We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for barrier reef” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mantra Esplanade Cairns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mantra Esplanade Cairns
Ranked #8 of 65 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location for barrier reef”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Spent 2 nights in Cairns at the Mantra Esplanade in one of their 1 bedroom apartments. Hotel was well recommended on TripAdvisor so had fairly high hopes and the room was very nice, king size bed was very comfortable as was the sofa bed. There's not a lot of privacy if a couple staying with a friend as there's only a thin sliding door between the bedroom and living area but was not a big deal. Kitchen was well equipped also and we were able to cook for ourselves quite easily.

As mentioned in the title, the hotel is in the perfect location on the Esplanade by the ocean and a 5 minute walk to the wharfs where barrier reef tours depart from, the public artificial beach/pool area and a variety of restaurants. The only hotel in Cairns with a better location would be the Shangri-La so no complaints there. Staff at reception were also very helpful and able to provide extra room cards for us as well as provide recommendations for places to go.

The swimming pool wasn't brilliant - it is in the shade of the hotel building most of the day and therefore is quite cold and this showed as I saw nobody use it in the time I was there. Also, the spa and sauna advertised were not working so we were unable to use these.

However, due to the quality of the room and the location, would definitely recommend to anyone spending a few days in Cairns.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Dan M,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide such positive feedback regarding your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back in the warmer weather so you can use our lovely pool!

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    542
    177
    55
    28
See reviews for
299
493
84
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Osoyoos, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Just spent 4 days in Cairns staying at the Mantra Esplanade. Thanks to Discover Queensland for recommending this hotel - the location was perfect! Walked to all the best restaurants on The Pier, across the street from The Lagoon, and easy walk to all shopping. Hotel staff was very friendly and professional, room was basic but well presented and clean. Didn't use the pool as it is very shaded and The Lagoon really is the place to go. Only complaint was the shower - no temperature regulator - one minute enjoying a nice hot shower, next minute standing in an ice shower. Overall, would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear D C,

Thank you so much for providing feedback on your recent stay with us at Mantra Esplanade, Cairns and we do agree, it is all about location, location, location!!

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Hotel is situated on one of the main streets ,it's a small town everywhere is near the beach .The rooms were clean but basic , bedroom, bathroom ,living room with small kitchen area ,small cooker , washing machine and dryer . The staff were helpful and friendly . The highlight of the stay was going out to the Great Barrier Reef and going snorkelling ,the colours of the fish were just incredible .I would love to go back again .

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anne550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dearr anne550,

Thank you for remembering Cairns and Mantra Esplanade so warmly and I was glad to hear we helped make your Australian stay memorable for all the right reasons!

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

A group of girls headed to Cairns for a few days r and r. We arrived at the Mantra, checked in, and had top class treatment for the four days we stayed. The location is right where you need to be, we had a 2 bedroom apartment, which fitted the bill perfectly. It was clean and comfortable. Would recommend this hotel to anyone. A bit of noise from the street below, but where you are right in the middle of the action, is a small gripe.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kiaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear kiaussie,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience in Cairns while staying at Mantra Esplanade.


We look forward to welcoming you back again soon for another girl's weekend!!

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esperance, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We loved staying at the Mantra, the location on the Esplanade is unbeatable! You can step out of the hotel and Cairns is at your fingertips. The excellent location and great balcony looking out to the sea and the Esplanade set a fantastic vibe for our holiday in Cairns. Bathroom great and beds are comfy and room is very quiet and sound proofed. The only thing the Mantra on the Esplanade can improve on is maybe splashing out and service the rooms daily instead of offering this at an extra charge. I'm not sure what the other rooms are like with their views but I would definitely choose this hotel over other ones if we can have the ocean facing rooms again.

Room Tip: Ocean facing rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erry89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear Erry89,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us.

To keep our rates competitive, we do not include a daily service.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to enjoy the ocean views!

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

I have lived in Papua New Guinea for 17 years and Cairns is only a 1 hour flight away so has become our regular weekend away.
I have tried a LOT of apartments in Cairns - even other Mantra properties - but I keep returning to Mantra Esplanade.
The beds are the most comfortable, which means a huge deal to my husband.
The 2 bedroom apartment is absolutely fantastic for us and our 6 and 8 year old kids.
The location cannot be beaten.
The check-in is always so smooth, the staff helpful and the parking is great.
Thanks as always.

Room Tip: A nightclub on the street near McDonalds could keep you awake on Friday and Saturday nights if you h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank macandmui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear macandmui,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback!!

I am so pleased we have become a family favourite and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Have stayed at a number of mantra properties and can honestly say we have not been disappointed, was a little wary after booking when I read some of the reviews about the esplanade, I shouldnt have had any reservations as from the minute we arrived to the minute we left we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We had a two bedroom apartment facing the town. It was very clean and excellent facilities. My sister and her husband who were visiting from overseas were amazed by the gorgeous master suite with beautiful bathroom. The staff were extremely polite, friendly and willing to help. Would definately not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riehl_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear Riehl_13,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a lovely review of the hotel and the staff.

I was so pleased to hear we were played a part in your positive memories of Cairns and impressed your overseas visitors!

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
1.3 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 65 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.5 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Esplanade Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Esplanade Cairns

Property: Mantra Esplanade Cairns
Address: 53 - 57 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Outrigger)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#14 Family Hotel in Cairns
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Esplanade Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Esplanade offers a prime waterfront location, with stylish and contemporary accommodation in the heart of Cairns. Just steps away from the Cairns Swimming Lagoon and offering sweeping ocean, city and mountain views Mantra Esplanade offers a range of Hotel Rooms to fully self-contained One and Two Bedroom Apartments. All rooms feature air conditioning, a balcony, cable TV, hair dryer, internet access (fee), iron and ironing board, and tea and coffee making facilities. There is also a 24 hour reception desk, tour desk, shopping complex, swimming pool, spa (not heated), exercise room and barbecue area. Wander across the road to the Cairns Lagoon in front of the Mantra Esplanade or grab a bite to eat at the many restaurants and cafes on your doorstep. In the evening, stroll down the Esplanade to the night markets where you'll find souvenirs, aboriginal art work, crafts, homewares and jewellery. Cairns is a nature lover's paradise and the gateway to the World Heritage Listed Great Barrier Reef, as well as the Daintree National Park and Cape Tribulation. Take the SkyRail cable car and glide above the spectacular rainforest canopy to the laid-back market town of Kuranda. Catch the Kuranda Scenic Railway back to Cairns to enjoy more breathtaking scenery as it winds through rainforest and past tumbling waterfalls on its way back down to Cairns. Discover all the amazing sights and activities available in and around Cairns while staying at Mantra Esplanade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Mantra Esplanade Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Esplanade Cairns Hotel Cairns
Mantra Esplanade Hotel Cairns
Mantra Esplanade Resort Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing