We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra Esplanade Cairns
Ranked #8 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The best location”
Reviewed 29 November 2012 via mobile

We stayed here five nights as a part of our Australian honeymoon trip.

Very easy to get to from the airport (we took a taxi which was $23 but there are also shuttle buses) and the location of this hotel is just perfect! Right opposite the lagoon, right next to a tourist centre (we booked all our trips there – they are very helpful), 5 min walk to the reef terminal and all the cafes, restaurants, bars and shops are on your doorstep! The only negative of this is that especially on Fri & Sat night you do hear people and music from the streets outside until late. We managed to still sleep fine but it might be an issue for some people. It might be ok if your room is facing the pool side of the hotel.

The reception staff was very helpful, our room was very nice, bed was comfy, bathroom big and clean (the toiletries were really nice) and we had a really good stay. The pool area is also nice with a ok size pool, spa and bbq area. The gym looked well equipped but we didn’t get to use it.

We didn’t have a problem with the room not being serviced as we did our research and knew this was the case in advance.

Cairns is an amazing place with great atmosphere and if we go there we would stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tad2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Deat Tad2012,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us and I was so pleased you enjoyed your stay and will be back to enjoy Cairns and Mantra Esplanade.

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    467
    587
    188
    61
    30
See reviews for
329
534
87
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We stayed at the Mantra esplanade for 8 nights in November 2012. We had an excellent holiday. The two bedroom apartment was great, clean and had a kitchen and laundry as well. The hotel was close to everything - reef terminal 2 mins walk, woolworths in the street behind and plenty of shops and cafes within walking distance. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. Our apartment on the 6th floor had lovely views over the esplanade and lagoon area. Would definately book again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the esplanade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kyliejoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelaide
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Where do i start! My husband and i stayed at Mantra this month for 5 days for our 1st wedding anniversary. Instantly upon checking in we not only had to pay the entire $650 for our stay but were also slugged an extra $100 hold on our credit card for 'expenditures.' A bit insulting but ok i thought, this must be for the mini bar.

As soon as we were on our floor (5th) we noticed a very strong and disgusting curry stench, this was persistent throughout our stay. Our room was also very foul smelling and i was very annoyed to see no mini bar. No water no ice, nothing. What expenditures was the deposit for? In case myself and my ragging husband trashed the room?
The bath tub had long black hairs in it and the general cleanliness of the room was appalling. If we wanted extra towel we had to pay for them and i assume the in room safe was also an extra cost. The room service menu did not include breakfast and the few basic items listed were outrageously expensive - $6.50 for a can of Coke!

One night the smoke alarm went off for a very long time. It was obvious that the receptionist had no clue and couldn't turn it off. She just continued to make stuttered announcements over the intercom and panicked. I am positive we all would have burned if the fire was genuine!

The biggest beefs we had with our stay was the extremely long walk from the elevator to our room and that we were situated next to the garage chute. We were woken up at 6-7am EVERY morning of our stay to the sound of smashing glass down a metal chute. Even after complaining nothing was done so we didn't get one sleep-in on our well overdue holiday. We also couldn't sit on our balcony or have the balcony door open due to the neighbours aircon fan being on constantly. If we sat outside we had a constant gail of hot air blowing on us from someone else's stale room. A balcony is a really stupid place to put an aircon unit exhaust.

Overall i feel our stay in Cairns was ruined because of the hotel we chose to stay in. I feel especially disappointed and let down after previously working for this hotel group. The level of service, the attitude of the staff and the entire hotel in general was bad. Certainly not deserving of a 4 star rating.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 19mandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Dear 19mandy,

Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your stay with us.

It disappoints me to learn that you encountered a number of issues and felt that the issues were not satisfactorily dealt with.

I apologise for any disappointment you experienced during your stay.

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level Contributor
244 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel as part of a 5 week trip from the UK to Australia
including stopovers in Hong Kong and Tokyo,during October and November.
We took a taxi from the airport which cost $25,and took around 15mins
Stayed for 4 nights, in a large 'ocean view' room with balcony
The hotel as others have commented is an aparthotel, so no maid service unless you pay extra
Large room and outdoor balcony overlooking the green and the public pool on oneside and reef terminal on the other
Room decent size and good shower.Large comfortable bed.
We bought breakfast supplies from large Woolworths supermarket 5mins from hotel,.
All the facilities you would want on a long trip, e.g. ironing board
Hotel staff pleasant at reception, check in and out swift.
Hotel very close to reef terminal and many cafes and restaurants for the evening.
less than 5mins walk to Reef terminal and about 10mins from Perth Railway station where we caught our Karunda train.
We booked our Green Island Reef tour and Karunda/Skyrail trips at the 'official' Tourist information office which is almost next door to the hotel towards the reef terminal, we received lots of advice on all the different tour companies and options
We had good meals at Outback Jacks, and Dundees down by the reef terminal
There's a good walk along the Boardwalk Esplanade, the hotel pool is small but very pleasant to relax

Room Tip: Ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller0065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012 via mobile

We were first time visitors to Cairns and you cannot get a better location than this hotel. Its right in the thick of things.
We had an ocean view 1 bed apt and the room was spacious. With full kichenette and a great balcony for people-watching on the Esplanade.
It is right across from the Esplanade lagoon and there is an awesome pub directly behind the hotel called the Courthouse. Woolies is just round the corner or there are hundreds of cafes and restaurants to choose from.
Get a room higher than 4th floor and you will have a better view of the (brown) water over the trees.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou_Mess14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

We stayed here for our anniversary & Christmas trip in December 2011. Centrally located, modern & clean rooms, awesome views of the beach. Easy walk to the restaurant strip and main centre of Cairns. Would definitely stay here again when we're next in Cairns

Room Tip: Anything facing the beach is great, but the pool view is just as good, because you get both pool and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cabbotage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alverstoke
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Ideally situated but seems to be struggling. Hotel coffee shop shut.Bar/restaurant hours limited. Pool area shabby and links into other hotel with a much less desirable bar. Very surprised at having no daily room cleaning and having to pay for replacement towels and sheets etc. Also required to place $150 on card as deposit and also paying for room safe key. Staff all pleasant and helpful but that does not. Make it a 4star hotel. Equivalent to UK 2.5 to 3 star

Room Tip: Ask for seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaffPI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
1.3 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.5 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#5 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Esplanade Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Esplanade Cairns

Property: Mantra Esplanade Cairns
Address: 53 - 57 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Outrigger)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#14 Family Hotel in Cairns
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Esplanade Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Esplanade offers a prime waterfront location, with stylish and contemporary accommodation in the heart of Cairns. Just steps away from the Cairns Swimming Lagoon and offering sweeping ocean, city and mountain views Mantra Esplanade offers a range of Hotel Rooms to fully self-contained One and Two Bedroom Apartments. All rooms feature air conditioning, a balcony, cable TV, hair dryer, internet access (fee), iron and ironing board, and tea and coffee making facilities. There is also a 24 hour reception desk, tour desk, shopping complex, swimming pool, spa (not heated), exercise room and barbecue area. Wander across the road to the Cairns Lagoon in front of the Mantra Esplanade or grab a bite to eat at the many restaurants and cafes on your doorstep. In the evening, stroll down the Esplanade to the night markets where you'll find souvenirs, aboriginal art work, crafts, homewares and jewellery. Cairns is a nature lover's paradise and the gateway to the World Heritage Listed Great Barrier Reef, as well as the Daintree National Park and Cape Tribulation. Take the SkyRail cable car and glide above the spectacular rainforest canopy to the laid-back market town of Kuranda. Catch the Kuranda Scenic Railway back to Cairns to enjoy more breathtaking scenery as it winds through rainforest and past tumbling waterfalls on its way back down to Cairns. Discover all the amazing sights and activities available in and around Cairns while staying at Mantra Esplanade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Esplanade Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Esplanade Cairns Hotel Cairns
Mantra Esplanade Hotel Cairns
Mantra Esplanade Resort Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing