We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, very noisy air conditioner!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Coral Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coral Tree Inn
Ranked #18 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Beijing
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel, very noisy air conditioner!”
Reviewed 9 April 2009

It's a really nice hotel EXCEPT their air conditioner! it's extreamly loud! we had to turn it on becuase the weather was hot there, but the conditioner makes crazy noise like a machine!

it's a sham they have such kind of old air conditioner in rooms, because the hotel/resort is really nice and beautiful. There staff is very friendly and helpful as well! However if you sleep like a baby at night and do NOT fraid of noise then it's a good choice for you!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zhangyin78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    204
    116
    23
    11
See reviews for
83
227
42
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2009

We stayed here for 1 night which was really ok. We didn't expect too much having read the reviews and seen the pictures and were positively surprised. The rooms were pretty basic but clean. Although the breakfast buffet had the typical charme of a youth hostel's breakfast it was good and sufficient. Good location.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miri27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2009

Our expectations of this hotel were far greater than what we experienced upon our arrival, as per reviews and brochures. The rooms in the Inn are very small, and very dated, with painted cinder blocks, ac that barely works, abundant little critters (bugs and geckos), and a balcony that had a security screen on it which opened onto a residential dwelling. I would be wary of using the pool. I know it is close to a rainforest, and bugs and geckos are to be expected, but on our entire trip through Australia, this place was the only one where we saw them.

We ended up leaving this hotel before staying one night, and checked into the Shangri-La which we got for a great price. I know, totally different accomodation classification.

Further, the location of the hotel is not as good as the claim to be in the centre of the city. It is a 15-20 walk to the main street which has all the restaurants and shopping, and access to the beach.

The Coral Tree Inn is a low-budget accomodation option, which could be good for student backpackers, or those on a low budget, with low expectations. It does have a kitchen in which you can prepare your own meals. Apparently some of their suites are better, but I didn't look at them. The front desk staff were very nice, as a positive.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelcanuck29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalby
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2009

We just arrived on the plane for our honeymoon in Cairns and were expecting to go this this wonderful place (as per the brochures/internet) . Instead we got to the Coral Tree Inn to find this small room with painted besser blocks, a tv with 3 channels, an aircon that barely worked and no lifts. We were so disappointed we felt like just going home. Would definitely not recommed this to anyone - even if it is cheap!!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DalbyHoneymooners_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAMPSHIRE
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2009

My wife and I stopped first in Cairns as the first part of our vacation and could nt wish for a better start.The hotel was clean and the staff were very helpful and friendly and advised us on the best tours available and were happy to book them for us.The facillities were very good and although no bar ,drinks were available from reception area.All in all it was a great start to our Oz adventure and were totally relaxed in our week there.
S.Brown U.K.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STEVIEBHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2009

We stayed at the Coral Tree Inn for one night while in transit. The rooms were basic, nice and clean. The walls were painted cinder blocks so it gave the room a very industrial feel. But overall it was comfortable. There was a small patio that faced another complex so it really wasn't someplace you wanted to hang out. It's about a 5 to 10 minute walk to downtown though it was pretty dead on a Sunday night. Look for Flying Foxes (Fruit Bats) flying around the trees. We saw a tree on the main strip full of them. We saw more bats here then we saw at the Bat house in Cape Trib (which only has one bat).

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DK F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2008

I booked this hotel through a website, and got a great deal on it, thank goodness, because I would have been upset to have paid full price for this motel. My boyfriend and sister were going diving and white water rafting around Cairns and used the Coral Tree Inn as a place to sleep 3 adults. If we would have actually been spending time in Cairns city, we would have found a better place to stay. But since all we were doing was sleeping, it was adequate. But I don't like hearing excuses for unclean places. A couple times as we were returning/leaving other guests were complaining about the ants. The response was always an excuse about how we were in a wet area and there was nothing they could do. After leaving my coffee mug full of coffee in my room all day (cleaning crew not taking it away or replacing with a fresh glass) we understood the quality of the hotel was just at a lower level. It was dirty. The cleaning staff did not clean the room well, all they did was make the beds. There is also very little privacy. Since all the balconies open on to the general area of the hotel, if you have your drapes open everyone can see in your room.

  • Liked — Cheap
  • Disliked — ants, customer service
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank campchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.9 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
554 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
1,058 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Cairns
Ibis Styles Cairns
#16 of 64 in Cairns
733 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Tree Inn

Property: Coral Tree Inn
Address: 166 - 172 Grafton St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Coral Tree Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coral Tree Inn is a newly refurbished 4 star resort-style hotel located right in the heart of Cairns City, across from Munro Martin Park and close to all the shops, restaurants, theatre, art galleries and casino. The Hotel features two types of excellent accommodation including newly refurbished standard rooms and self-contained suite rooms. Family rooms and disabled rooms are available on request. Also featured in this hotel are: outdoor saltwater pool, complimentary barbeque facilities with its own dining area, restaurant, conference room, business centre, as well as Massage & Relaxation Centre amongst luscious tropically landscaped gardens. Coral Tree Inn is independently owned and managed, our friendly staff offering consistent and personalised professional services; we bring your rest closer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coral Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Tree Hotel Cairns
Coral Tree Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing