We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“CBD Cairns”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra Esplanade Cairns
Ranked #8 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Bli Bli, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“CBD Cairns”
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Our room was clean,large & comfortable with air/con. Both stays were in a room accessed through a common door to adjoining rooms. We found this to mean a lack of privacy, as you could hear the conversation of guests in the other room. Also two doors had to be opened to enter your room, as they are heavy fire doors, a bit tricky with luggage. The hotel is very well sited, opposite the man made beach in a lovely park setting on the foreshore. Parking is available undercover at no extra cost. There was no breakfast available, as the coffee shop was closed, a nuisance for some of the elderly people in our group. There is free internet use. The front doors are locked at 9.30pm with no resident staff, opened with your keycard. A fairly generic hotel, but suffice as base for touring.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twosheas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, 16 December 2012
Dear twosheas,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us.

I noticed you are the second guest to comment in as many weeks about the lack of staff after 9.30pm. I think the receptionist did not explain clearly - the doors to the hotel lock at 9.30pm so only guests can access the hotel with their key but there is a receptionist available 24 hours. Some times, their work takes them from the desk but they are definitely there!!

Next time you stay, could I suggest you ask for a stand alone one bedroom apartment - that way you will not have the inconvenience of the dual key entry into your room. And I agree, the doors are heavy but unfortunately, they cannot be changed due to fire regulations.

We were happy to be part of your positive experience while staying in Cairns and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    467
    587
    188
    61
    30
See reviews for
329
534
87
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

The lobby looks better than the room. The lobby was bright and well air conditioned. Inside the room, first thing you notices was a very humid/wet smell most likely due tot the fact that this was a tropical area and air conditioning was off. The walls looks like no one clean it since 1914 as it was very dirty with some funger prints. After we turn on the air conditioning we found out that it didn't work at all. The reception desk was close as its not 24 hours service and no one was available after 9pm. Also they charge to clean the room?? It cost us $6 just to get a new clean tower!! It also costs $3.50 a day to use the safe deposit box. The only good thing about this hotel is that its in the middle of the city and close to supermarket. Overall, choose another hotel as I would not recommend this one.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew9080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, 16 December 2012
Dear andrew9080,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us.

I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay.

The receptionist at checkin has not explained correctly the night time procedure. At 9.30pm, the doors to the hotel lock automatically and only guests can access the hotel with their room key. Reception staff are available 24 hours but sometimes, their work takes them away from the desk.

I have passed your comments to the Executive Housekeeping Manager but could you contact me to advise your room number as this is not to our usual high standard. My email address is gaye.coughlan@mantra.com.au.

Once again, my apologies for your less than ideal stay with us.

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilthoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
196 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Hotel is near the center and has a nice view over the harbour. There is airco in the room.Shower is in the bath. Breakfast is good and the staff is friendly. In the restaurant they say that there will be a boys choirfor lunch so we are warned that there will be noise. Very nice this warning but we had a good lunch. Cairns is nice to walk and the swimming pool area at the sea is amazing.

Room Tip: harbour view room is nice you also can see the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgebilthoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, 16 December 2012
Dear georgebilthoven,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us here in Cairns.

I was pleased to hear we were part of your positive experience on your Australian travels and hopefully will be able to welcome you again in the near future.

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bribie Island, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

would recommend the mantra higher but for a couple of negatives..the apartment i rented did not have modern conveniences i.e. dishwasher dvd player,shower screen[a curtain was supplied but with few hooks holding it].....very clean, very friendly staff who were very helpful...location was the best.....if you can overcome the shortfalls then i highly recommend the mantra

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank douglas i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Dear douglas i,

Thanky ou for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay with us.

I was pleased to hear you have positive memories of Mantra Esplanade and look forward to welcoming you back in 2013.

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012 via mobile

We stayed here five nights as a part of our Australian honeymoon trip.

Very easy to get to from the airport (we took a taxi which was $23 but there are also shuttle buses) and the location of this hotel is just perfect! Right opposite the lagoon, right next to a tourist centre (we booked all our trips there – they are very helpful), 5 min walk to the reef terminal and all the cafes, restaurants, bars and shops are on your doorstep! The only negative of this is that especially on Fri & Sat night you do hear people and music from the streets outside until late. We managed to still sleep fine but it might be an issue for some people. It might be ok if your room is facing the pool side of the hotel.

The reception staff was very helpful, our room was very nice, bed was comfy, bathroom big and clean (the toiletries were really nice) and we had a really good stay. The pool area is also nice with a ok size pool, spa and bbq area. The gym looked well equipped but we didn’t get to use it.

We didn’t have a problem with the room not being serviced as we did our research and knew this was the case in advance.

Cairns is an amazing place with great atmosphere and if we go there we would stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tad2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Deat Tad2012,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us and I was so pleased you enjoyed your stay and will be back to enjoy Cairns and Mantra Esplanade.

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We stayed at the Mantra esplanade for 8 nights in November 2012. We had an excellent holiday. The two bedroom apartment was great, clean and had a kitchen and laundry as well. The hotel was close to everything - reef terminal 2 mins walk, woolworths in the street behind and plenty of shops and cafes within walking distance. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. Our apartment on the 6th floor had lovely views over the esplanade and lagoon area. Would definately book again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the esplanade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kyliejoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelaide
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Where do i start! My husband and i stayed at Mantra this month for 5 days for our 1st wedding anniversary. Instantly upon checking in we not only had to pay the entire $650 for our stay but were also slugged an extra $100 hold on our credit card for 'expenditures.' A bit insulting but ok i thought, this must be for the mini bar.

As soon as we were on our floor (5th) we noticed a very strong and disgusting curry stench, this was persistent throughout our stay. Our room was also very foul smelling and i was very annoyed to see no mini bar. No water no ice, nothing. What expenditures was the deposit for? In case myself and my ragging husband trashed the room?
The bath tub had long black hairs in it and the general cleanliness of the room was appalling. If we wanted extra towel we had to pay for them and i assume the in room safe was also an extra cost. The room service menu did not include breakfast and the few basic items listed were outrageously expensive - $6.50 for a can of Coke!

One night the smoke alarm went off for a very long time. It was obvious that the receptionist had no clue and couldn't turn it off. She just continued to make stuttered announcements over the intercom and panicked. I am positive we all would have burned if the fire was genuine!

The biggest beefs we had with our stay was the extremely long walk from the elevator to our room and that we were situated next to the garage chute. We were woken up at 6-7am EVERY morning of our stay to the sound of smashing glass down a metal chute. Even after complaining nothing was done so we didn't get one sleep-in on our well overdue holiday. We also couldn't sit on our balcony or have the balcony door open due to the neighbours aircon fan being on constantly. If we sat outside we had a constant gail of hot air blowing on us from someone else's stale room. A balcony is a really stupid place to put an aircon unit exhaust.

Overall i feel our stay in Cairns was ruined because of the hotel we chose to stay in. I feel especially disappointed and let down after previously working for this hotel group. The level of service, the attitude of the staff and the entire hotel in general was bad. Certainly not deserving of a 4 star rating.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 19mandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Dear 19mandy,

Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your stay with us.

It disappoints me to learn that you encountered a number of issues and felt that the issues were not satisfactorily dealt with.

I apologise for any disappointment you experienced during your stay.

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
1.3 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.5 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#5 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Esplanade Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Esplanade Cairns

Property: Mantra Esplanade Cairns
Address: 53 - 57 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Outrigger)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#14 Family Hotel in Cairns
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Esplanade Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Esplanade offers a prime waterfront location, with stylish and contemporary accommodation in the heart of Cairns. Just steps away from the Cairns Swimming Lagoon and offering sweeping ocean, city and mountain views Mantra Esplanade offers a range of Hotel Rooms to fully self-contained One and Two Bedroom Apartments. All rooms feature air conditioning, a balcony, cable TV, hair dryer, internet access (fee), iron and ironing board, and tea and coffee making facilities. There is also a 24 hour reception desk, tour desk, shopping complex, swimming pool, spa (not heated), exercise room and barbecue area. Wander across the road to the Cairns Lagoon in front of the Mantra Esplanade or grab a bite to eat at the many restaurants and cafes on your doorstep. In the evening, stroll down the Esplanade to the night markets where you'll find souvenirs, aboriginal art work, crafts, homewares and jewellery. Cairns is a nature lover's paradise and the gateway to the World Heritage Listed Great Barrier Reef, as well as the Daintree National Park and Cape Tribulation. Take the SkyRail cable car and glide above the spectacular rainforest canopy to the laid-back market town of Kuranda. Catch the Kuranda Scenic Railway back to Cairns to enjoy more breathtaking scenery as it winds through rainforest and past tumbling waterfalls on its way back down to Cairns. Discover all the amazing sights and activities available in and around Cairns while staying at Mantra Esplanade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Esplanade Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Esplanade Cairns Hotel Cairns
Mantra Esplanade Hotel Cairns
Mantra Esplanade Resort Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing