We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great position, good room & great service at reception”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mantra Esplanade Cairns
Ranked #8 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great position, good room & great service at reception”
Reviewed 13 November 2010

The Mantra Hotels are everywhere. They are a good product, but not a great product, its just they are everywhere, at least 2 in every major city in Australia.
We chose the Esplanade because of the position which was as we thought fantastic. Right in the middle of everything, across the road from the swimming lagoon which was lovely, a little warm and a little crowded but a fun experience.
Lesley's warm welcome at reception made the trip. She was awesome. This is what can really make a stay 5 star, though I wouldn't call the rest 5 star.

Nothing majorly wrong, just expensive cost for an average room, whilst with a lovely balcony overlooking the water, comfy bed (king with two singles together which worked well), great TV, fridge, furnishings, the bathroom was a little lacklustre, toilet seat wonky every time you sat down, bath had a shower curtain!!!! (the 80s called they want their curtain back) and a very wide vanity so much so you couldn't really get close to put makeup on (ok not a biggie but would be nice to have a vanity that helped us girls). Loved the soap, nice touch I adore those little touches (square shaped not those usual wrapped round yicky smelling chemical soaps) it smelled like lemongrass and the little shampoo/conditioner sets were lovely.

Interesting observation. Two doors of rooms next to each other with the same foyer with one door if you know what I mean. Now great idea in theory but NOT if you put a couple like us next to a family with screaming kids who ever time their door was opened would scream and perfect coz the entry way is tiled, so the sound was louder. Light on in this entry way all night so light streaming in like a spotlight under and around the door frame.
Suggestion, have the light come on when someone comes in that first door and have it dimmed so it doesn't affect either room. Daylight comes early in Cairns and people on hols would love a bit of a sleep in. Oh and yeah why not put a couple next to another couple or single instead of a family with kids? We're on holidays and the last thing we want is kids screaming at 7 am!

I would stay at this hotel again but with the above suggestions plus please oh please why cannot not Mantra offer free wi fi & internet into their hotels? It is so bloody cheap to offer this service and with the world being so online these days it would be a nice touch and considering I have found Three to be non-existent north of Melbourne, it would have made things so much better. High charges for internet are so old fashioned and ultimately will lead to you losing favour. I will be flying to Bali in 2 days and know that wi fi is everywhere in most hotels, please move with the times.

Thank you for car parking, pretty good room, great position, lovely view, superb receptionist and sorry there were some complaints but I am sure in time they will be looked at.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmilla5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    467
    587
    188
    61
    30
See reviews for
329
534
87
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2010

The Mantra Esplanade is in a great location, very close to restaurants, shops and Marina.
Opposite is the lagoon which wasn't there the last time I visited, lovely safe place to cool down. The hotel did have a pool though but only saw it used by a family once or twice.
Our one bedroom apartment overlooked the Old Courthouse Hotel and we didn't hear any noise from there at any time. There was a pathway via the Old Courthouse Hotel which took us to Woolworths, very handy indeed.
Our apartment was adequate but my partner expected a little more for what we paid, like having it serviced at least once during the week which we spent there. Rather, you have to request it to be serviced and a fee must be paid.
The kitchen consisted of two hotplates, microwave, toaster, cooking utensils, crockery, glasses etc..
We were terrified of using the toaster because there was a notice which pointed out that the smoke detector was extremely sensitive and a fee of $843.50 could be charged to your account if it went off and the fire brigade came out. We were assured that this would only happen if you like your toast burnt.
Bathroom was a decent size but I honestly think there should be a soap holder higher up.....as I have mobility problems and there should be a rail or non-slip mat as the shower is over the bath.
The one thing which really annoyed me was the sugar ants, everywhere in the kitchen and bathroom and even a few on me while watching TV.
These are just niggling things though, which probably wouldn't bother anyone else.
We were on the fifth floor and the balcony was a very decent size.
We had to connect to an outside server for connection to the internet for a fee.
You can order room service bit it is provided by a private operator who uses the areas eateries, depending on what you want. Rather expensive and we didn't bother.
There is a new restaurant on the ground floor of the hotel which opened the week we were there, called 'Wink', can't comment as we didn't try it.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BindiPerthAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springbrook, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

The Mantra Esplanade is perfectly located in Cairns; just a 3 minute walk to harbour and tour boats, across the street from beach walk and esplanade pool, one block from major grocery, and more than a dozen restaurants within 5 minutes easy stroll. The rooms are not top of line but have all the amenities including washer/dryer and full kitchen. We stayed on ocean side and had beautiful view of harbour and inlet. The separate bedroom has King size bed. Not the comfiest mattress but better than average. The free parking is great, as is the gym, pool and sauna. And the staff were all more than helpful with anything we needed. A great place to stay if spending time in Cairns.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AUSanctuary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret River WA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2010

The location of the Mantra Esplanade is its saving grace. The fantastic view from our ocean view room, and its proximity to local attractions, however, only just compensated for its shortcomings.
When we arrived we sincerely thought the lovely Indian people who helped us in the lift had cooked a feast before going out for the evening, as the air in our corridor was redolent with delicious, but somewhat overpowering odours of curry - freshly cooked. When in the morning this smell was replaced by a distinct, and frankly nauseating, odour of cooked chips in our ensuite we realised the smells originated from several (perhaps all) restaurants in the vicinity of the hotel. This, seen in relation to the fact that we lived in fear of cooking even a piece of toast in our (self contained) room lest we incur the threatened several hundred dollar fine for setting off the smoke alarm, made the hotel's entreaty for us to "relax" a bit of a joke.
I found the staff polite and reasonably helpful but their welcome, and their perfunctory explanation of parking and access procedures, lacked warmth and failed to take into account that their guests may be tired, stressed, and perhaps HADN'T BEEN THERE BEFORE!!!. While I, like many Australians, am suspicious of fawning fetlock tuggers, I'm a patient and polite person and I'm paying handsomely to enjoy the facilities of this establishment - I feel that I've bought some warmth (if not the real thing, at least a pretence of it)
As this was our first visit to Cairns, and since we've had a chance to look around, I'll be looking carefully at what's on offer from nearby establishments (for the same or similar price) before I rush back to the Mantra Esplanade.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderful08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2010

Having stayed at a Mantra hotel recently on business in Brisbane (South Bank) we looked for a Mantra hotel when coming to Cairns for our family holiday. We had a 2 bed apartment which was clean and comfortable. My wife loved having the washing machine available! Staff were friendly and helpful with what to do. The hotel location is fantastic, close to shops and is on the main restaurant strip. Also very close to where the boats leave for the reef trips, walking distance. A great central hotel and we got a good deal on Wotif

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vancamp8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2010

. Apartment was functional . Had basic kitchen, lounge dining area large bedroom and small bathroom.
The location was excellent close to restaurants. Our room overlooked the old courthouse which is a beautiful old heritage building which has been transformed into a Pub. We were quite happy with the deal we got but soon discovered why the room had been reduced from about $200 per night down to $130 (wotif) we had to endure a band playing loud music outdoors at the front of the pub.We were on the 4th floor and all windosw/doors were closed but the music was thumping on Friday night to about 1am. We also copped it on Saturday night and Sunday afternoon. No room no matter how much it is reduced is worth putting up with this. The restaurant and patterisie which was attache to this property had also closed down.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mc53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASMNQ, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, 30 August 2010
Dear mc53,

Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your recent stay.

I am sorry you were disappointed with some aspects of your recent stay with us. The Courthouse Hotel management works closely with Mantra Esplanade to ensure that the noise impacts as little as possible on the hotel guests and their holiday relaxation. If a guest advises that the music is disturbing their enjoyment, we will find another unit that is more suitable.

The restaurant and patisserie which are both located in the lobby are privately owned and we are at the whim of the owners when it comes to the opening times. Fortunately, as you said, there are many excellent restaurants and bars within easy walking distance of the hotel.

Once again, I apologise for any disappointment you experienced during your stay with us which meant did you not have the Mantra experience to remember for all the right reasons.

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2010

The Mantra has a great location right on the Esplanade - 5 minute walk to the Ferry Terminal for boats to the Great Barrier Reef and to the night markets and restaurants on the Esplanade. A few doors down is the official information centre (as opposed to the many unofficial information centres) althought we found the front desk staff had a lot of info too about how to get to attractions and the like and were always friendly and helpful. We had a two bedroom apartment with kitchen and laundry. Very roomy and spacious. Heard the rubbish trucks early in the morning and a little noise from the pub behind the hotel but nothing major. Got a good deal for staying a week. They have rates on the website but we emailed them too and they gave us a little more discount (our travel agent offered to book us there but could not match the rate the hotel gave us ! Shame on you Flight Centre). We flew out in the evening and when we went back to get out bags they said we could shower in the gym area which left us really refreshed. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hway29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASMNQ, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, 30 August 2010
Dear hway29,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay.

We are glad to hear you were impressed with our proximity to local attractions and restaurants.

We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Mantra Esplanade for your next vacation.

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
1.3 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.5 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#5 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Esplanade Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Esplanade Cairns

Property: Mantra Esplanade Cairns
Address: 53 - 57 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Outrigger)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#14 Family Hotel in Cairns
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Esplanade Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Esplanade offers a prime waterfront location, with stylish and contemporary accommodation in the heart of Cairns. Just steps away from the Cairns Swimming Lagoon and offering sweeping ocean, city and mountain views Mantra Esplanade offers a range of Hotel Rooms to fully self-contained One and Two Bedroom Apartments. All rooms feature air conditioning, a balcony, cable TV, hair dryer, internet access (fee), iron and ironing board, and tea and coffee making facilities. There is also a 24 hour reception desk, tour desk, shopping complex, swimming pool, spa (not heated), exercise room and barbecue area. Wander across the road to the Cairns Lagoon in front of the Mantra Esplanade or grab a bite to eat at the many restaurants and cafes on your doorstep. In the evening, stroll down the Esplanade to the night markets where you'll find souvenirs, aboriginal art work, crafts, homewares and jewellery. Cairns is a nature lover's paradise and the gateway to the World Heritage Listed Great Barrier Reef, as well as the Daintree National Park and Cape Tribulation. Take the SkyRail cable car and glide above the spectacular rainforest canopy to the laid-back market town of Kuranda. Catch the Kuranda Scenic Railway back to Cairns to enjoy more breathtaking scenery as it winds through rainforest and past tumbling waterfalls on its way back down to Cairns. Discover all the amazing sights and activities available in and around Cairns while staying at Mantra Esplanade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Esplanade Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Esplanade Cairns Hotel Cairns
Mantra Esplanade Hotel Cairns
Mantra Esplanade Resort Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing