We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mantra Esplanade Cairns
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Tropical Heritage Cairns(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$166
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Pullman
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$275
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$151
Shangri-La.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$179
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cairns Plaza Hotel(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reef Palms(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,796)
Filter reviews
1,796 results
Traveller rating
654
746
261
92
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
654
746
261
92
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationcourthouse hotelone bedroom apartmentcity viewlagoon poolhotel roomreef terminalnight marketgood sizefree wifiwashing machine and dryerreception staffwould stay here againcentral locationfull kitchenshort staygreat room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,374 - 1,379 of 1,796 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Wow what disappointing customer service in this accommodation. I would not stay again as 1st impressions count and they weren't good.

The location was great but the rooms were very dated and unusual in the setup as we had a joining rooms for a family of 4.

The pool gate was broken and that had most guests confused on how to get in and out of the pool area and the staff didn't communicate with guests with regard to this issue.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TraceyAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear TraceyAdelaide,

I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed by your stay at Mantra Esplanade. The building is now 14 years old, and now that the various apartment owners are hopefully getting back on a better financial footing following the GFC, we can work together with them to invest money into making some improvements to their apartments. We currently have a program underway where we are working with owners to replace the carpet and also the floor tiles in the kitchens. We have also put new bed and lounge cushions, as well as brand new lamps in all rooms. We are certainly endeavouring to modernise the product so that all of our guests can leave satisfied with their stay.

I am sorry for the inconvenience caused by the electronic breakdown of the pool gate mechanism. There is never a good time for these things to happen, and I am sorry that it impacted on your stay.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The position of this Hotel is perfect. We loved that it backed onto the local Courthouse Hotel who have nice cold drinks, great little bands and well priced casual dining. The staff were organised and courteous. We just all felt disappointed from the minute we opened the door and went inside. It's old and dowdy and very uninviting. The walls are marked, the curtains and carpets look old and the kitchen too. The Air-Con units are all plastic and yellowed looking and the front grills were all broken off - didn't look nice. Some lamps didn't work or just needed globes, so maintenance wasn't being met obviously. It just wasn't the feeling of even 4 star luxury, not even close. Mantra needs to step up a bit and spend some money on the hallways and units before I'd book again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Lynette B,

Thank you for your review. The good thing is that you have highlighted all of the items that we are currently addressing in rooms. It just takes a bit of co-ordination as all of the rooms are individually owned and it is with feedback such as yours that we can help our owners to make the decision to invest in their apartments.

We have just had new carpet laid in each hallway of every level of the building. We have also just completed installing brand new lamps in every room that we manage. So far 45 rooms have committed to installing new carpet throughout their rooms, as well the installation of new floor tiles in the kitchens.

I apologise that the room that you stayed in left you disappointed, but I would like to assure you that we are aware of the various issues that you have highlighted and are actively working to resolve them.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I stayed as a single and enjoyed the extra room--balcony, living room, kitchenette, washer/dryer plus usual bed and bath. I ate in the restaurant and enjoyed that, although it was pretty pricey. The location is extremely convenient to the reef terminal. It is withing walking distance. The lack of daily towel change was not an issue for me. A taxi was called for me for me trip back to the airport. I felt this was a good economical pick. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheri b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Godsgirl66,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Mantra Hervey Bay. I am delighted to hear that you found the room spacious, and that our staff attended to your requests. It is indeed just a 200 metre walk to the reef fleet terminal where all of the reef boats depart from on a daily basis.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

After reading some of the reviews I was a little hesitant on booking with the Mantra but for our price range it seemed a good option with a central location.

Although it was not a 5 star accommodation it was not bad either. We had a 2 bedroom apartment which I thought was great in relation to the price we paid. The thing with a 2 bedroom apartment is that it is not one apartment. You enter the main door that then leads to two doors - one is a one bedroom apartment with a kitchen and the other is just a hotel room. Since we were two couple that was perfect for us. If you have a young family you may want to reconsider and the kids may not be comfortable sleeping on their own. The rooms itself were great. Both had a decent balcony, big beds, decent size toilets and everything was clean and well presented. As someone else has mentioned that it clearly states on their website that room service is not included and we were fine with that. Being there for 3 days only room service was not required.

The pool and the gym were good enough and yes the pics on their website are a little deceiving. It was also great that parking was provided with the accommodation and there were no extra charges.

The best part is the location of this hotel and it is right on the esplanade which is great.

Overall can't really fault this hotel in relation to the price we paid. So if you are someone that needs luxury then you might pass on this but otherwise, for us, it was a comfortable accommodation and I would stay here again if I get it for a similar price.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank AMT264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear AMT264,

It is always pleasing to receive a review from an experienced reviewer. As you have highlighted, Mantra Esplanade is perfectly located to experience all of the activities that Cairns has to offer. I am particularly pleased to hear that you found the room very clean, as we have a very experienced housekeeping team here that pride themselves on doing a great job.

Thank you for highlighting the layout of the 2 Bedroom Dual-key apartments. We certainly encourage potential guests to contact us before booking a dual-key apartment if they are travelling with children. That way we can explain the intricacies of the room and let the guest decide on whether they would be comfortable with that setup. We certainly don't want guests fretting about their children whilst they should be enjoying a relaxing holiday.

Once again, thank you for your review.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel is located right next to the esplanade which is great. However the hotel itself is nothing special. The rooms are worn down and the room was not really clean when we checked in (e.g. We found hairs in the sink and the bathroom in general). In general the hotel is okay but there are better options available in the same price range in my mind.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Nicholas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Nicholas M,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Mantra Esplanade. I am terribly disappointed to hear that some aspects of your stay were not up to the standard that you would expect from a Mantra Group property. This is especially so in regards to the cleanliness of your room upon arrival. We have an exceptional housekeeping team who normally provide very clean rooms. Clearly, on this occasion we have let you down. I apologise for this and would like to assure you that if you were to return to Mantra Esplanade I have every confidence that you would be provided with a very clean room.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews