We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but a bit buggy”
Review of Coral Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coral Tree Inn
Ranked #20 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice, but a bit buggy”
Reviewed 8 May 2012 via mobile

If you don't mind a 15 min walk to the harborfront (I didn't) it's in a nice location. There is Internet access, and though it isn't free, I've seen more expensive rates, so that wasn't too bad, and the staff was helpful and friendly

The problem was the bugs. Not sure if they were beetles or small roaches, but there are a fair number crawling around. There were even some dead ones in my room when I arrived, and not all of those were picked up durign the room cleaning

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sjhenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPM-Anand, Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Dear Sjhenk

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. It's great to hear that you experienced our helpful, friendly and attentive staff and I have passed on your comments to our team.

On the other hand, please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you by the presence of tropical beetles during your stay.
These beetles are seasonal and are more prevalent during the end weeks of the monsoon season in this tropical environment. One would find these beetles all over Cairns region due to its geographic location during the wet season. These beetles are attracted to artificial light which makes it more difficult to control them during the evening hours.
Rest assured that the hotel management is doing their best in finding resolution, within our means, to minimize this issue.

I sincerely hope that these tropical beetles will not stop you completely from returning back to Cairns and reconsidering a repeat stay with us in the future.
Thank you.

Warm regards,
Anand Churi
Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    213
    125
    23
    13
See reviews for
87
238
46
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012 via mobile

Welcome was very poor, rooms are small and not very clean. The dust on top of the bed head was so thick there was spider webs starting to grow. The shower curtain is mouldy and the taps are really old. The air conditioner is noisy and the bed is rock hard. Every door slams and echoes down the tiled corridor. Only one side of the bed gas a bed light. The list goes on.....

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPM-Anand, Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear Aussieworld,

Thank you for posting a review of your stay at Coral Tree Inn.

Although it is disappointing to know that we delivered below your expectations, we truly appreciate receiving your feedback as this makes us aware of the areas in our service and facilities that need improvement.

We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences caused by our inability to provide you with the services that were expected.

We place great value to our every guest’s satisfaction that is why we have taken immediate steps to correct all the points you have raised in regards to housekeeping standards to ensure that they will not be repeated. Concerned managers have been briefed on this matter and re-training for their staff members is now being carried out.

I sincerely hope that you will re-consider a repeat stay with us – an opportunity to regain your confidence in us and let you experience the improvement in our service and facilities.

We will always look forward to welcoming you back to the Coral Tree Inn in the nearest future.

Yours sincerely,

Anand Churi
Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Needed to make a quick trip North and needed somewhere cheap. This was extremely cheap, with great service, clean room, close to the city and lovely pool and BBQ area. Bathrooms old with some cracked tiles, but room was large clean and neat

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPM-Anand, Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Hi Vicki N,

Thankyou for posting a review.

I am glad to hear that you took advantage of the special low prices which are available on various websites. These promotions are available from time to time, so that our guests here can enjoy the best services at an affordable price.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you.

Kind regards,
Anand Churi
Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stow, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

This location was a quick walk to all of the activities, shops, and restaurants. Our room had a really nice balcony overlooking the beautiful pool. the pool is located in a courtyard surrounded by rooms, but open to the sky. the room was very clean and nice. There was a fridge, hot pot, flatware and plates. It was nice to have to flatware and plates because it is easy to get "take out" food. The restaurant breakfast was expensive and the eggs were lousy. We ate dinner in the restaurant one night and although the chef/server was very nice, we could watch him take our meal out of the freezer and prepare. It was OK, but definitely not worth the money especially since there are so many local restaurants and take out options. My advice is to not eat in the restaurant unless you have to.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPM-Anand, Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear Lorena G,

Thank you for posting a review of your recent visit to the Coral Tree Inn.

In regards to your concerns I would like to apologise for not meeting your expectations regarding the breakfast and dinner options available. I have a discussed this issue with our Executive Chef to ensure that this is not repeated.
We are also looking in to changing the dinner menu to include more fresh ingredients with decent prices.

We continue to be committed in providing all our guests with the highest standard of service in the industry and your comments will help us serve you and all our guests better in the future. Rest assured that the hotel is actively working to improve service levels and your feedback has proved to be invaluable.

We look forward to welcoming you back here.

Thank you.

Warm regards,
Anand Churi
Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

The hotel room is big, ours had 2x 1,38m big beds on it, ai conditioning, fen and a good bathroom, the only this we dont liked very much was the bed matress, was not very confortable
The common area was a nice pool, spa and restaurant (we did not eat there... so I cannot rate it) you can also book your tour there if you want, but maybe you will find better last minutes deals on the esplanade... (we found some...)
The location is 10min walk to the esplanade, very short walk for us, it think around 800m. And also took us 15min to get to the harbor, so it is not in center, but not too far away. The only downside is that we found the streets around it too dark at night... something to consider if you plan to return late to the hotel, for us was everything ok, no incidents

we stayed for 4 night and we recommend it

Room Tip: ask a pool view room on the upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ViLaruccia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPM-Anand, Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear ViLaruccia,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us at Coral Tree Inn, it is important that we receive feedback so that we can continue to improve our services and facilities to our guests.


We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Anand Churi
Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed at the Coral Tree Inn during Easter 2012. We managed to pick up a deal through so got 50% off the room rate. For that reason the room was excellent value for money. 5min walk into the centre. The rooms were clean with a balcony. The bed was very hard though and did give me a sore back. The King sized bed was actually two beds pushed together. Would stay again if we picked up another deal.

Room Tip: Rooms over the pool are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPM-Anand, Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear Deirdre O,

Thanks for your valuable feedback.

I am glad that you took advantage of the cheap deals available to all our guests online. I will recommend you to keep an eye on our facebook page for all the upcoming offers and cheap deals.

We have recently changed all our matresses in the rooms and it concerns me if this is not meeting our guest's expectations.
I will certainly look into this matter and address the issue to our Executive Housekeeper as well.

Thank you.

Warm regards,
Anand Churi
Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We spent our first night in Australia here after many hours of flying from Cleveland, Ohio. The reception people were friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and very adequate, not overly fancy. We paid additional for the next morning breakfast. We were very glad we did. It was so convenient and plenty to eat. The walk to the water was easy and safe. Many cafe and shopping choices along the way. We had a rental car, and they offered free parking right in front of the hotel. We also stayed here on the night before we flew back to Sydney to meet a cruise ship. If you desire, there is a grill for you to use outside. It is a good value for the money you pay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gfmOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPM-Anand, Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear gfmOhio,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Coral Tree Inn.

I'm glad to hear that you had such a pleasant experience.
We all strive to make our guests' stay memorable and are so happy to read nice reviews such as yours. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will choose to stay with us once again for your return to Cairns.

We look forward to welcoming you back!
Thank you.

Kind regards,
Anand Churi
Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.9 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
589 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.2 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.3 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#24 of 64 in Cairns
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Tree Inn

Property: Coral Tree Inn
Address: 166 - 172 Grafton St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Coral Tree Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coral Tree Inn is a newly refurbished 4 star resort-style hotel located right in the heart of Cairns City, across from Munro Martin Park and close to all the shops, restaurants, theatre, art galleries and casino. The Hotel features two types of excellent accommodation including newly refurbished standard rooms and self-contained suite rooms. Family rooms and disabled rooms are available on request. Also featured in this hotel are: outdoor saltwater pool, complimentary barbeque facilities with its own dining area, restaurant, conference room, business centre, as well as Massage & Relaxation Centre amongst luscious tropically landscaped gardens. Coral Tree Inn is independently owned and managed, our friendly staff offering consistent and personalised professional services; we bring your rest closer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Coral Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Tree Hotel Cairns
Coral Tree Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing