We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All you could need in the heart of the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Cairns B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“All you could need in the heart of the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

We just got back from a 5 night stay in Cairns at the Il Palazzo and we had a great time. The location is great and the staff were so helpful. They helped us book several activities and were great sources of information about the area and highlights to see.
The apartment had all the amenities we could want- the kitchenette allowed us to cook a few meals whilst we were there, and we made good use of the BBQ and pool as well. We had booked through a promo deal so the apartment was not serviced (which we actually prefer) so be aware of this if you book a promotional deal and servicing is important as, like a previous reviewer mentioned, this was not actually specified when we booked our trip (we booked through expedia).
Overall, this was a great place to stay and I'd definitely return and recommend it to my friends

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    108
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
55
173
30
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

These apartments are excellently located in Cairns CBD, within walking distance to most attractions in the city and just steps from restaurants shops etc.The apartment was clean and well appointed with all you need, including washer and dryer and staff were friendly and helpful.We had a very pleasant and relaxing stay and would recommend....

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sadies P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

This hotel was in perfect position-pool is excellent and we used barbeque.Staff are excellent friendly,professional and very helpful with everything.Unit is comfortable but mattress not very supportive.So glad we stayed in centre of Cairns and price was great because so many other things to spend money on.Would highly recommend especially if you like peace and quiet and there is also a garage.We had free wi-fi downstairs with offer.Great choice!!!!!

Room Tip: Room on side of pool is preferable than street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaynor93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

I stayed here for a week at the start of the month. The units are clean and well serviced and the manager and his assistants are very obliging. The location is excellent -adjacent to supermarkets, pubs, restaurants and clubs. The air conditioning needs looking at.
The only big negative is; you get charged for an hours Broadband, even if you use it for 5 minutes.
This really hacks me off because Broadband costs them nothing and it should be free -24 hours a day.

Room Tip: The poolside (north), is sunny all day and quieter. The streetside gets the afternoon sun and is mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicoffnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

We recently spent 6 nights at Il Palazzo. This was our second stay at Il Palazzo and it was just as great as our previous stay. Right in the heart of Cairns, its so accessible to everything - you don't need a car really. Cafes, restaurants, a lovely Japanese restaurant right next door, a car hire place next door on the other side, Cairns Central shopping mall a 10 minute leisurely walk away. If you want to go on tours, you can book them at the front desk at no extra cost for the service. And at the end of the day, you can relax in the heated swimming pool and cook on the poolside BBQ

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sydneyperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

Well located with The Esplanade, fabulous restaurants & the water one street away, Woolworths in next block, shops, the Pier & a major shopping centre an easy walk.
Very comfortable with large living area, kitchenette & bathroom/laundry. Bedroom rather cramped but bed very comfortable. Very pleasant outdoor area with easy access to heated pool with BBQ area. Unfortunately TV reception was poor (the Olympics were on!).
Would definitely stay there again and will recommend it to our friends

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

Our one bedroom apartment was spacious. Everything was very clean and in good order. I particularly liked the high quality towels, good bench space in the bathroom and good private laundry.

Most of the other guests I saw were middle aged or older and the general atmosphere was quiet and civilized. The service from reception was excellent and Il Palazzo seems to be extremely well run.

Next time I'm in Cairns Il Palazzo will be my choice.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PennyH051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.2 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,136 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.4 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel

Property: Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel
Address: 62 Abbott St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Palazzo is a stylish boutique hotel situated in the heart of Cairns. Its prime location means that guests are central to the bustling business district, Casino, Conference Centre, Reef Fleet Terminal, markets and shops. The exciting Esplanade with swimming Lagoon and boardwalk, a plethora of cosmopolitan restaurants and major international hotels are within easy walking distance.Il Palazzo is a modern boutique apartment hotel with stunning neoclassical European inspired architecture featuring cream and terracotta decor, impressive stone sculptures and classical fine wrought iron work throughout.There are 38 fully self-contained one bedroom apartments, each with air-conditioning, a fully equipped kitchen and laundry, a large shady balcony, mini bar, Austar TV, CD/DVD, telephone, in-room safe and daily servicing. We have recently undertaken a partial refurbishment with new carpets, bedcovers, flatscreen TVs and DVDs. Il Palazzo has one of the best locations in Cairns and features a beautiful Mediterranean style courtyard with a landscaped heated swimming pool. There is a roof top sundeck, BBQ area and gazebo. Business services are available as well as a tour desk, dry cleaning, FREE wireless internet and secure undercover parking.The staff take pride in offering guests a personal service and attention to detail is paramount.While visiting one of the most sought after destinations in the world -Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef - stay in a luxury apartment at Il Palazzo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Il Palazzo Boutique Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing