We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Same Same but different”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra Esplanade Cairns
Ranked #8 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Same Same but different”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Checked into this place for a weeks worth of work in Cairns. The hotel location is exceptional, a short walk from anything in town including good food and super markets. Staff were friendly enough, room was clean. The main thing I would criticise was some of physical stuff in the room was a bit clunky (IE fan had only one setting which was basically spin like a helicopter roterblade, and the flush button kept on popping out.

I wont mention the lifts but when they do their budgets thats gotta be fixed.

All in all a nice stay in a good location with a good room for a week long stay where you need a little more room.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malchieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Malchieb,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Mantra Esplanade. It is indeed a very handy location if you are here for business for a week. It has been highlighted many times that there is a vast array of restaurants within close proximity to the property, but we do sometimes forget to highlight that the Woolworths supermarket is also directly behind the property. Not everyone wants to eat out every night, so it is great being able to stock the room with basic grocery items.

You will be pleased to know that the body corporate has indeed approved a significant refurbishment of the lifts. We hope to have this work completed in the near future.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    452
    557
    184
    56
    29
See reviews for
315
515
87
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
194 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The location is perfect - just steps outside the door you're near shops, restaurants and the lagoon. The hotel itself is nice, we had a beautiful view from the balcony in our room. The rooms are definitely not fancy and the price does not include many extras (housekeeping, wifi, etc.) but it was clean and service was fine. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat for the stellar location.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Kimberly K,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mantra Esplanade. Like many before you, you have highlighted the perfect location of Mantra Esplanade. Not only are the shops, restaurants, and lagoon at our doorstep, but it is also just a couple of hundred metres across the park to the reef fleet terminal so that everyone has easy access to their Great Barrier Reef day trips.

I am pleased to hear that you found your room clean, and that the service was fine.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

My family are visiting from the UK and we took them too Cairns for four days and we stayed at the Mantra as my husband and I did in 2008, great location brilliant views and a short walk too restaurants and shops.

Room Tip: WE stayed in rooms with ocean views and we will when we revisit. GREAT views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear Ann S,

Thank you for your lovely review of your stay with us. Cairns is a terrific place to show off to your relatives from the UK. I am so pleased to hear that you still chose us as your accommodation venue after a gap of years. Hopefully you don't have to wait so long to stay with us again.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Location is perfect. Staff are friendly and helpful. We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment and it was comfortable and had everything we needed. We would normally hire a car when we come to cairns but because the mantra is so perfectly located we just walked everywhere. I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stshort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear Stshort,

Thank you for your kind review of your stay at Mantra Esplanade. It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and that the staff were friendly and helpful. It is always great when you can go on a holiday and not need to get into the car to go and do things. Everything is at your doorstep at Mantra Esplanade.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Pros -
Good location, close to Esplanade and many dining options.
Good sized rooms with all the necessities available.

Cons -
constantly struggled with key card, especially with elevator and parking gates but also doors. Even asked for a new one but still the same trouble.
Shower in bathtub - outdated and awkward.
Water temp in shower constantly fluctuating from hot to cold when showering - very annoying.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mattieflavour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear mattieflavour,

Thank you for your review, and for highlighting the terrific location of Mantra Esplanade. I am pleased to hear that you found the rooms to have ample room and well supplied with amenities. I apolgise for the inconvenience that you experienced with the key cards. We have indeed being experiencing an intermittent fault with the card readers in both elevators. We have been working closely with our locksmith to have this suitably resolved as soon as possible. I am sorry that this impacted on your stay.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englewood, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a week beginning 23 Jan. We were surprised to find out the rooms would only be serviced on the 5th day of our stay. Of course you could pay $55Au per day to have it serviced more. Also wifi was $25 per day in your room. You could sit on the balcony and get free wifi but it shut down as soon as you walked inside.

The rooms were nice and beds comfortable. Excellent location and walking distance to pretty much everything. That staff at the front desk was very helpful. I would suggest working with Sam or Tahlia for all your tour scheduling needs. They took care of everything for us.

Having a kitchen was helpful in keeping the meal prices down. More ice trays would be helpful in that area though. Woolworths and a bottle shop are a quick walk out of the back of the hotel.

We stayed on the 3rd floor and had a nice view of the esplanade and the mountains.

Security is good also. The lifts required a room key to operate. Only down side to the security is that you had to rent/hire a key to use the room safe. Most places have electronic safes.

Overall, I still think it was a good value.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Todd W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Todd W,

Thank you for balanced and informative review of your stay at Mantra Esplanade. I am sure that Sam and Tahlia will be pleased to see that they have been recommended as tour sales specialists. There is a fair bit of competition amongst our team members to see who can sell the many available tours the best.

I am pleased to say that we do have alternative Wifi prices available for purchase from the front desk. These are available from $10 per day. The free Wifi on your balcony would have been the Cairns Community Wifi which is a terrific benefit to being right next to the Esplanade Lagoon.

Thank you for highlighting the excellent location of the property. Whilst we often point out that we are conveniently located for access to the reef terminal, we sometimes forget to mention the easy access to Woolworths and associated bottleshop just behind the property.

We are currently working on a project which I hope should enable us to provide access to the in room safes free of charge in the near future.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise Point, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We were pleasantly surprised with our room having both a city view and ocean view. The 'apartment' room against the 'hotel' room was a great choice as we had a kitchen and laundry. i was surprised that the hotel didnt offer to service the room one during our 5 night stay,. but on the upside clean towels, toilet paper, tea, coffee etc were available from the front desk. We did have a situation where we needed 2 door cards/keys and only one was supplied. The place was neat and tidy, the staff friendly and location great. Would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blw_jeckyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear blw_jeckyll,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Mantra Esplanade Cairns. I am sure that Trip Advisor readers will appreciate the information that you have provided regarding the property and room facilities. I apologise that you were not issued with sufficient keys to your room. We would normally be happy to provide a key card to each registered guest, so I am sorry that this did not occur on this occasion.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
1.3 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
554 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
1,058 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.1 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Esplanade Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Esplanade Cairns

Property: Mantra Esplanade Cairns
Address: 53 - 57 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Outrigger)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#14 Family Hotel in Cairns
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Esplanade Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Esplanade offers a prime waterfront location, with stylish and contemporary accommodation in the heart of Cairns. Just steps away from the Cairns Swimming Lagoon and offering sweeping ocean, city and mountain views Mantra Esplanade offers a range of Hotel Rooms to fully self-contained One and Two Bedroom Apartments. All rooms feature air conditioning, a balcony, cable TV, hair dryer, internet access (fee), iron and ironing board, and tea and coffee making facilities. There is also a 24 hour reception desk, tour desk, shopping complex, swimming pool, spa (not heated), exercise room and barbecue area. Wander across the road to the Cairns Lagoon in front of the Mantra Esplanade or grab a bite to eat at the many restaurants and cafes on your doorstep. In the evening, stroll down the Esplanade to the night markets where you'll find souvenirs, aboriginal art work, crafts, homewares and jewellery. Cairns is a nature lover's paradise and the gateway to the World Heritage Listed Great Barrier Reef, as well as the Daintree National Park and Cape Tribulation. Take the SkyRail cable car and glide above the spectacular rainforest canopy to the laid-back market town of Kuranda. Catch the Kuranda Scenic Railway back to Cairns to enjoy more breathtaking scenery as it winds through rainforest and past tumbling waterfalls on its way back down to Cairns. Discover all the amazing sights and activities available in and around Cairns while staying at Mantra Esplanade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Esplanade Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Esplanade Cairns Hotel Cairns
Mantra Esplanade Hotel Cairns
Mantra Esplanade Resort Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing