We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, great value”
Review of Coral Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coral Tree Inn
Ranked #19 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, great value”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

The hotel room is big, ours had 2x 1,38m big beds on it, ai conditioning, fen and a good bathroom, the only this we dont liked very much was the bed matress, was not very confortable
The common area was a nice pool, spa and restaurant (we did not eat there... so I cannot rate it) you can also book your tour there if you want, but maybe you will find better last minutes deals on the esplanade... (we found some...)
The location is 10min walk to the esplanade, very short walk for us, it think around 800m. And also took us 15min to get to the harbor, so it is not in center, but not too far away. The only downside is that we found the streets around it too dark at night... something to consider if you plan to return late to the hotel, for us was everything ok, no incidents

we stayed for 4 night and we recommend it

Room Tip: ask a pool view room on the upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ViLaruccia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPM-Anand, Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear ViLaruccia,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us at Coral Tree Inn, it is important that we receive feedback so that we can continue to improve our services and facilities to our guests.


We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Anand Churi
Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    211
    124
    23
    11
See reviews for
86
235
45
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed at the Coral Tree Inn during Easter 2012. We managed to pick up a deal through so got 50% off the room rate. For that reason the room was excellent value for money. 5min walk into the centre. The rooms were clean with a balcony. The bed was very hard though and did give me a sore back. The King sized bed was actually two beds pushed together. Would stay again if we picked up another deal.

Room Tip: Rooms over the pool are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPM-Anand, Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear Deirdre O,

Thanks for your valuable feedback.

I am glad that you took advantage of the cheap deals available to all our guests online. I will recommend you to keep an eye on our facebook page for all the upcoming offers and cheap deals.

We have recently changed all our matresses in the rooms and it concerns me if this is not meeting our guest's expectations.
I will certainly look into this matter and address the issue to our Executive Housekeeper as well.

Thank you.

Warm regards,
Anand Churi
Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We spent our first night in Australia here after many hours of flying from Cleveland, Ohio. The reception people were friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and very adequate, not overly fancy. We paid additional for the next morning breakfast. We were very glad we did. It was so convenient and plenty to eat. The walk to the water was easy and safe. Many cafe and shopping choices along the way. We had a rental car, and they offered free parking right in front of the hotel. We also stayed here on the night before we flew back to Sydney to meet a cruise ship. If you desire, there is a grill for you to use outside. It is a good value for the money you pay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gfmOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPM-Anand, Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear gfmOhio,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Coral Tree Inn.

I'm glad to hear that you had such a pleasant experience.
We all strive to make our guests' stay memorable and are so happy to read nice reviews such as yours. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will choose to stay with us once again for your return to Cairns.

We look forward to welcoming you back!
Thank you.

Kind regards,
Anand Churi
Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I liked the Hotel for it's location as me and my wife are avid walkers, we enjoyed our trips to the market and the beach (within one Kilometer). It has a small Pool and facilities for BBQ are available. The Place is kept clean. However, for vegetarians the buffet breakfast can be improved further. We had a three nights stay which was comfortable. There were 5-6 Indian Restaurants in the market and we particularly liked the one named "Tandoor".

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yogibadhwar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPM-Anand, Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear yogibadhwar1,

Thanks a lot for posting your review of your stay at the Coral Tree Inn.

We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your overall stay with us and for appreciating our services and facilities. We will certainly look into ways to improve our breakfast menu and add more variety to our guests with special dietary requirements.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Thank you.

Yours sincerely,
Anand Churi
Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard Lake, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

There are a lot of good things about this hotel and some that would make me not stay here again. The location might make me think twice about staying here, mostly because of the longer walk to the esplanade. At first glance the Coral Tree looked a little shady, but it turned out fine. The front desk staff were all really great. The lobby does close at 10 so be sure to tell them if you are arriving late. The lobby was clean, with access to computers and restrooms. There's also a little cafe. The pool area is very nice. I believe it was a salt water pool. There's a little cabana with a grill and tables as well as a little laundry room all in the recreation area. We stayed on the third floor. There are no elevators. The only issue with this was lugging the bags up. The room is mostly what made me a little nervous. The patio overlooks a residential area and the sliding doors had metal bars that you were warned to lock at night. We never even went out to the patio. We had a kitchenette that worked really well for our group of 3. The living room had a pull out couch and large TV but had only 4 channels, one of which was Chinese MTV (which was ok because no one goes to Cairns looking for awesome cable TV). The other bedroom had two massive beds with only one table on the edge of one bed and no lamp and very little room to maneuver. The lighting was very harsh. The beds and pillow were comfortable and the room had air and ceiling fans. The bathroom is probably a typical bathroom in a tropical environment- moldy. Actually, the kind of mold that makes the paint fall off in pieces. The locks on the doors were still lock and key, not key cards. I think with some updating this could be a great place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool, not a residential area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KellyZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPM-Anand, Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear KellyZ,

Thank you for writing a review. It is important that we receive feedback so that we can continue to improve our services and facilities to our guests.
I will pass on your appreciation to the front desk staff for the mention I know this type of feedback to our team members is very important and makes them feel that they do make a difference to our guest’s experience.
The hotel offers a wide array of TV channels which include both digital and free to air satellite TV. I believe you only surfed the satellite TV channels. Instructions to swap between the digital and satellite TV are mentioned in the hotel guide book which is placed in the guest room.

In regards to your concerns I would like to apologise for not meeting your expectations regarding some of the housekeeping issues and would like to thank you for your understanding.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you.

Kind regards,
Anand Churi
Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

If you're after a cheap hotel in a central spot, this is good value. Staff are very friendly.
It's not a resort but if you will be busy and are focused on a clean place for a very good price, this is worth consideration. We just did a night here before an early flight.
You can cook a BBQ and it has a small but clean and nice pool.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPM-Anand, Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear Emma S,

Thank you so much for such a nice review and above all, thank you so much for choosing Coral Tree Inn.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and had a good time with our freindly staff.
Please check our Facebook page to keep an eye on the cheap online promotions and deals for your next stay.

Best regards,
Anand Churi
Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Visited the Coral Tree Inn in Cairns during our trip in December. We enjoyed our stay at the Inn. It was a little bit of a walk from the Esplanade, but the Hotel had all of the facilities required. Being an international traveller, and not understanding how EXPENSIVE Australia actually is, the fact that the hotel had a hot plate/BBQ was very valuable. It saved us a lot of money. The staff is incredibly helpful. We originally had a unit where the AC was not at full blast, water pressure was weak, and a lil army of ants started to invade. We were promptly moved into another room. Thank you to the staff there - Andy and James.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Vishal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPM-Anand, Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear Vishal D,

Thank you for taking the time to share your postive feedback of the Coral Tree Inn. We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit with us and are happy to hear that you enjoyed the services offered by the hotel.

Look forward to your next visit and to serving you again.

Kind regards,
Anand Churi
Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.9 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
584 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.2 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 64 in Cairns
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#24 of 64 in Cairns
476 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Tree Inn

Property: Coral Tree Inn
Address: 166 - 172 Grafton St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Coral Tree Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coral Tree Inn is a newly refurbished 4 star resort-style hotel located right in the heart of Cairns City, across from Munro Martin Park and close to all the shops, restaurants, theatre, art galleries and casino. The Hotel features two types of excellent accommodation including newly refurbished standard rooms and self-contained suite rooms. Family rooms and disabled rooms are available on request. Also featured in this hotel are: outdoor saltwater pool, complimentary barbeque facilities with its own dining area, restaurant, conference room, business centre, as well as Massage & Relaxation Centre amongst luscious tropically landscaped gardens. Coral Tree Inn is independently owned and managed, our friendly staff offering consistent and personalised professional services; we bring your rest closer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Coral Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Tree Hotel Cairns
Coral Tree Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing