We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Coral Tree Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$241
US$122
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$360
US$192
Shangri-La.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$111
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Cairns Plaza Hotel(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$110
US$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$102
US$89
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mantra Esplanade Cairns(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$114
US$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$126
US$115
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$145
US$110
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reef Palms(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$113
US$88
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (555)
Filter reviews
555 results
Traveller rating
133
234
141
28
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
133
234
141
28
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno lifta ground floor roombbq arealaundry roomminute walkclose to townstayed here for nightswould stay againsmall poolfamily roomeasy walking distancebudget hotelfree wifienjoyed my stayshort stayvisiting cairnsreception area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
380 - 385 of 555 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2012

This hotel had m most helpful hotel female staff member behind the front desk!! She was just fantastic, really helped two tired Irish people organise theire trips! Great location, spacious room, fantastic ensuite (take note the Y in Sydney!)

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anand C, Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2012

Dear RoAust,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your recent stay.

It is so wonderful and rewarding to read your review. Your comment inspires us and strengthens our commitment towards our guests.

We are indeed very honoured to note that the team could make your stay a memorable experience at the Coral Tree Inn.

Our team is our strength and your appreciation motivates them to achieve greater heights of excellence.

We look forward to your return with much excitement.

Thank you,

Kind regards,
Anand Churi
Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Even though this establishment is clean and close to town, it lacks in comfort for the elderly. On staying there recently was put in a room for three adults and one of us had to sleep on a stretcher, that woukd have been fine if we had of had a price cut, also you have to lug all your luggage up the steps yourself three floors, I think this place is well catered for the young.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask these questions when making your booking
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anand C, Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Dear Suzanne209,

Thank you for taking the time to review us, it is important that we receive feedback so that we can continue to improve our services and facilities to our guests.

In regards to your concerns with the bed for the extra person in the room, I have addressed the issue with our Housekeeping Supervisor and she is looking into ways to minimize the discomfort to any guests here in the future.
All our standard rooms are designed for 2 people and maximum 3 for budget travelers who would like to save without having to pay for an additional room.

I am delighted to hear that you found the overall cleanliness to your satisfaction.

Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards,
Anand Churi
Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Coral Tree Inn is reasonably well-located being within easy walking distance of the city center and Esplanade and its tariff is competitive for central Cairns. The front desk staff were friendly and efficient.
However, Coral Tree Inn promotes itself as a recently refurbished four star hotel and unfortunately does not live up to what could be expected of 4 star of the price.
It may have been refurbished of late but this has been done cheaply. Plastic sheets have been crudely screwed on the surfaces of the desks and cabinets which appear budget standard (photo 1). The corridors and rooms have tile floors which while serviceable, are noisy especially as people return late at night and engage in loud conversation, or leave early morning dragging their suitcases clunk-clunking over the tile grouting.
The quantity for breakfast is reasonable, but not what one would expect of four stars. Tables are bare wood, not set (so one needs to collect all one’s cutlery), and it is continual self-return of used dishes to avoid one’s table becoming a cluttered mess. /quality of food and service reminded me of a school boarding house.
However, the most disappointing aspect is the standard of cleaning which is inexcusable. All of the corridor doors adjacent to our room had very obvious dirty scuff marks indicating that these had not been wiped for a considerable number of months (refer photo 2 which shows one of 20+ marks). The toilet-bathroom door again was heavily soiled and I suggest had never been wiped in at least a year and worse than any public toilet that I can recently recall - and I don’t consider myself an overly concerned hygiene nut. The shower curtain had considerable amount of mold (see photograph) and the tile grouting was hidden by a layer of mold; a regular quick spray of anti-mold would eliminate the problem and it is not an excuse that this is a tropical climate as I have not seen this in other tropical situations.
The bed linen appeared to be very clean, but the dirty surfaces were obviously not on the cleaner’s weekly - or even monthly - list.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jeff55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anand C, Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Dear Jeff55555,

We do appreciate you taking time out to share with us your experience with the hotel.

I am sorry to see that you did not enjoy your time with us.

We take all feedback seriously, and have shared your valuable feedback with the relevant teams to assure you of a better experience the next time.

I have passed your comments regarding the cleanliness to our Executive Housekeeping team for action.
Your feedback is important to us as it enables us maintain our high standards and work on any areas of improvement, so thank you very much for bringing this to our attention.

My sincere apologies on behalf of the hotel for any inconvenience caused, and we await the opportunity to welcome you once again.


Best Regards,
Anand Churi
Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Very tidy room, spacious and pleasant with excellent air conditioning. The shower was big enough for two, and the pool outside offered a nice view and somewhere to cool down. Delicious buffet breakfast. Close to the esplanade and shopping mall. The staff were very helpful and more than happy to order our taxis. The only downfall was that the bed was a tad on the hard side.

If I head back to Cairns I will definately stay here again!

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs have private balconies
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anand C, Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Dear Michelle W,

Thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor.

All of us are pleased to know that you have had a wonderful stay with us and that you enjoyed the room facilities, pool and breakfast at the Coral Tree Inn.

I was happy to read that you enjoyed central location of the hotel.

Your appreciation of our team members being friendly and helpful is indeed very motivating and inspires us tremendously.

Thank you and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards,
Anand Churi
Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Our stay at this hotel exceeded expectations. We had a room overlooking pool which was great. the staff were very helpful and friendly, going out of their way to help us with tour bookings etc. We will definately stay there again and recommend to others. The walk to the centre of town was 10 minutes maximum with heaps of cafes or restaurants to choose from. My only complaint was that the pool water was really cold but we were there in winter.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wintertourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anand C, Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Dear wintertourists,

Thank you for sharing your experience through Trip Advisor.

The entire team at Coral Tree Inn feels elated to read your heartfelt review.
Nothing gives us more joy than to know that your stay with us was perfect and that we met your expectations across many levels of service and facilities.

Thank you for recommending us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,
Anand Churi
Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews