We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mantra Esplanade Cairns
Nearby Hotels
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Cairns(Cairns)
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Cairns Plaza Hotel(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coral Tree Inn(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reef Palms(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,823)
Filter reviews
1,823 results
Traveller rating
661
755
267
96
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
661
755
267
96
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationcourthouse hotelone bedroom apartmentcity viewlagoon poolhotel roomreef terminalnight marketgood sizefree wifiwashing machine and dryerreception staffwould stay here againcentral locationfull kitchenshort staygreat room
Filter
Updating list...
1,682 - 1,687 of 1,823 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2009

Just arrived home from our holiday and would like to warn anyone thinking of booking the Mantra Esplanade. We booked on WOTIF.

Where do I start?

The reception staff - a terrible 'welcome'. We were travelling with 3 kids and lots of luggage - the staff member was on his own, doing nothing,didn't even look up and smile as we trundled in struggling with our luggage. He didn't offer us a trolley to use. Unfriendly, unhelpful, unprofessional.

The bathrooms - both baths had pubic hair and hair in them, plus the place was grotty as...hadn't been cleaned properly. Revolting. There are not enough staff to clean the place. My son fell over in the room in the first 5 mins and his face came up covered in hair and grot!

My son cut his foot on glass in the pool area!!!

Smashed glass through the carpark.

The pool is tiny as - like for a small backyard.

The view was to a concrete balcony. The balcony itself was covered in dirt and my kids feet came back BLACK after a minute outside on it.

TV reception was faulty.

We paid 4 star prices and got a 2 star place. We were devastated. SAVE YOUR MONEY and go somewhere nice - we moved to the Novotel and it was FABULOUS!!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Greenjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2009

Its location on the Esplanade within a block of the Shangri-La, Hilton, Pacific and Reef casino makes the Mantra Esplanade a good choice for exploring Cairns city area; it is also a 10 minute walk from the Convention Centre. For those who need constant grazing, coffee and brekkie at Perrotas at the Art Gallery is pretty good and there are several coffee shops on the Esplanade, not to mention the underwhelming choice of MacDonalds next door.

Essentially serviced apartments with some self-contained features like kitchenettes and laundry, the Mantra Esplanade is neatly appointed, clean and comfortable with balconies overlooking either the Mantra or Lagoon swimming pools. It has its own pool/spa/fitness centre alongside the old Courthouse Hotel (currently closed), but no other services in terms of food or concierge. Externally provided pay wi-fi and one pay-per-use computer with broken printer was the extent of business services.

Maybe "serviced" apartment might be a misnomer. My booking was through the Mantra website, which managed to offer competitive rates; but snuck onto a separate webpage, was an unexpected Condition: that "tariff offers a daily, weekly or an un-serviced rate". On checking in, I was informed mine was the latter, which meant that my 4 day visit received no servicing whatsoever. No replenishing tea bags, clearing out garbage or new towels. They did offer to do it for an extra $21/day.

Check out was 10 am, with an offer to store bags and free use of the pool and shower, with towels provided. Front desk staff were always friendly, as long as you didn't ask for anything too stressful.

If you don't expect much for the tariff, it's a very nice location, comfortable and convenient. It's an unserviced apartment, not a hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheQueenslander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2009

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment. We had 2 small children and the rooms were interlocking. we complained as the children would have to use the key each time they came into our apartment.The staff were very unhelpul, especially the Front Office manager. All we asked for was to wedge the doors open,NO was there response. 4hours later the General manager gave us something to wedge the doors open. We then had to walk sideways into our rooms. It was our Wedding anniversay. Not a great start! I wrote a letter to mantra and of course have not had a response! It is false advertising and misleading to the consumer. WILL NEVER STAY AT A MANTRA HOTEL AGAIN!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hospitality15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2009

We had a very nice 2 bedroom apartment facing the beach, large, well equipped rooms with efficient air conditioning. Free secure car parking a bonus.
Located at the far end of the main esplanade in Cairns, opposite the beach. Cairns seemed to be full of tourists - much more so than a previous visit 10 years ago. The night market further down the esplanade was very interesting - and obviously open late!
The Quicksilver Barrier Reef trip was very good - try the guided snorkelling with their marine biologist.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FushiaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2009

Very nice hotel...Very clean and a great location. The staff was very professional. It was an added bonus that the hotel had a parking garage. The security measures at the hotel and the parking garage was a surprise but welcomed.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank texasbella2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews