We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If The Mantra was anywhere else I wouldn't bother again.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra Esplanade Cairns
Ranked #9 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Margaret River WA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If The Mantra was anywhere else I wouldn't bother again.”
Reviewed 6 September 2010

The location of the Mantra Esplanade is its saving grace. The fantastic view from our ocean view room, and its proximity to local attractions, however, only just compensated for its shortcomings.
When we arrived we sincerely thought the lovely Indian people who helped us in the lift had cooked a feast before going out for the evening, as the air in our corridor was redolent with delicious, but somewhat overpowering odours of curry - freshly cooked. When in the morning this smell was replaced by a distinct, and frankly nauseating, odour of cooked chips in our ensuite we realised the smells originated from several (perhaps all) restaurants in the vicinity of the hotel. This, seen in relation to the fact that we lived in fear of cooking even a piece of toast in our (self contained) room lest we incur the threatened several hundred dollar fine for setting off the smoke alarm, made the hotel's entreaty for us to "relax" a bit of a joke.
I found the staff polite and reasonably helpful but their welcome, and their perfunctory explanation of parking and access procedures, lacked warmth and failed to take into account that their guests may be tired, stressed, and perhaps HADN'T BEEN THERE BEFORE!!!. While I, like many Australians, am suspicious of fawning fetlock tuggers, I'm a patient and polite person and I'm paying handsomely to enjoy the facilities of this establishment - I feel that I've bought some warmth (if not the real thing, at least a pretence of it)
As this was our first visit to Cairns, and since we've had a chance to look around, I'll be looking carefully at what's on offer from nearby establishments (for the same or similar price) before I rush back to the Mantra Esplanade.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderful08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    487
    615
    195
    65
    32
See reviews for
343
556
88
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2010

Having stayed at a Mantra hotel recently on business in Brisbane (South Bank) we looked for a Mantra hotel when coming to Cairns for our family holiday. We had a 2 bed apartment which was clean and comfortable. My wife loved having the washing machine available! Staff were friendly and helpful with what to do. The hotel location is fantastic, close to shops and is on the main restaurant strip. Also very close to where the boats leave for the reef trips, walking distance. A great central hotel and we got a good deal on Wotif

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vancamp8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2010

. Apartment was functional . Had basic kitchen, lounge dining area large bedroom and small bathroom.
The location was excellent close to restaurants. Our room overlooked the old courthouse which is a beautiful old heritage building which has been transformed into a Pub. We were quite happy with the deal we got but soon discovered why the room had been reduced from about $200 per night down to $130 (wotif) we had to endure a band playing loud music outdoors at the front of the pub.We were on the 4th floor and all windosw/doors were closed but the music was thumping on Friday night to about 1am. We also copped it on Saturday night and Sunday afternoon. No room no matter how much it is reduced is worth putting up with this. The restaurant and patterisie which was attache to this property had also closed down.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mc53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASMNQ, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, 30 August 2010
Dear mc53,

Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your recent stay.

I am sorry you were disappointed with some aspects of your recent stay with us. The Courthouse Hotel management works closely with Mantra Esplanade to ensure that the noise impacts as little as possible on the hotel guests and their holiday relaxation. If a guest advises that the music is disturbing their enjoyment, we will find another unit that is more suitable.

The restaurant and patisserie which are both located in the lobby are privately owned and we are at the whim of the owners when it comes to the opening times. Fortunately, as you said, there are many excellent restaurants and bars within easy walking distance of the hotel.

Once again, I apologise for any disappointment you experienced during your stay with us which meant did you not have the Mantra experience to remember for all the right reasons.

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2010

The Mantra has a great location right on the Esplanade - 5 minute walk to the Ferry Terminal for boats to the Great Barrier Reef and to the night markets and restaurants on the Esplanade. A few doors down is the official information centre (as opposed to the many unofficial information centres) althought we found the front desk staff had a lot of info too about how to get to attractions and the like and were always friendly and helpful. We had a two bedroom apartment with kitchen and laundry. Very roomy and spacious. Heard the rubbish trucks early in the morning and a little noise from the pub behind the hotel but nothing major. Got a good deal for staying a week. They have rates on the website but we emailed them too and they gave us a little more discount (our travel agent offered to book us there but could not match the rate the hotel gave us ! Shame on you Flight Centre). We flew out in the evening and when we went back to get out bags they said we could shower in the gym area which left us really refreshed. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hway29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASMNQ, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, 30 August 2010
Dear hway29,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay.

We are glad to hear you were impressed with our proximity to local attractions and restaurants.

We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Mantra Esplanade for your next vacation.

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoria
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2010

we stayed in a ocean view apartment on the top floor (corner .) We couldn't fault it . we have read all the visitor reviews in trip advisor good and bad . At the and of our 6 nights stay we couldn't think of anything bad for this place .--------- And the lady at the reception extra helpful.---------- bit pricey but it's worth it .

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pars54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASMNQ, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, 30 August 2010
Thank you for your lovely feedback on the Mantra Esplanade staff. We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2010

Just came back from 7 days at Mantra Esplanade. The hotel is in a fantastic location and is central to all the attractions of central Cairns. The lagoon, esplanade, restaurant strip, just steps away. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment with a city view.The apartment itself is of a slightly older style but this is made up by the great amount of room and king size bed in the separate bedroom. The furnishings etc are quite nice and modern. It was very clean and the kitchen quite a good size.The city view was not great but it did look over the lovely pool area and was quite nice at night.The staff were helpful and friendly. I would also reccomend the Salt Temple restaurant which is situated in the building, great food and nice atmosphere. A great stay in a very nice location.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fayvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASMNQ, general manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, 5 April 2010
Dear Fayvans,

Thank you for your review.

It is always lovely to hear that we have helped guests have a memorable stay for all the right reasons!!


Gaye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2010

Positives: This hotel has a great location on the esplanade. It would be hard to think of a better place to be located, you really are in the middle of everything. Free car parking for the hire car was also a bonus. The hotel restaurant on the first floor called the 'Salttemple' is a great propostion for lunch. We were served a fantastic 3 course 'a la carte' meal including a glass of wine for only $29.95 each. Highly recommended.
Negatives: We stayed in a one bedroom apartment rather than a hotel room as we wanted to do some basic cooking whilst there. A prominent sign tells you that activation of the smoke alarm in the unit can result in a hefty fine of $285 for the guest, but despite cooking breakfast very cautiously, and producing no visible smoke, we still couldn't help activating the smoke alarm on the first two days of our stay, which results in an instant telephone call and a knock on the door with an admonishing look. There's no extractor fan in the room, (which even the staff seemed surprised about) but we concluded it is impossible to cook anything without setting it off, so we gave up in the end. If you are allocated a unit with no extractor fan like we were, and you intend to use the cooking facilities, ask for another unit. Hotel seems to have little soundproofing between the units and you can hear all the goings on, around, above and below you. We understand the the volume on the TV should be set to a reasonable maximum for the comfort of other guests, but the TV in our room was almost inaudble at full 'permitted' volume on the cable channels. There was a 'permanent rental' in the unit next to us, and the design of the balconies permit 'nosy parkers' to stand in their boxer shorts, gazing into your unit. Felt that privacy between the units was very poor, and ended up keeping the curtains closed day and night. Unit was clean, but smelt somewhat 'dusty.'

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fastcaral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASMNQ, general manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, 5 April 2010
Dear Fastcaral,

Thank you for your email.

I am glad you enjoyed the location and ameniites.

Unfortunately the fire alarm issue did cause you some angst for which I apologise. The lack of extractor fan is a design flaw in the kitchens.

I am disappointed you did not advise the front desk staff about the television and your 'nosy' neighbour so we could have rectified these issues to ensure you stay was memorable for all the right reasons.

Thank you again for your input.

Gaye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.2 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
577 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.1 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Esplanade Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Esplanade Cairns

Property: Mantra Esplanade Cairns
Address: 53 - 57 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Outrigger)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#14 Family Hotel in Cairns
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Esplanade Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Esplanade offers a prime waterfront location, with stylish and contemporary accommodation in the heart of Cairns. Just steps away from the Cairns Swimming Lagoon and offering sweeping ocean, city and mountain views Mantra Esplanade offers a range of Hotel Rooms to fully self-contained One and Two Bedroom Apartments. All rooms feature air conditioning, a balcony, cable TV, hair dryer, internet access (fee), iron and ironing board, and tea and coffee making facilities. There is also a 24 hour reception desk, tour desk, shopping complex, swimming pool, spa (not heated), exercise room and barbecue area. Wander across the road to the Cairns Lagoon in front of the Mantra Esplanade or grab a bite to eat at the many restaurants and cafes on your doorstep. In the evening, stroll down the Esplanade to the night markets where you'll find souvenirs, aboriginal art work, crafts, homewares and jewellery. Cairns is a nature lover's paradise and the gateway to the World Heritage Listed Great Barrier Reef, as well as the Daintree National Park and Cape Tribulation. Take the SkyRail cable car and glide above the spectacular rainforest canopy to the laid-back market town of Kuranda. Catch the Kuranda Scenic Railway back to Cairns to enjoy more breathtaking scenery as it winds through rainforest and past tumbling waterfalls on its way back down to Cairns. Discover all the amazing sights and activities available in and around Cairns while staying at Mantra Esplanade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra Esplanade Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Esplanade Cairns Hotel Cairns
Mantra Esplanade Hotel Cairns
Mantra Esplanade Resort Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing