We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mantra Esplanade Cairns”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mantra Esplanade Cairns
Ranked #9 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed at the Mantra at Christmas time-The best thing about this hotel is the location-handy for everything. The staff are friendly. The problem I have with this place is that it was meant to be a 4 star hotel-i expected room service for the price we paid. If we wanted anything we had to go to the front desk-we were on the 6th floor.The card entry system-we needed the card to enter and exit the pool area-sometimes it wouldn't work.You needed the card to go up the lift.If you stored your card with your mobile-it wouldn't work anymore.The pool is a lot smaller than the pictures on the website indicated-but the pool was clean.However the pool and spa were cold.They need to market the Mantra as a motel-and change it to 3 star. We had previously stayed at a 4 star in Toowong which actually met the 4 star standard. The bathroom was compact-a bit like some old European hotels but clean. The kitchenette ,and living area were clean and a little dated but functional. The King size bed was 2 twin beds pushed together-but it was comfortable.The sofa lounge was pre- made up for our young son which was appreciated.The views were amazing. We had requested a quiet room as my husband is a light sleeper-it was generally ok except that our room was opposite the garbage chute-so you could hear everyone dumping their rubbish.The walls were transparent-you could hear everyone running down the halls.Our last night was the noisiest-we could hear the party people from the pub downstairs as they made their way to the Mcdonalds on the corner. The noise went on till 3-4 am.When you book with Mantra they take a deposit. When you get there you pay the outstanding amount and then they request a further $100 deposit from your card to cover potential costs-not a credit card imprint as you would normally expect but they actually effectively charge the card, the bank freezes the cash for 6-10 days after your stay then reimburses you.We wont see the cash till late next week-that is not right considering it was a do it yourself hotel. You had to pay for wifi in the rooms-which was expensive( a private company ). There was free wifi in the hotel foyer and a printer which was useful.We had wake up calls for last day -they were prompt.They organised a taxi for us back to the airport which was also prompt.Would we stay again? the freezing of our cash for 6-10 days after our holiday was not great so No we won't be but if you like a good central place to stay that is clean and you are young, single and into night life and partying this is the hotel for you We didn't eat at the restaurant as it was expensive and the reviews were not great

Room Tip: room 633 great view but opposite garbage chute
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TEK70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear TEK70,

Thank you for such a detailed review of your stay at Mantra Esplanade. I appreciate that you have highlighted both positive and negative aspects of your stay with us.

You are correct that we don't provide daily servicing of our rooms, but we do clearly state that on our websites and booking confirmations. We have provided this model to reduce costs so that we can provide affordable room rates to our guests. Outside the traditional hotel chains, weekly servicing of apartments is quite normal in most coastal towns in Queensland. We are always happy to provide additional room amenities from the front desk should you run out during your stay.

The key access system to the lifts and pool area etc. are of course provided for the security and peace of mind of all hotel guests. We have indeed been experiencing difficulties with the lock on the pool gate over the last few weeks and have had the locksmiths out on a number of occasions to replace parts. I apologise for the inconvenience this caused during your stay.

At check-in a pre-authorisation of $100 is taken on your credit card. This is standard procedure at all major accommodation chains. The pre-authorisation is taken to ensure that the credit card is valid, and that you have available funds. This is in case you choose to charge anything to your room such as tours, phone calls, internet, meals, and inhouse movies. The pre-authorisation funds are not actually taken by the hotel, but rather they are set aside by the credit card provider for a number of days. The number of days that they are held depends on the financial institution. In my experience, the traditional banks generally release the funds back into your available balance within 3-5 business days. Credit Unions etc. can take longer. I can empathise with the frustration that can occur in waiting for these funds to become available again.
Thank you for the other information that you have provided that will assist readers in making an informed decision on whether they would like to stay at Mantra Esplanade.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,532)
There are newer reviews for Mantra Esplanade Cairns
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,121 - 1,127 of 1,532 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013

Spent a night in a one bedroomed apartment on the 2nd flor at the Mantra and was rather disappointed. The negatives are: tired and dated furniture with stains everywhere including the very old carpet and sofa. Chipped wooden dining table , the air conditioning light in the bedroom shines in your eyes. It didn't come cheaply at all and there was no value for money. However it is in a very central location, roomy and got fantastic service from Talia at reception . Would not stay here again unless they undertake a complete refurbishment.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kanger30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Kanger30,

Thank you for the review of your stay at Mantra Esplanade during the school holidays. I am sorry that you were disappointed by some aspects of your stay. I am pleased to say that we are currently addressing most of the issues that you have identified. We have been working very closely with our valuable aparment owners and have confirmed new carpets and kitchen tiles for nearly 50% of the rooms that we manage. Some of these rooms have been completed and it makes a stunning improvement compared to what they were.

We are also aware of the age of some of the sofa beds and hope to start a program of replacing those before the end of the financial year.

I am sure Tahlia will be very pleased to hear that you found her service so fantastic. She is indeed one of our stars.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

We booked a 2 bedroom apartment, having read previous reviews I thought it was close to most things we wanted to do... I would have to say its hands down one of the best spots to stay at due to how close it is to every thing!!
Pros:- close to every thing we wanted to do, rooms were very spacious and clean, very friendly staff who always said hello or have a good day ect.. Comfy beds and a washing machine and full kitchen which made saving some money on meals possible as we had a fridge and woolies is a 2 minute walk away.

Cons:- the rooms are a little dated, my main issue would have to be the water pressure and trying to get a constant temp, this was a MAJOR issue when trying to shower an 18month old, by the 3rd day(out of 5) we ended up washing our son by a warm face washer as the shower would go hot to cold, hot and then cold to burning your skin hot in a matter of seconds! The lounge chairs are very uncomfortable as well but they would have to be our only complaints with our room.

I really don't know why people complain about no room service, the website clearly states it when booking(we were also reminded when checking in) and taking the rubbish bag to the end of our level wasnt even a problem.
Having stayed between Christmas to New Years we were told we could still have a late check out when booking due to flights how ever upon check in we were told that was now not possible but we could still leave our bags in a room at the lobby, not too impressed with that but it is a minor issue.
I would stay here again :)

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank teggs_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear teggs_c,

Thank you for your balanced review of your stay at Mantra Esplanade. It is especially pleasing to hear that you were consistently provided with friendly service by our team, and that you found the location to be ideal.

If you get the chance, could you please email me the room number that you stayed in so that I can investigate the water pressure issue in that room. I am sorry that it inconvenienced you during your stay.

I hope to welcome you back to Mantra Esplanade next time you are in Cairns.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Recently spent three nights at the Mantra. Couldn't have been happier with the choice. Great apartment with small kitchen, king bed, fold out couch, bathroom and washer/dryer. Excellent location on the Esplanade right in the heart of cafe's, clubs and nightlife. We were there primarily to dive and the warf was a short walk across the park. Private parking as well.

Room Tip: Be specific in relaying your needs...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FLnittanylion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear FLnittanylion,

Thank you so much for your kind words. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your 3 night stay at Mantra Esplanade, and hopefully you made the most of the superb location.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed on the 3rd floor corner, facing the ocean. The room has a stove, cooktop, microwave, and washer/dryer. Perfect for us. The beds were 2 twins pushed together, not what I was expecting. They were comfortable, but small. Lots of restaurant choices on the Esplanade and there is a Casino two blocks away. If you're not used to using Australian stoves, it takes a little practice to figure out how to make it work. If you go, make certain you have electrical adapters for your hair dryer/cell phones, etc. Staff was friendly and courteous at all times. They do have discounted tickets for some local spots. I SCUBA dive and was warned not to go out of Cairns. Went to Port Douglas instead and went out on Poseiden. Great choice. This hotel room had a separate living room with a/c and bedroom with a/c. Nice patio with a view. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get one facing the ocean. The other views are not very good.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRBILL69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear MRBILL69,

Thank you for taking the time to write such an informative review of your stay at Mantra Esplanade. I am sure readers will appreciate you have provided highlighting the positive attributes of the property, and its excellent location in Cairns.

I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip to Australia.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Rooms were good, clean and functional. Most of all, great price. The location is the hotel's biggest drawcard. Located right in the middle of the busiest part of Cairns in terms of where tourists / visitors want to go. The marina (for all those tours / trips out to the islands and reefs) is just across the road. The main dining area (the esplanade) is across the road. The public pool is across the road. The Woolworths is just out the back.

The key thing to note is that this is a relatively low service hotel, which is what you pay for. As long as you're self-sufficient people and know you won't get cleaners to visit your room everyday unless you pay a small amount, then you'll be perfectly happy. Just don't go expecting luxury (if you want luxury, go stay out on the island resorts rather than on the mainland)

All in all, if my friends were going to Cairns, I would recommend the Mantra Esplanade.

Room Tip: The city view rooms are perfectly fine, no need to go an ocean view room - it's not as if you ca...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joshua T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2013

Dear Josh A,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about Mantra Esplanade!!

It is always pleasing to hear we have been part of positive memories of Cairns.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the mantra for 3 nights in a one bedroom apartment. Room was nice booked through expedia and got a good deal. The expedia website claims that there is complimentary internet and a dishwasher both total lies asked at front desk and even showed the booking page stating about the internet guy looked at me like I was stupid and said no. Hotel is in perfect location. Only stay if you get a deal wouldn't have paid full price

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Gasbag1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear gasbag1,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Mantra Esplanade Cairns.

Thank you also for advising about the misinformation on the Expedia website concerning the facilities offered in the one bedroom apartments . I have asked the website to correct this.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.2 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
2,260 reviews
1.3 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
602 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Esplanade Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Esplanade Cairns

Address: 53 - 57 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Outrigger)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#14 Family Hotel in Cairns
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £82 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Esplanade Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps away from the Cairns Swimming Lagoon and offering sweeping ocean, city and mountain views Mantra Esplanade offers a range of Hotel Rooms to fully self-contained One and Two Bedroom Apartments, featuring air conditioning, a balcony, cable TV, hair dryer, internet access (fee), iron and ironing board, and tea and coffee making facilities. Onsite facilities include 24 hour reception desk, tour desk, swimming pool, spa (not heated), exercise room and barbecue area. In the evening, stroll down the Esplanade to the night markets where you'll find souvenirs, aboriginal art work, crafts, homewares and jewellery. Cairns is a nature lover's paradise and the gateway to the World Heritage Listed Great Barrier Reef, as well as the Daintree National Park and Cape Tribulation. Take the SkyRail cable car and glide above the spectacular rainforest canopy to the laid-back market town of Kuranda. Catch the Kuranda Scenic Railway back to Cairns to enjoy more breathtaking scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mantra Esplanade Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Esplanade Cairns Hotel Cairns
Mantra Esplanade Hotel Cairns
Mantra Esplanade Resort Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing