We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mantra Esplanade Cairns
Ranked #9 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location!”
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

After reading some of the reviews I was a little hesitant on booking with the Mantra but for our price range it seemed a good option with a central location.

Although it was not a 5 star accommodation it was not bad either. We had a 2 bedroom apartment which I thought was great in relation to the price we paid. The thing with a 2 bedroom apartment is that it is not one apartment. You enter the main door that then leads to two doors - one is a one bedroom apartment with a kitchen and the other is just a hotel room. Since we were two couple that was perfect for us. If you have a young family you may want to reconsider and the kids may not be comfortable sleeping on their own. The rooms itself were great. Both had a decent balcony, big beds, decent size toilets and everything was clean and well presented. As someone else has mentioned that it clearly states on their website that room service is not included and we were fine with that. Being there for 3 days only room service was not required.

The pool and the gym were good enough and yes the pics on their website are a little deceiving. It was also great that parking was provided with the accommodation and there were no extra charges.

The best part is the location of this hotel and it is right on the esplanade which is great.

Overall can't really fault this hotel in relation to the price we paid. So if you are someone that needs luxury then you might pass on this but otherwise, for us, it was a comfortable accommodation and I would stay here again if I get it for a similar price.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank AMT264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear AMT264,

It is always pleasing to receive a review from an experienced reviewer. As you have highlighted, Mantra Esplanade is perfectly located to experience all of the activities that Cairns has to offer. I am particularly pleased to hear that you found the room very clean, as we have a very experienced housekeeping team here that pride themselves on doing a great job.

Thank you for highlighting the layout of the 2 Bedroom Dual-key apartments. We certainly encourage potential guests to contact us before booking a dual-key apartment if they are travelling with children. That way we can explain the intricacies of the room and let the guest decide on whether they would be comfortable with that setup. We certainly don't want guests fretting about their children whilst they should be enjoying a relaxing holiday.

Once again, thank you for your review.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    513
    647
    205
    70
    36
See reviews for
370
593
89
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel is located right next to the esplanade which is great. However the hotel itself is nothing special. The rooms are worn down and the room was not really clean when we checked in (e.g. We found hairs in the sink and the bathroom in general). In general the hotel is okay but there are better options available in the same price range in my mind.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Nicholas M,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Mantra Esplanade. I am terribly disappointed to hear that some aspects of your stay were not up to the standard that you would expect from a Mantra Group property. This is especially so in regards to the cleanliness of your room upon arrival. We have an exceptional housekeeping team who normally provide very clean rooms. Clearly, on this occasion we have let you down. I apologise for this and would like to assure you that if you were to return to Mantra Esplanade I have every confidence that you would be provided with a very clean room.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed at the Mantra at Christmas time-The best thing about this hotel is the location-handy for everything. The staff are friendly. The problem I have with this place is that it was meant to be a 4 star hotel-i expected room service for the price we paid. If we wanted anything we had to go to the front desk-we were on the 6th floor.The card entry system-we needed the card to enter and exit the pool area-sometimes it wouldn't work.You needed the card to go up the lift.If you stored your card with your mobile-it wouldn't work anymore.The pool is a lot smaller than the pictures on the website indicated-but the pool was clean.However the pool and spa were cold.They need to market the Mantra as a motel-and change it to 3 star. We had previously stayed at a 4 star in Toowong which actually met the 4 star standard. The bathroom was compact-a bit like some old European hotels but clean. The kitchenette ,and living area were clean and a little dated but functional. The King size bed was 2 twin beds pushed together-but it was comfortable.The sofa lounge was pre- made up for our young son which was appreciated.The views were amazing. We had requested a quiet room as my husband is a light sleeper-it was generally ok except that our room was opposite the garbage chute-so you could hear everyone dumping their rubbish.The walls were transparent-you could hear everyone running down the halls.Our last night was the noisiest-we could hear the party people from the pub downstairs as they made their way to the Mcdonalds on the corner. The noise went on till 3-4 am.When you book with Mantra they take a deposit. When you get there you pay the outstanding amount and then they request a further $100 deposit from your card to cover potential costs-not a credit card imprint as you would normally expect but they actually effectively charge the card, the bank freezes the cash for 6-10 days after your stay then reimburses you.We wont see the cash till late next week-that is not right considering it was a do it yourself hotel. You had to pay for wifi in the rooms-which was expensive( a private company ). There was free wifi in the hotel foyer and a printer which was useful.We had wake up calls for last day -they were prompt.They organised a taxi for us back to the airport which was also prompt.Would we stay again? the freezing of our cash for 6-10 days after our holiday was not great so No we won't be but if you like a good central place to stay that is clean and you are young, single and into night life and partying this is the hotel for you We didn't eat at the restaurant as it was expensive and the reviews were not great

Room Tip: room 633 great view but opposite garbage chute
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TEK70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear TEK70,

Thank you for such a detailed review of your stay at Mantra Esplanade. I appreciate that you have highlighted both positive and negative aspects of your stay with us.

You are correct that we don't provide daily servicing of our rooms, but we do clearly state that on our websites and booking confirmations. We have provided this model to reduce costs so that we can provide affordable room rates to our guests. Outside the traditional hotel chains, weekly servicing of apartments is quite normal in most coastal towns in Queensland. We are always happy to provide additional room amenities from the front desk should you run out during your stay.

The key access system to the lifts and pool area etc. are of course provided for the security and peace of mind of all hotel guests. We have indeed been experiencing difficulties with the lock on the pool gate over the last few weeks and have had the locksmiths out on a number of occasions to replace parts. I apologise for the inconvenience this caused during your stay.

At check-in a pre-authorisation of $100 is taken on your credit card. This is standard procedure at all major accommodation chains. The pre-authorisation is taken to ensure that the credit card is valid, and that you have available funds. This is in case you choose to charge anything to your room such as tours, phone calls, internet, meals, and inhouse movies. The pre-authorisation funds are not actually taken by the hotel, but rather they are set aside by the credit card provider for a number of days. The number of days that they are held depends on the financial institution. In my experience, the traditional banks generally release the funds back into your available balance within 3-5 business days. Credit Unions etc. can take longer. I can empathise with the frustration that can occur in waiting for these funds to become available again.
Thank you for the other information that you have provided that will assist readers in making an informed decision on whether they would like to stay at Mantra Esplanade.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Spent a night in a one bedroomed apartment on the 2nd flor at the Mantra and was rather disappointed. The negatives are: tired and dated furniture with stains everywhere including the very old carpet and sofa. Chipped wooden dining table , the air conditioning light in the bedroom shines in your eyes. It didn't come cheaply at all and there was no value for money. However it is in a very central location, roomy and got fantastic service from Talia at reception . Would not stay here again unless they undertake a complete refurbishment.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kanger30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Kanger30,

Thank you for the review of your stay at Mantra Esplanade during the school holidays. I am sorry that you were disappointed by some aspects of your stay. I am pleased to say that we are currently addressing most of the issues that you have identified. We have been working very closely with our valuable aparment owners and have confirmed new carpets and kitchen tiles for nearly 50% of the rooms that we manage. Some of these rooms have been completed and it makes a stunning improvement compared to what they were.

We are also aware of the age of some of the sofa beds and hope to start a program of replacing those before the end of the financial year.

I am sure Tahlia will be very pleased to hear that you found her service so fantastic. She is indeed one of our stars.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

We booked a 2 bedroom apartment, having read previous reviews I thought it was close to most things we wanted to do... I would have to say its hands down one of the best spots to stay at due to how close it is to every thing!!
Pros:- close to every thing we wanted to do, rooms were very spacious and clean, very friendly staff who always said hello or have a good day ect.. Comfy beds and a washing machine and full kitchen which made saving some money on meals possible as we had a fridge and woolies is a 2 minute walk away.

Cons:- the rooms are a little dated, my main issue would have to be the water pressure and trying to get a constant temp, this was a MAJOR issue when trying to shower an 18month old, by the 3rd day(out of 5) we ended up washing our son by a warm face washer as the shower would go hot to cold, hot and then cold to burning your skin hot in a matter of seconds! The lounge chairs are very uncomfortable as well but they would have to be our only complaints with our room.

I really don't know why people complain about no room service, the website clearly states it when booking(we were also reminded when checking in) and taking the rubbish bag to the end of our level wasnt even a problem.
Having stayed between Christmas to New Years we were told we could still have a late check out when booking due to flights how ever upon check in we were told that was now not possible but we could still leave our bags in a room at the lobby, not too impressed with that but it is a minor issue.
I would stay here again :)

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank teggs_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear teggs_c,

Thank you for your balanced review of your stay at Mantra Esplanade. It is especially pleasing to hear that you were consistently provided with friendly service by our team, and that you found the location to be ideal.

If you get the chance, could you please email me the room number that you stayed in so that I can investigate the water pressure issue in that room. I am sorry that it inconvenienced you during your stay.

I hope to welcome you back to Mantra Esplanade next time you are in Cairns.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, FL
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Recently spent three nights at the Mantra. Couldn't have been happier with the choice. Great apartment with small kitchen, king bed, fold out couch, bathroom and washer/dryer. Excellent location on the Esplanade right in the heart of cafe's, clubs and nightlife. We were there primarily to dive and the warf was a short walk across the park. Private parking as well.

Room Tip: Be specific in relaying your needs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FLnittanylion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear FLnittanylion,

Thank you so much for your kind words. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your 3 night stay at Mantra Esplanade, and hopefully you made the most of the superb location.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed on the 3rd floor corner, facing the ocean. The room has a stove, cooktop, microwave, and washer/dryer. Perfect for us. The beds were 2 twins pushed together, not what I was expecting. They were comfortable, but small. Lots of restaurant choices on the Esplanade and there is a Casino two blocks away. If you're not used to using Australian stoves, it takes a little practice to figure out how to make it work. If you go, make certain you have electrical adapters for your hair dryer/cell phones, etc. Staff was friendly and courteous at all times. They do have discounted tickets for some local spots. I SCUBA dive and was warned not to go out of Cairns. Went to Port Douglas instead and went out on Poseiden. Great choice. This hotel room had a separate living room with a/c and bedroom with a/c. Nice patio with a view. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get one facing the ocean. The other views are not very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRBILL69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear MRBILL69,

Thank you for taking the time to write such an informative review of your stay at Mantra Esplanade. I am sure readers will appreciate you have provided highlighting the positive attributes of the property, and its excellent location in Cairns.

I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip to Australia.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.2 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
590 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#5 of 64 in Cairns
2,229 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Esplanade Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Esplanade Cairns

Property: Mantra Esplanade Cairns
Address: 53 - 57 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Outrigger)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#14 Family Hotel in Cairns
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Esplanade Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Esplanade offers a prime waterfront location, with stylish and contemporary accommodation in the heart of Cairns. Just steps away from the Cairns Swimming Lagoon and offering sweeping ocean, city and mountain views Mantra Esplanade offers a range of Hotel Rooms to fully self-contained One and Two Bedroom Apartments. All rooms feature air conditioning, a balcony, cable TV, hair dryer, internet access (fee), iron and ironing board, and tea and coffee making facilities. There is also a 24 hour reception desk, tour desk, shopping complex, swimming pool, spa (not heated), exercise room and barbecue area. Wander across the road to the Cairns Lagoon in front of the Mantra Esplanade or grab a bite to eat at the many restaurants and cafes on your doorstep. In the evening, stroll down the Esplanade to the night markets where you'll find souvenirs, aboriginal art work, crafts, homewares and jewellery. Cairns is a nature lover's paradise and the gateway to the World Heritage Listed Great Barrier Reef, as well as the Daintree National Park and Cape Tribulation. Take the SkyRail cable car and glide above the spectacular rainforest canopy to the laid-back market town of Kuranda. Catch the Kuranda Scenic Railway back to Cairns to enjoy more breathtaking scenery as it winds through rainforest and past tumbling waterfalls on its way back down to Cairns. Discover all the amazing sights and activities available in and around Cairns while staying at Mantra Esplanade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra Esplanade Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Esplanade Cairns Hotel Cairns
Mantra Esplanade Hotel Cairns
Mantra Esplanade Resort Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing