We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean and basic rooms”
Review of Coral Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coral Tree Inn
Ranked #20 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice clean and basic rooms”
Reviewed 8 February 2009

We stayed at the Coral Tree Inn for one night while in transit. The rooms were basic, nice and clean. The walls were painted cinder blocks so it gave the room a very industrial feel. But overall it was comfortable. There was a small patio that faced another complex so it really wasn't someplace you wanted to hang out. It's about a 5 to 10 minute walk to downtown though it was pretty dead on a Sunday night. Look for Flying Foxes (Fruit Bats) flying around the trees. We saw a tree on the main strip full of them. We saw more bats here then we saw at the Bat house in Cape Trib (which only has one bat).

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DK F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    213
    125
    23
    13
See reviews for
87
238
46
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2008

I booked this hotel through a website, and got a great deal on it, thank goodness, because I would have been upset to have paid full price for this motel. My boyfriend and sister were going diving and white water rafting around Cairns and used the Coral Tree Inn as a place to sleep 3 adults. If we would have actually been spending time in Cairns city, we would have found a better place to stay. But since all we were doing was sleeping, it was adequate. But I don't like hearing excuses for unclean places. A couple times as we were returning/leaving other guests were complaining about the ants. The response was always an excuse about how we were in a wet area and there was nothing they could do. After leaving my coffee mug full of coffee in my room all day (cleaning crew not taking it away or replacing with a fresh glass) we understood the quality of the hotel was just at a lower level. It was dirty. The cleaning staff did not clean the room well, all they did was make the beds. There is also very little privacy. Since all the balconies open on to the general area of the hotel, if you have your drapes open everyone can see in your room.

  • Liked — Cheap
  • Disliked — ants, customer service
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank campchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2008

I stayed one night at the Coral Tree Inn in September and felt I got my moneys worth. There is no elevator here and with a bad knee I did have some trouble getting my bags to the second floor. The hotel was booked so I was unable to switch rooms. The room was basic but comfortable and the cooling system was able to cool down the room quickly.

The front desk is very knowledgable on the local area and was able to point me to a good area for dinner and arranged a taxi for the next day. The hotel does have a baggage room so should you need to keep your luggage their after you check out, you can.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — No elevator
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtnrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2008

we had a great time in coral tree. we found it really clean and friendly. the breakfast was ok too! beds were comfy and it wasnt too expensive. we had stayed in a dorm room before and it was luxury to have a twin en suite!
lindsay and louise ireland

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — bit of a walk out of woolshed!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lindslou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2008

Booked most of our hotels for Australia and New Zealand trip based on other trip advisor postings. This one definately met our expectations. Its a very basic room - very clean, tile throughout, has a little fridge. Easy walking distance - a few blocks from the beach and tons of restaurants. Excellent staff here, they were very helpful in booking our Great Barrier Reef tour and Kuranda tour as well. We found directly on their web site that they were running a special, so we got a discounted rate. We had a great time.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and good location
  • Disliked — Room was very basic, no frills, but not a big deal
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canatrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galashiels, Scottish Borders, Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2008

Wes booked this before trip out to Oz. Super place with pool, BBQ area. Good rules for all to abide by. Super choice for breakfast, but no other dining. Staff would help you with anything....brill! Booked trips to Great Barrier Reef here & Kuranda Trip, all reasonable priced, staff showed good knowledge of everything. Eat out at the local RSL club, or at Cock & Bull, value for money. Stunning esplanade here.
Thanks to all staff for making our trip to Cairns super.

  • Liked — It all!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G-HMitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2008

Three of us enjoyed staying at the Coral Tree Inn (we had 2 big rooms with kitchen) for 7 days. Hotel have great location, nice and clean rooms and bathroom. We were on the
second floor with nice view. Pool is really nice but we don’t have time to swim. Lovely grounds in the courtyard. We felt the front desk people all were helpful & friendly.

  • Liked — good information desk
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Little M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.9 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
589 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.2 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.3 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#24 of 64 in Cairns
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Tree Inn

Property: Coral Tree Inn
Address: 166 - 172 Grafton St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Coral Tree Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coral Tree Inn is a newly refurbished 4 star resort-style hotel located right in the heart of Cairns City, across from Munro Martin Park and close to all the shops, restaurants, theatre, art galleries and casino. The Hotel features two types of excellent accommodation including newly refurbished standard rooms and self-contained suite rooms. Family rooms and disabled rooms are available on request. Also featured in this hotel are: outdoor saltwater pool, complimentary barbeque facilities with its own dining area, restaurant, conference room, business centre, as well as Massage & Relaxation Centre amongst luscious tropically landscaped gardens. Coral Tree Inn is independently owned and managed, our friendly staff offering consistent and personalised professional services; we bring your rest closer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Coral Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Tree Hotel Cairns
Coral Tree Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing