We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Family Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Cairns B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Friendly Family Hotel”
Reviewed 24 March 2011

Stayed here 6 nights.
Apartment comfortable clean roomy, Kitchen 2 hobs large fridge /freezer , bathroom good size with laundry facilites. Pool nice size, comfortable sunbeds. Wifi available and well priced. Walk to all areas of Cairns, Woolworths supermarket just up road.
Reception staff go out of their way to help you.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WYEVALLEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    114
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
56
181
30
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

We stayed here for one night while passing through Cairns. Fairly small hotel with very pleasant suites at a reasonable price. Very clean and well-maintained. Excellent location in the middle of downtown Cairns, close to the esplanade, next door to the night market, and very close to many restaurants and shops. Hotel is built around a central courtyard, and looks like something you would encounter in Spain or Italy. Our suite consisted of: a large bathroom with clothes washer and dryer (detergent $1 at reception but machines are free to use); a separate bedroom with comfortable double bed and plenty of storage; a well-equipped kitchen with a large fridge; large living/dining room with TV, couch and dining table and chairs; balcony. There is a pool in the hotel, but two blocks away is the free saltwater pool on the esplanade. This would be a very good base for exploring Cairns and taking day trips to the reef or other locations. Plenty of parking if you have a rental vehicle. Overall excellent value for money, especially if you are planning to stay for a few days.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank old-jogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weymouth
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2010

We had intended to only stay one night, but the apartment was so comfortable, well appointed and the owners very helpful. It was the perfect central postition i n Cairns, secure parking, good pool, and best of all washing machine and tumble dryer in the apartment. For anyone travelling around , and wanting to do some great day trips from Cairns this is the place to stay. Much nicer than anonomyous great big blocks.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellyb39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

We came across this hotel after checking Trip Advisor - we needed a one-night stay due to a long stopover between flights. Usually we would stay up at the Northern Beaches but wanted somewhere with easy transport from the airport because we didn't have a car.

The hotel is situated in a city block just one street away from the waterfront (Esplanade) and close to restaurants etc - the pick of these is Perrotas (sp) which is part of an art gallery and has more innovative food than the 'earlybird specials' etc on the waterfront.

Our room was spacious and immaculately clean. Bed was comfortable. Wireless internet was free, but you had to take your laptop to a central foyer to use it.

The location was perfect - an easy walk to Cairns Central Mall etc. and despite being in the city it was extremely quiet at night time. The front-desk staff were very helpful with maps and so on.

I thought it was good value for money and thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sigmadelta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2010

We stayed in this hotel for three nights. While it was a little dated, the location and staff certainly made up for it. It is close to the Esplanade so a quick walk to the restaurants. There is off street secure parking. The staff were very helpful. When we checked in, we were shown to our room and given a tour of the apartment. We booked a tour to Green Island and the lovely lady at reception helped us choose the right one for us. One thing we found great was the bedroom was very dark and quiet, however we slept for twelve hours :)

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zofar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2010

Big rooms, great location, a view of the sea and the staff's ability to provide good dining recommendations all make this a worthwhile place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bata403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2010

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights a couple of weeks ago. We were very impressed by the fabulous location as you are virtually next door to the night markets which you cut through to get to The Esplanade where all the restaurants are located. The apartment was really good, very clean and comfy. There is also a washing machine & dryer in the apartment. We had a pool view room on the 2nd floor and it was very quiet.

I am fussy as to where I stay and I honestly cannot fault this place and would stay here again.

Trish & Peter (PERTH WA)

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrishandPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#5 of 64 in Cairns
2,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
590 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
524 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel

Property: Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel
Address: 62 Abbott St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Palazzo is a stylish boutique hotel situated in the heart of Cairns. Its prime location means that guests are central to the bustling business district, Casino, Conference Centre, Reef Fleet Terminal, markets and shops. The exciting Esplanade with swimming Lagoon and boardwalk, a plethora of cosmopolitan restaurants and major international hotels are within easy walking distance.Il Palazzo is a modern boutique apartment hotel with stunning neoclassical European inspired architecture featuring cream and terracotta decor, impressive stone sculptures and classical fine wrought iron work throughout.There are 38 fully self-contained one bedroom apartments, each with air-conditioning, a fully equipped kitchen and laundry, a large shady balcony, mini bar, Austar TV, CD/DVD, telephone, in-room safe and daily servicing. We have recently undertaken a partial refurbishment with new carpets, bedcovers, flatscreen TVs and DVDs. Il Palazzo has one of the best locations in Cairns and features a beautiful Mediterranean style courtyard with a landscaped heated swimming pool. There is a roof top sundeck, BBQ area and gazebo. Business services are available as well as a tour desk, dry cleaning, FREE wireless internet and secure undercover parking.The staff take pride in offering guests a personal service and attention to detail is paramount.While visiting one of the most sought after destinations in the world -Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef - stay in a luxury apartment at Il Palazzo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Il Palazzo Boutique Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing