as their security system was being updated) so this was an added bonus for us. There was never any problem getting on it. The ferry terminal is only 5 minutes away which was excellent when we had an early start for our trip to the Reef. Everything in Cairns was in walking distance which was great and the lagoon is literally just over the road. We had a fantastic stay and would love to stay here again if we had the good fortune to return to Cairns in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jasmine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Dear JasmineH,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us.

We were delighted to hear that you left Cairns with such positive Mantra memories and Cairns experiences.

We hope good fortune smiles on you as we would look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

The location was excellent and the room wad clean, spacious and comfortable. My only complaint is they charged for everything. The use of a towel was extra and Internet was pricey. What was most upsetting was the absence of room service for our four night stay, which means no new towels without a charge and no clean sheets without a charge. They even wanted to charge for the safe. The place took no measures to satisfy the customers needs. The one plus was free parking.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraveltoseetheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Dear TraveltoseetheWorld,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay but was pleased to note the property location and room were agreeable.

There is a charge for towels when taken off the property and are free of charge when used on the property. The competitive rates we offer do not include a daily service so there is a charge for a complete change of linen. All other extra amenities are free of charge.

Once again my apologies for your less than ideal stay with us.

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iluka, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

my family of 4 has just had a week in the sept. school hols at the mantra and found it to be excellent. we had a double ocean view room overlooking the esplanade pool and ocean. it was great to sit on our balcony [one of 3] and watch all the boats go in and out of the harbour morning and night and we were central to everything and hardly used our car as the tours pick up and deliver you back to the hotel. good service, fully equiped room, washer/dryer and full kitchen and 2 bathrooms and 3 tv's what more could you want. i would recommend this place to everyone. much better than an island resort that we spent 3 nights on. go to the mantra.we will go again.

Room Tip: ask for a double room right on the corner of the building. we were on the 5th floor in 525 and 527 e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Dear sharon c,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the property and your recent stay with us here in Cairns.

It sounds like you and the family had a wonderful holiday and we are so pleased to have been part of your positive Mantra experience.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
1.3 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
553 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
1,058 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.1 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Esplanade Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Esplanade Cairns

Property: Mantra Esplanade Cairns
Address: 53 - 57 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Outrigger)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#14 Family Hotel in Cairns
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Esplanade Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Esplanade offers a prime waterfront location, with stylish and contemporary accommodation in the heart of Cairns. Just steps away from the Cairns Swimming Lagoon and offering sweeping ocean, city and mountain views Mantra Esplanade offers a range of Hotel Rooms to fully self-contained One and Two Bedroom Apartments. All rooms feature air conditioning, a balcony, cable TV, hair dryer, internet access (fee), iron and ironing board, and tea and coffee making facilities. There is also a 24 hour reception desk, tour desk, shopping complex, swimming pool, spa (not heated), exercise room and barbecue area. Wander across the road to the Cairns Lagoon in front of the Mantra Esplanade or grab a bite to eat at the many restaurants and cafes on your doorstep. In the evening, stroll down the Esplanade to the night markets where you'll find souvenirs, aboriginal art work, crafts, homewares and jewellery. Cairns is a nature lover's paradise and the gateway to the World Heritage Listed Great Barrier Reef, as well as the Daintree National Park and Cape Tribulation. Take the SkyRail cable car and glide above the spectacular rainforest canopy to the laid-back market town of Kuranda. Catch the Kuranda Scenic Railway back to Cairns to enjoy more breathtaking scenery as it winds through rainforest and past tumbling waterfalls on its way back down to Cairns. Discover all the amazing sights and activities available in and around Cairns while staying at Mantra Esplanade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Esplanade Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Esplanade Cairns Hotel Cairns
Mantra Esplanade Hotel Cairns
Mantra Esplanade Resort Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing