We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Coral Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coral Tree Inn
Ranked #20 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Croyde, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 20 March 2011

We stayed here for a week and found it to be very convenoent for walking into the CBD or to the Esplanade and Lagoon. The room was very spacious with everything you need for a comfortable stay and the staff were friendly and helpful. There is an excellent pool, a laundry room and internet service.
We would recommend this hotel to anyone wisiting Cairns.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAM-Lisha, Executive Assistant Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, 19 May 2011
Dear Jennifer

Thank you for providing your feedback and for your kind words towards our hotel and team members. It's great to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

You are right about our location, a lot people also like our CBD location, just a short walking to shops, restaurants and ocean front. All rooms are completed refurbishmend at the beginning of this months, new rooms are look fantastic. Ownership and Management team are changed since Sep 2010, and the new management team and the staff are commited to provide the excellent service to our guests.

We have also upgraded our facilites, wireless internet cover the whole hotel with a very little charge, all rooms have safety box, hair dryer, iron and ironing board now. 42" LCD TV with satellite chanels on the way. Business centre and conference room are also completed. BBQ facilities in the courtyard area, free for guests to use. Self coin-operated laundry facilities. It is a great and convenient place to stay for both leisure and business travellers.

Thank you again for yoru time and your feedback.
We look forward to the possibility of welcomig you back in the not too distant future.

Warm Regards
Lisha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    214
    125
    23
    13
See reviews for
87
239
46
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2009

I am not one to write negative reviews but this INN was pricey for rooms the size of a college dorm room, with ants crawling on the floor, poor daily cleaning service (as there was always sand on the floor), no remote control for the TV (which only received 5 local channels), poor lighting on the stair case and no elevators or help to carry your luggage to/from the rooms. To add to that (yes there's more!)...the staff doesn't seem happy at their jobs and doesn't make it pleasant to stay here either. They wanted to charge for EVERYTHING! ($3 for an extra towel, $10 for WiFi internet in LOBBY and for all phone calls, even local ones). They didn't even have hair dryers in the rooms and you have to rent and return it daily for usage. Needless to say...don't come here. There are nicer/cheaper hotels/hostels in the area.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank inc2705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAM-Lisha, Front Office Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, 13 February 2011
Dear inc2705

Thank you for your review.

We are sorry that you had a bad experience when you stayed with us in 2009 Oct.

Please kindly be advised that since 2010 Sep, coral tree inn has been taken over by the new owners and the management team. We are taking all guests reviews seriously, we have been addressed the issues that were mentioned on the feedback.

We are currently under major refubishment, we are putting new conference room and restaurant in the hotel. Also all standard rooms will have new beddings, furnitures, lightings, new 42" LCD TVs. It is expected to be completed by the end of April 2011.
We have also put Wifi hotspot to cover the entire hotel.

Should you ever return to Cairns, we would like to welcoming you to staying with us again.

Regards
Lisha SHI
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2009

Our stay here exceeded our expectations. One of us is disabled and the proprietor could not have been more helpful. The large, comfortable apartment was very well furnished and was spotless; and the kitchen was unusually well equipped. The hotel is directly opposite an interesting and beautifully manicured park which borders the shoreline, so the views out to sea are fabulous. We'll be going back.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vitaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2009

We booked one night in a family room, before flying out of Cairns the following day. We were glad it was only one night. We stayed in a room which slept five. The beds were atrocious - the bunk bed sagged horrendously when my son was lying on it, it seemed almost dangerous to my young daughter sleeping below. The pillows were as flat as pancakes and lumpy to the extent that you could put your fingers through the case from one side to the other and feel them meet. There were no additional pillows at all in the room beyond the five which were on the beds. The room was clean, and large, with a table and chairs, but we were so unimpressed with the sleeping arrangements that we wouldn't have stayed a second night there in any event. The bulb in the night light next to the main bed kept disconnecting, giving a sort of disco-effect (on then off then on ...)

Although the price was relatively budget, we still expected more from this motel and were disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Needaholiday_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2009

It's a really nice hotel EXCEPT their air conditioner! it's extreamly loud! we had to turn it on becuase the weather was hot there, but the conditioner makes crazy noise like a machine!

it's a sham they have such kind of old air conditioner in rooms, because the hotel/resort is really nice and beautiful. There staff is very friendly and helpful as well! However if you sleep like a baby at night and do NOT fraid of noise then it's a good choice for you!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zhangyin78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2009

We stayed here for 1 night which was really ok. We didn't expect too much having read the reviews and seen the pictures and were positively surprised. The rooms were pretty basic but clean. Although the breakfast buffet had the typical charme of a youth hostel's breakfast it was good and sufficient. Good location.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miri27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2009

Our expectations of this hotel were far greater than what we experienced upon our arrival, as per reviews and brochures. The rooms in the Inn are very small, and very dated, with painted cinder blocks, ac that barely works, abundant little critters (bugs and geckos), and a balcony that had a security screen on it which opened onto a residential dwelling. I would be wary of using the pool. I know it is close to a rainforest, and bugs and geckos are to be expected, but on our entire trip through Australia, this place was the only one where we saw them.

We ended up leaving this hotel before staying one night, and checked into the Shangri-La which we got for a great price. I know, totally different accomodation classification.

Further, the location of the hotel is not as good as the claim to be in the centre of the city. It is a 15-20 walk to the main street which has all the restaurants and shopping, and access to the beach.

The Coral Tree Inn is a low-budget accomodation option, which could be good for student backpackers, or those on a low budget, with low expectations. It does have a kitchen in which you can prepare your own meals. Apparently some of their suites are better, but I didn't look at them. The front desk staff were very nice, as a positive.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelcanuck29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.9 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
592 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.2 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 64 in Cairns
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.3 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#24 of 64 in Cairns
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Tree Inn

Property: Coral Tree Inn
Address: 166 - 172 Grafton St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Coral Tree Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coral Tree Inn is a newly refurbished 4 star resort-style hotel located right in the heart of Cairns City, across from Munro Martin Park and close to all the shops, restaurants, theatre, art galleries and casino. The Hotel features two types of excellent accommodation including newly refurbished standard rooms and self-contained suite rooms. Family rooms and disabled rooms are available on request. Also featured in this hotel are: outdoor saltwater pool, complimentary barbeque facilities with its own dining area, restaurant, conference room, business centre, as well as Massage & Relaxation Centre amongst luscious tropically landscaped gardens. Coral Tree Inn is independently owned and managed, our friendly staff offering consistent and personalised professional services; we bring your rest closer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Coral Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Tree Hotel Cairns
Coral Tree Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing