We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT Location, VERY helpful staff...Wonderful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mantra Esplanade Cairns
Ranked #9 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas TX
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“GREAT Location, VERY helpful staff...Wonderful Hotel”
Reviewed 8 March 2010

My wife and I stayed in the Mantra Esplanade while exploring the eastern coast of Australian this past January. I have nothing but wonderful things to say about the hotel. The room was very clean and had amazing views of the ocean and esplanade. The location is the absolute best in the city. The hotel is located directly across from the dock where all of the day cruises to the reef depart. If taking a reef trip, it is quite simple to wake up 10 minutes prior to boarding, walk across the street, and board your vessel for the day. In addition, the hotel is located within 5 minutes from all of the restaraunts, bars, etc. Location is unsurpassed!

The staff at the Mantra was VERY friendly and helpful. They reccomended numerous day trips for my wife and I, and even booked them for us right at the front desk....there was no need to deal with a booking agent, etc. It was a very nice service. In addition, to helping us with booking a few day adventures, they also helped us hire a very afforable car for 3 days. Service was VERY good.

I would highly reccomend this hotel due to the location and the staff!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fpatten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    512
    646
    205
    70
    36
See reviews for
370
592
89
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2010

Good Value, friendly staff, nice large room with a balcony.

No bar but that's no problem plenty of bars and restaurants nearby.

Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank PaulW14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2009

The Mantra Esplanade was recommended to us by friends - and I will certainly be recommending them to everyone! I have travelled to Cairns many times and now have found the perfect accommodation - location, apartment size, service, cleanliness and overall experience cannot be faulted!
They provide everything you could possibly need in the apartment, you can walk everywhere and the facitilites are brilliant - secure parking, heated pool & spa, sauna & gym, huge BBQ area all free for Guests to use.
Can't wait till we can book our next trip!!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel4me23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASMNQ, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, 2 February 2010
Dear Travel4me23,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you again to our beautiful property and hope your next visit is not too far away!!

Regards

Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2009

Great service from reception - they were flexible with check out and then great with bags and access to showers/ towels prior to my flight.

Nice room - I had great ocean/bay views; clean and decor matched the setting.

Great location opposite the pool and markets, walking distance to shopping areas.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fandangleBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2009

We stayed on the fourth floor overlooking the pool. A 1 bed apartment, clean and tidy. Washing machine and dryer were handy. Withing walking distance of restaurants, shops, bus services, and marina. Pool and spa were clean and water was warm. BBQ near the pool. Staff were friendly. Enjoyed our stay, of one week, made our own bookings for tours.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lady_auau2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2009

We arrived off a long 6.5hour flight from New Zealand, I was moving over to Cairns for work so had alot of luggage and very heavy bags. Requested help with our luggage only to be told no there were trolleys we could use our selves, which would be ok if there actually was a trolley there but there wasnt. The two girls on the desk were chatting to each other with nobody else in the lobby. Continued to chat as we were checking in very very rude. I am a Duty Manager for Mirvac Hotels and Resorts in NZ and this is very very poor standards for such a high priced and great location spot. Also the internet in our room would not work and were told to come down and use the lobby internet which when we got there was not working either and we were told the guy was coming to fix it in the next few days. Sofa was not made upon arrival despite request clear on Wotif.com booking.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dmlucy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2009

Stayed 3 nights on our way through to Sydney. Arrived too early to access room and requested upgrade to ocean view, - no problem. Went nearby for breakfast, room ready by 11 a.m. Decent size room, decor a bit tired, but overall not too bad. Excellent location, and any requests were answered quickly and politely. The restaurant was only open once whilst we were there, so didn't get chance to try it, but plenty of eating opportunities surrounding you so no probs there.
The big attraction here is of course the Barrier reef trips, so make sure you get yourself onto one of those - fantastic.
Biggest grouse is that they don't change towels or clean your room except if you are there for 7 days, then you will get 1 'free' room service, otherwise you pay. Only there for 3 days so not bothered, but it seems a bit penny pinching, and doesn't enamour the guests to the staff.
Overall, it just about comes up to a decent standard but with a bit of thought and effort it could be much improved.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gastr0T0urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.2 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
589 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#5 of 64 in Cairns
2,229 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Esplanade Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Esplanade Cairns

Property: Mantra Esplanade Cairns
Address: 53 - 57 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Outrigger)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#14 Family Hotel in Cairns
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Esplanade Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Esplanade offers a prime waterfront location, with stylish and contemporary accommodation in the heart of Cairns. Just steps away from the Cairns Swimming Lagoon and offering sweeping ocean, city and mountain views Mantra Esplanade offers a range of Hotel Rooms to fully self-contained One and Two Bedroom Apartments. All rooms feature air conditioning, a balcony, cable TV, hair dryer, internet access (fee), iron and ironing board, and tea and coffee making facilities. There is also a 24 hour reception desk, tour desk, shopping complex, swimming pool, spa (not heated), exercise room and barbecue area. Wander across the road to the Cairns Lagoon in front of the Mantra Esplanade or grab a bite to eat at the many restaurants and cafes on your doorstep. In the evening, stroll down the Esplanade to the night markets where you'll find souvenirs, aboriginal art work, crafts, homewares and jewellery. Cairns is a nature lover's paradise and the gateway to the World Heritage Listed Great Barrier Reef, as well as the Daintree National Park and Cape Tribulation. Take the SkyRail cable car and glide above the spectacular rainforest canopy to the laid-back market town of Kuranda. Catch the Kuranda Scenic Railway back to Cairns to enjoy more breathtaking scenery as it winds through rainforest and past tumbling waterfalls on its way back down to Cairns. Discover all the amazing sights and activities available in and around Cairns while staying at Mantra Esplanade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra Esplanade Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Esplanade Cairns Hotel Cairns
Mantra Esplanade Hotel Cairns
Mantra Esplanade Resort Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing