We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coral Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Coral Tree Inn
Ranked #19 of 65 Hotels in Cairns
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Very nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

I liked this hotel. The staff were really lovely and nothing was too much trouble. There isn't a lift so ask for a ground floor room if you would struggle with heavy suitcases. The room itself was quite spacious with quite a large bed and a balcony overlooking the pool. There was a fridge and just about adequate storage space. We were provided with a free toothbrush and paste which was a nice touch. Toiletries and towels were provided daily and rooms cleaned to a very high standard. There was free wifi, and as other reviewers have mentioned it's not great, but I did not find it great in any hotel, and a lot of them charge for it. It was sufficient for what you need when on holiday. The pool was lovely and open from 6.30 in the morning which was great. Breakfast is available, it's nothing spectacular but adequate if you need something to eat before embarking on a trip. Most people having breakfast were there before 7.30. There were wading and drying facilities available at a very reasonable cost and also barbecue facilities for use which seemed to be very popular. Overall I thought this was a really good hotel, a short walk from bars and restaurants and definitely somewhere I would stay again if in Cairns.

Room Tip: Ground floor if you would struggle with suitcases as there is no lift. First floor room overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anand C, General Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Christine M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review on your recent visit to the Coral Tree Inn and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I will make sure that your comments are shared with all the staff members here.
The positive ratings you gave us on Trip Advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

Thank you.

Kind regards,
Anand Churi
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    203
    115
    23
    11
See reviews for
82
227
42
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atherton, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

I booked a mystery deal on Wotif and was very surprised to find Coral Tree Inn as a 4 star central hotel. Being local, this hotel is definitely not 4 star OR central. The location was the biggest let down - not the best area of Cairns - especially with the park next door. Was quite worried about my car getting broken into. I was expecting this mystery hotel to be near the Pier somewhere as it was saying only 5 minutes to the Reef Fleet Terminal?!! More like 25 minutes! Anyway apart from that the room was clean and the staff were very lovely and polite. I would have been happy if the mystery room was advertised as budget friendly / 3 star. There was nothing wrong with Coral Tree Inn, but it isn't somewhere I would ever book. Sorry! I certainly wont be booking a Wotif mystery deal again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anand C, General Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Renee P,

Thank you for staying at the Coral Tree Inn, and for sharing your views through Trip Advisor.

Although it is disappointing to know that the hotel’s location did not suit you unlike all other guests who find it to be central, it's great to hear that you experienced our helpful, friendly and attentive staff and I have passed on your comments to our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you.

Kind regards,
Anand Churi
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berrien Springs, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Very comfortable and quiet. Beds were excellent for sleeping and staff was very helpful. Walk to downtown was not too bad. Did not try the pool, but it looked very nice and clean. Daily service was prompt and well done.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anand C, General Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Ruth G,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at Coral Tree Inn.

I was pleased to hear that your stay was comfortable and quiet. As you mentioned we are very centrally located with most of the shops and restaurants within a short walking distance from the hotel.

I will share your wonderful comments with my team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,

Anand Churi
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

We'll located, comfortable accomodation with restaurant .
We stayed prior to traveling to port Douglas and found this a little gem. Good parking, clean rooms and a very nice restaurant on site serving great meals at reasonable prices, spent a couple of relaxing nights around the pool. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All seem good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacsbak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anand C, General Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Jacsbak,

Thank you for your lovely review of the Coral Tree Inn.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location is a real asset to the hotel, with the lovely views of the park opposite, as well as its close proximity to shops and restaurants. Your review and kind comments are greatly appreciated. We aim to offer affordable luxury, which means value with quality, and our concept is based around those elements that we believe really matter to the majority of guests.
A review like yours is therefore the best result, as it confirms to us that we are performing to the standards we set, and offering the right product at the right price.

Many thanks for recommending Coral Tree Inn to other Trip Advisor members and sharing your experience.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon.

Kindest regards,

Anand Churi
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

The website promised much - the rooms looked spacious and cool. And the room price included free internet, which is always an attractor for me. On arrival however, the rooms were much smaller than expected, and a bit.....tired. The internet was slow and spasmodic, and guests were limited to 200 megabytes. Room servicing was patchy, with basics such as glasses not cleaned. Air conditioning was too noisy to sleep.

Location is reasonably central to the centre of Cairns.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank AustraliaAthena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anand C, General Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear AustraliaAthena,

Thank you for sharing your views through Trip Advisor.

Although it is disappointing to know that we delivered below your expectations, we truly appreciate receiving your feedback as this makes us aware of the areas in our service and facilities that need improvement. In regards to the internet policy, a generous 100 Mb data allowance per room per day has been set to avoid speed congestion by heavy downloading. It has been set for a fair usage so that all guests can enjoy faster browsing speeds at the same time. Coral Tree Inn is amongst the very few hotels in Cairns who offer free Wi-Fi internet to all guests staying here. Internet speed is subject to guest's device, the hotel is currently enrolled for the fastest internet plan available in the country.

We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences caused during your stay here.

Kind regards,
Anand Churi
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summit, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

the place is very low budget, the rooms are tiny and look very different on the website. we were supposed to get a two bedroom suite with a kitchen and they didn't have our reservation and their two bedroom rooms don't have kitchen facilities like they make it seem on the website. the location is okay. close walk to a few restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sbbh69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

I stayed in the hotel with my wife around Easter Holidays 2014. Following are some of my reflections of my stay:
1. Location: Its biggest advantage. Everything what i need was 10 mins away - Esplanade, most of the restaurants, reef terminal, cairns railway station, centro.
2. Hotel: The hotel does not have any lifts, so if you are staying in higher floors carrying baggage might be little difficult. I got my room on first floor, it was nice & tidy. All the basic things were there including 42 inch TV, Split AC and small balcony which opens to the pool.
3. Staff: You won't meet many staffs in the hotel except the person at reception. The check-in and check-out was quick except the fact that i had arrived early and i had to wait till 2 PM to get my room. I did not book any of my trips before reaching cairns and the reception staff helped me to book all my day trips.
4. Hotel Restaurant: Coral Inn does have a small cafe which serves buffet breakfast ($18) and dinner. Dinner has just 6-7 option only.

Room Tip: Request for a refurbished room overlooking hotel pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deepakn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anand C, General Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear deepakn,

Thank you for a very detailed review of your recent experience with us.

It is always very pleasing to hear positive feedback from our guests. I am happy that you found the hotel’s location convenient. I am glad that you were generally satisfied with the hotel facilities and cleanliness.

I do hope to see you back at the Coral Tree Inn again soon.

Kind regards,
Anand Churi
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
0.9 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 65 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Cairns
Ibis Styles Cairns
#16 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Tree Inn

Property: Coral Tree Inn
Address: 166 - 172 Grafton St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Coral Tree Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coral Tree Inn is a newly refurbished 4 star resort-style hotel located right in the heart of Cairns City, across from Munro Martin Park and close to all the shops, restaurants, theatre, art galleries and casino. The Hotel features two types of excellent accommodation including newly refurbished standard rooms and self-contained suite rooms. Family rooms and disabled rooms are available on request. Also featured in this hotel are: outdoor saltwater pool, complimentary barbeque facilities with its own dining area, restaurant, conference room, business centre, as well as Massage & Relaxation Centre amongst luscious tropically landscaped gardens. Coral Tree Inn is independently owned and managed, our friendly staff offering consistent and personalised professional services; we bring your rest closer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel and Odigeo so you can book your Coral Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Tree Hotel Cairns
Coral Tree Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing