We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic spot on the esplanade ” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mantra Esplanade Cairns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mantra Esplanade Cairns
Ranked #8 of 65 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic spot on the esplanade ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

We booked a 2 bedroom apartment, having read previous reviews I thought it was close to most things we wanted to do... I would have to say its hands down one of the best spots to stay at due to how close it is to every thing!!
Pros:- close to every thing we wanted to do, rooms were very spacious and clean, very friendly staff who always said hello or have a good day ect.. Comfy beds and a washing machine and full kitchen which made saving some money on meals possible as we had a fridge and woolies is a 2 minute walk away.

Cons:- the rooms are a little dated, my main issue would have to be the water pressure and trying to get a constant temp, this was a MAJOR issue when trying to shower an 18month old, by the 3rd day(out of 5) we ended up washing our son by a warm face washer as the shower would go hot to cold, hot and then cold to burning your skin hot in a matter of seconds! The lounge chairs are very uncomfortable as well but they would have to be our only complaints with our room.

I really don't know why people complain about no room service, the website clearly states it when booking(we were also reminded when checking in) and taking the rubbish bag to the end of our level wasnt even a problem.
Having stayed between Christmas to New Years we were told we could still have a late check out when booking due to flights how ever upon check in we were told that was now not possible but we could still leave our bags in a room at the lobby, not too impressed with that but it is a minor issue.
I would stay here again :)

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank teggs_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear teggs_c,

Thank you for your balanced review of your stay at Mantra Esplanade. It is especially pleasing to hear that you were consistently provided with friendly service by our team, and that you found the location to be ideal.

If you get the chance, could you please email me the room number that you stayed in so that I can investigate the water pressure issue in that room. I am sorry that it inconvenienced you during your stay.

I hope to welcome you back to Mantra Esplanade next time you are in Cairns.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    542
    177
    55
    28
See reviews for
299
493
84
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Recently spent three nights at the Mantra. Couldn't have been happier with the choice. Great apartment with small kitchen, king bed, fold out couch, bathroom and washer/dryer. Excellent location on the Esplanade right in the heart of cafe's, clubs and nightlife. We were there primarily to dive and the warf was a short walk across the park. Private parking as well.

Room Tip: Be specific in relaying your needs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FLnittanylion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear FLnittanylion,

Thank you so much for your kind words. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your 3 night stay at Mantra Esplanade, and hopefully you made the most of the superb location.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed on the 3rd floor corner, facing the ocean. The room has a stove, cooktop, microwave, and washer/dryer. Perfect for us. The beds were 2 twins pushed together, not what I was expecting. They were comfortable, but small. Lots of restaurant choices on the Esplanade and there is a Casino two blocks away. If you're not used to using Australian stoves, it takes a little practice to figure out how to make it work. If you go, make certain you have electrical adapters for your hair dryer/cell phones, etc. Staff was friendly and courteous at all times. They do have discounted tickets for some local spots. I SCUBA dive and was warned not to go out of Cairns. Went to Port Douglas instead and went out on Poseiden. Great choice. This hotel room had a separate living room with a/c and bedroom with a/c. Nice patio with a view. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get one facing the ocean. The other views are not very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MRBILL69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear MRBILL69,

Thank you for taking the time to write such an informative review of your stay at Mantra Esplanade. I am sure readers will appreciate you have provided highlighting the positive attributes of the property, and its excellent location in Cairns.

I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip to Australia.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

Rooms were good, clean and functional. Most of all, great price. The location is the hotel's biggest drawcard. Located right in the middle of the busiest part of Cairns in terms of where tourists / visitors want to go. The marina (for all those tours / trips out to the islands and reefs) is just across the road. The main dining area (the esplanade) is across the road. The public pool is across the road. The Woolworths is just out the back.

The key thing to note is that this is a relatively low service hotel, which is what you pay for. As long as you're self-sufficient people and know you won't get cleaners to visit your room everyday unless you pay a small amount, then you'll be perfectly happy. Just don't go expecting luxury (if you want luxury, go stay out on the island resorts rather than on the mainland)

All in all, if my friends were going to Cairns, I would recommend the Mantra Esplanade.

Room Tip: The city view rooms are perfectly fine, no need to go an ocean view room - it's not as if you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshua T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Dear Josh A,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about Mantra Esplanade!!

It is always pleasing to hear we have been part of positive memories of Cairns.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the mantra for 3 nights in a one bedroom apartment. Room was nice booked through expedia and got a good deal. The expedia website claims that there is complimentary internet and a dishwasher both total lies asked at front desk and even showed the booking page stating about the internet guy looked at me like I was stupid and said no. Hotel is in perfect location. Only stay if you get a deal wouldn't have paid full price

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gasbag1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear gasbag1,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Mantra Esplanade Cairns.

Thank you also for advising about the misinformation on the Expedia website concerning the facilities offered in the one bedroom apartments . I have asked the website to correct this.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ST
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

very good apartment hotel Furnished with all kitchen gadgets for cooking, clothes washing machine neat and clean
excellent staff
very nice location
spacious roomsThe staff helped us in organising trips of Great Barrier rift,

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pksoneji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear pksoneji,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Mantra Esplanade, Cairns.

We are so pleased to be part of your positive memories in Cairns and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager

.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadbeach, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

I had a great stay at Mantra Esplanade. Perfect location to everything which is a big drawing card. We had a great view of the esplanade and even managed to see some fireworks as we timed our trip with the Christmas carols. One thing I would say is that the furnishings are a bit old, the microwave looked like it had been there since the building was built and our air conditioning had a few issues while we were there. These things are very small, we still a great stay and I would recommend staying at this hotel.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellex5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear Ellex5,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay with us and I was pleased you had enjoyed your stay with us.

I agree with your comments about the small things and replacing the microwaves in the new year is on the to do list!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
1.3 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 65 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.5 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Esplanade Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Esplanade Cairns

Property: Mantra Esplanade Cairns
Address: 53 - 57 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Outrigger)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#14 Family Hotel in Cairns
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Esplanade Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Esplanade offers a prime waterfront location, with stylish and contemporary accommodation in the heart of Cairns. Just steps away from the Cairns Swimming Lagoon and offering sweeping ocean, city and mountain views Mantra Esplanade offers a range of Hotel Rooms to fully self-contained One and Two Bedroom Apartments. All rooms feature air conditioning, a balcony, cable TV, hair dryer, internet access (fee), iron and ironing board, and tea and coffee making facilities. There is also a 24 hour reception desk, tour desk, shopping complex, swimming pool, spa (not heated), exercise room and barbecue area. Wander across the road to the Cairns Lagoon in front of the Mantra Esplanade or grab a bite to eat at the many restaurants and cafes on your doorstep. In the evening, stroll down the Esplanade to the night markets where you'll find souvenirs, aboriginal art work, crafts, homewares and jewellery. Cairns is a nature lover's paradise and the gateway to the World Heritage Listed Great Barrier Reef, as well as the Daintree National Park and Cape Tribulation. Take the SkyRail cable car and glide above the spectacular rainforest canopy to the laid-back market town of Kuranda. Catch the Kuranda Scenic Railway back to Cairns to enjoy more breathtaking scenery as it winds through rainforest and past tumbling waterfalls on its way back down to Cairns. Discover all the amazing sights and activities available in and around Cairns while staying at Mantra Esplanade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Mantra Esplanade Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Esplanade Cairns Hotel Cairns
Mantra Esplanade Hotel Cairns
Mantra Esplanade Resort Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing