We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lost a star for the pool”
Review of Coral Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coral Tree Inn
Ranked #20 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Lost a star for the pool”
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and we're absolutely thrilled we picked this hotel. It's very close to everything, rooms are spacious and clean, beds are comfy, receptionists are extremely helpful and friendly, it's perfect really, especially for the price !! We got a deal on booking.com for 3 nights $250. We hadn't planned on spending it by the pool so it wasn't a problem for us but just incase you are, it's not very nice. It's almost dirty looking, it was out of order on our first day so perhaps it had something to do with that but there was a smell coming from it?!! But don't let that turn you off! It's a fab hotel otherwise !

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashlovestravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anand C, General Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Ashlovestravelling,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback following your recent visit to Cairns.

I was pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the hotel’s central location to be convenient.

I appreciate your honest and constructive feedback. Unfortunately we encountered a problem with the swimming pool’s filter and pump equipment few weeks back however I’m happy to inform you that this issue has now been resolved.

Thanks again for your review and I hope to be able to welcome you back the next time you visit Cairns and enjoy a nice dip in our salt water pool.

Kind regards,

Anand Churi
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    211
    124
    23
    11
See reviews for
86
235
45
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

Great location for Cairns, we unfortunately had a rear room facing the car park with a palm tree view. The room is clean but basic and could do with a little tlc here and there. The staff were fantastic though and the service overall couldn't have been better. The hotel has a small pool but is clean however becomes quite shaded later on in the afternoon. If you are looking for cheaper accommodation with a great location then this is the hotel for you. Only a 5 minute walk from Cairns so location is it's best asset.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anand C, General Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Nicky C,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us.

Whilst it was pleasing to read that you enjoyed the hotel’s central location, service and our staff it was disappointing to read the room did not entirely meet your expectations and I shall discuss this with my team.

Thank you again for your review.

Kind regards,

Anand Churi
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Stayed here on a flying visit to Cairns in December 2013.

Couldn't of asked for a better place to stay.

Friendly staff and comfortable, clean rooms.

Pool area substantial for a relaxing dip before setting off into Cairns for a look round and enjoying the local delights.

Finishing off a fabulous trip to Australia.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lass1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anand C, General Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Lass1910,

Thank you for your insights on Trip Advisor about your recent visit to the Coral Tree Inn. It is great to see that you have been able to enjoy your stay with us. Your comments about the room and the team members encountered are certainly much appreciated. We most certainly look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,

Anand Churi
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed in coral tree inn for 6 nights in December and from check in to check out the staff couldn't do enough for us, our room was cleaned and fresh towels every day, they even helped us upstairs with luggage as no lift on premises, Craig on reception helped booking a couple of trips for us and also helped with friendly advice. Would definitely stay here again if we ever come back to cairns, thanks guys for making the start of our OZ trip a winner.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Flo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anand C, General Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Flo_18_csc,

Thank you for taking the time to review Coral Tree Inn on Trip Advisor.

We are thrilled that you took the opportunity to stay here, and found that the room, service, and staff met your expectations.
The team aims to deliver an exquisite experience for our guests and we are very pleased to read your positive feedback. We will ensure your comments are shared with our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Cairns.

Kind regards,

Anand Churi
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed for a 1 night layover. Great value. Clean, functional and good service. Room was spacious. Probably wouldn't book for a long stay as it is a couple of streets back with no nice views. Also, a really nice pool, although small, very clean and well presented.

Room Tip: Room 301 - the suite - great for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anand C, General Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear mikulspikul,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Coral Tree Inn through Trip Advisor.

We are all delighted to note that you enjoyed the comfort, service and the room during your short stay; all at an affordable price.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Cairns.

Thank you.

Kind regards,

Anand Churi
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Central to the city and only a few minutes walking distance, full hot breakfast by the nice pool included in price , comfortable modern room, large TV. All the staff are helpful especially Kenji the Hotel Manager any assistance we wanted was immediately attended to. The price we paid was reasonable and value for money. So we recommended it to anyone wanting accommodation in Cairns at a acceptable price.
Our room was on second floor front and we enjoyed the adequate sized balcony with view over the Park opposite. Rod also made good use of it to smoke his pipe!!
Thanks for a pleasant stay and if we have cause to visit Cairns again will most certainly contact you.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rod M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anand C, General Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Rod M,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community regarding your stay with us at Coral Tree Inn.

I was thrilled to read your review and that you enjoyed your stay with us! It’s great that we can offer service and accommodation that allows our guests to simply sit back and relax knowing that all they have to do is enjoy their time. My staff was so happy to read your kind comments as they strive to offer the best service so all out guests feel welcome.

It is very rewarding to hear that you felt that the hotel was excellent value and that you will highly recommend us. I sincerely hope you revisit the hotel again soon.

Kind regards,

Anand Churi
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Was pleasantly surprised to be offered a cold facial towel to freshen up upon check in. Although wifi usage is chargeable, the hotel only charge a flat rate for the 3 nights' stay. This was better than my experience with Park Regis Sydney. Room is very spacious - like a self-contained studio service apartment. Very clean and cosy. Only setback is the lack of elevator although the staff helped us with the luggage. Also, it would be excellent if it has a bigger swimming pool. Its pool is more like a wading pool - probably suitable for children.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anand C, General Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Judy T

Thank you for your post on your recent stay with Coral Tree Inn.

I was so pleased to read that we could offer accommodation that meant your stay was comfortable and easy one. I know the accommodation market place is full of choice to all our guests and it is important to all our staff that we get it right for all our guests who choose to stay with us.

We would love to welcome you back when next you stay in Cairns!

Kind regards,

Anand Churi
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.9 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
584 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.2 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 64 in Cairns
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#24 of 64 in Cairns
477 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Tree Inn

Property: Coral Tree Inn
Address: 166 - 172 Grafton St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Coral Tree Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coral Tree Inn is a newly refurbished 4 star resort-style hotel located right in the heart of Cairns City, across from Munro Martin Park and close to all the shops, restaurants, theatre, art galleries and casino. The Hotel features two types of excellent accommodation including newly refurbished standard rooms and self-contained suite rooms. Family rooms and disabled rooms are available on request. Also featured in this hotel are: outdoor saltwater pool, complimentary barbeque facilities with its own dining area, restaurant, conference room, business centre, as well as Massage & Relaxation Centre amongst luscious tropically landscaped gardens. Coral Tree Inn is independently owned and managed, our friendly staff offering consistent and personalised professional services; we bring your rest closer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Southall Travel, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coral Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Tree Hotel Cairns
Coral Tree Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing