We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nicely decorated room but need some improvement”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Coral Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coral Tree Inn
Ranked #18 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nicely decorated room but need some improvement”
Reviewed 13 July 2011

The staffs are friendly and nice, yet the reception/ check-out took a bit time. The room is nicely decorated and the pool/public area extended a warm homey welcome.

Yet the amenities in the room need to be improved. The boiler and the coffee-maker are not working. It is not a good experience for me as I need to have a cup of herbal tea before sleep every night. The taps at the bathroom are difficult to control - difficult to turn on and turn off. And the lighting at the room kept flashing...not sure if it is the problem of electricity.

The breakfast is good. Given the price paid, the stay was value for money. But I don't think it is a 4-star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TATA22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAM-Lisha, Executive Assistant Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
Dear TATA22

Thank you for your review.
The pictures are looking good, thank you. :)

My apology for slow check-in/check-out experience as we had some new staff starting last month.

The maintenance issues have been duly noted, we will have our maintenance staff investigating the issues and checking all the rooms in upcoming days. Sorry for the inconvenience caused during your stay, and thank you for letting us know.

We look forward to having you again with us in the future.

Warm Regards
Lisha SHI
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    204
    116
    23
    11
See reviews for
83
227
42
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

I can't understand where the other rave reviews come from or are based on - no way can it get 5* reports. Staff not particularly friendly or helpful, rooms are just basic motel rooms - yes v clean - but BASIC. The comment re dorm rooms was very believable. Breakfast was basic and not worth it. NO LIFTS - so you have to lug the bags up stairs. sits next to a youth hostel, close to town but there are other better hotels closer.

I chose this from the Trip advisor reviews which is how I plan all my trips and this is the first time I've got inaccurate reviews.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank camn4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAM-Lisha, Executive Assistant Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
Dear Camn4,

Thank you for your time to review us.
It is unfortunate that your stay with us was not a pleasant one.

My apology that you felt the staff were not helpful and unfriendly. Since new management team took over in last sep, we have committed to provide high quality services and we continuously work very hard to achieve that goal.

The buffet breakfast usually cost $18 per person and includes: bacon, sausage, baked bean, scramble eggs, hash brown, 3 kinds of breads with various spreads, various type of cereals, yoghurt, juices, fresh fruits and tea&coffee.

The hotel is located in the heart of Cairns City, opposite the Martin Park, with 2-3 mins walk to the awards winning esplanade. Next to the hotel is a hostel funded by the Commonwealth Government and providing temporary accommodation services to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people. As you may know Cairns is very rich in Aboriginal culture, a lot people coming up to Cairns and visit Tjapukai aboriginal cultural park to understand and to experience the history and culture.

The hotel commit to conserve the power and protect the environment, therefore we have not installed a lift as it is only a 3-storey building. Our hotel is not a luxury hotel, it's a small tropical boutique style hotel that is located in the regional area (Cairns) of Australia. The design and the style suit the surrounding area. All rooms have been recently refurbished to 4 star standard, the refurbishment was completed in April 2011. The dorm room type has no longer exist.

Again, please accept my apology that your had a bad experience, we hope that we would have the chance to correct your impression in the future should you stay with us again. :)

Thank you.

Warm Regards
Lisha SHI
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We were delighted with our family room--it easily accommodated four with room to spread out and even a small balcony. Everything was spotlessly clean and in great condition. In addition, the front-desk staff was nice and helpful, the inn is a very easy walk to just about everything, the price was a bargain, and parking out front was plentiful when we stayed there. We'll definitely stay here again if the opportunity arises.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cowcatsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAM-Lisha, Executive Assistant Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
Dear Cowcatsmom

Thank you for taking time to review us. We are delight to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having you again in the future.

All the best! :)

Warm Regards
Lisha SHI
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide River, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

We booked this hotel at the last minute and it was fantastic. Large room, large TV, nice furniture and bathroom. It was clean and very comfortable. There is also a BBQ area and a pool. Good location too, just a short walk to restaurants and other activities. We get a great price including breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kangam00se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAM-Lisha, Executive Assistant Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, 28 June 2011
Dear kangam00se

Thank you so much for taking your time and providing us a feedback. Also thank you kindly for your kind words towards our hotel. It's great to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to having you staying with us again in the near future.

Regards
Lisha
EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cairns
Level Contributor
71 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights and loved it !! Would definitely stay again - great price, location and staff .
The room we stayed in had been recently refurbished and looked great - was very comfortable and clean . Very close to the city an pleasant stroll .
It was so lovey to stay somewhere small and personal ,all staff were really helpful and nice - so much more personal than big city hotels. In particular the reception staff were helpful, polite and gave us lots of information about what to see- especially Lisha who was so happy and friendly and looked after us so well.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janefromcairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAM-Lisha, Executive Assistant Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, 28 June 2011
Dear janefromcairns

Thank you for providing your feedback. It's great to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

It's our pleasure to have you staying with us, we look forward to having you again in the near future.

Regards
Lisha
EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Station, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2011

This was a great little hotel. It is certainly not high-end or luxury, but it was clean and well kept. Also, great location.

The staff was exceptionally friendly and extremely helpful with advice about various things to do in Cairns.

I was able to find a buy-3-get-one-night-free deal, so it was a great bargain as well.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SugarS_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAM-Lisha, Executive Assistant Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, 28 June 2011
Dear SugarS_2

Thank you for your valued feedback and your kind comments.

You are absolutely correct that we are not a high end luxury hotel, we are more like friendly, cosy, warm tropical boutique style hotel with 58 Rooms, well equiped with 4 star standard facilities and furnitures, small team members with extensive local knowledges. We look after our guests, consistent improving and trying our best to make their stay more enjoyable whether they are here for leisure or business.
With our convenient located in the heart of Cairns City, it is a great spot to stay to explore the wonderful region.

Again, thank you for staying with us and thank you for your time to review us.

We look forward to having you again should you come back to re-visit Cairns. :)

Regards
Lisha
EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croyde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2011

We stayed here for a week and found it to be very convenoent for walking into the CBD or to the Esplanade and Lagoon. The room was very spacious with everything you need for a comfortable stay and the staff were friendly and helpful. There is an excellent pool, a laundry room and internet service.
We would recommend this hotel to anyone wisiting Cairns.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAM-Lisha, Executive Assistant Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, 19 May 2011
Dear Jennifer

Thank you for providing your feedback and for your kind words towards our hotel and team members. It's great to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

You are right about our location, a lot people also like our CBD location, just a short walking to shops, restaurants and ocean front. All rooms are completed refurbishmend at the beginning of this months, new rooms are look fantastic. Ownership and Management team are changed since Sep 2010, and the new management team and the staff are commited to provide the excellent service to our guests.

We have also upgraded our facilites, wireless internet cover the whole hotel with a very little charge, all rooms have safety box, hair dryer, iron and ironing board now. 42" LCD TV with satellite chanels on the way. Business centre and conference room are also completed. BBQ facilities in the courtyard area, free for guests to use. Self coin-operated laundry facilities. It is a great and convenient place to stay for both leisure and business travellers.

Thank you again for yoru time and your feedback.
We look forward to the possibility of welcomig you back in the not too distant future.

Warm Regards
Lisha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.9 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
553 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
1,058 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Cairns
Ibis Styles Cairns
#16 of 64 in Cairns
733 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Tree Inn

Property: Coral Tree Inn
Address: 166 - 172 Grafton St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Coral Tree Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coral Tree Inn is a newly refurbished 4 star resort-style hotel located right in the heart of Cairns City, across from Munro Martin Park and close to all the shops, restaurants, theatre, art galleries and casino. The Hotel features two types of excellent accommodation including newly refurbished standard rooms and self-contained suite rooms. Family rooms and disabled rooms are available on request. Also featured in this hotel are: outdoor saltwater pool, complimentary barbeque facilities with its own dining area, restaurant, conference room, business centre, as well as Massage & Relaxation Centre amongst luscious tropically landscaped gardens. Coral Tree Inn is independently owned and managed, our friendly staff offering consistent and personalised professional services; we bring your rest closer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coral Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Tree Hotel Cairns
Coral Tree Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing