We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location and accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel
Ranked #2 of 14 Cairns B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We arrived late in Cairns, coming from New Zealand. The system for getting in after hours worked fine, but there was some angst as we were leaving the next morning for a 2-day sailing trip and then returning. The driver was picking us up before the desk opened to store our luggage. But, phew, it worked out. Donovan was there--we scooted our bags in--provided whatever I needed--and off we went. In our short first night I noticed that the apartment was perfect--washer and dryer which we would sorely need since we'd been traveling for 15 days with small suitcases. When we returned from our sailing trip and checked back in for 3 more nights, we took advantage of the accommodations and definitely the private laundry facilities. The location is perfect--in the center of things but still quiet. We could walk everywhere and especially appreciated that we were only a block off the Esplanade. We had some Internet difficulties and really appreciated how accommodating and helpful Donovan was. We highly recommend Il Palazzo to anyone visiting Cairns. It really did feel like a lovely home away from home.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarrietLowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilpalazzo, Front Office Manager at Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear Harriet,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review on your stay at Il Palazzo - this is very much appreciated. We are so pleased that you were happy with your stay here and that everything possible was done to assist you. We realise that you are a long way from Cairns and whilst we hope that you will return one day, if it is not possible, we would very much appreciate it if you would mention us to anyone you know who may be planning a holiday in Far North Queensland.
I trust you have returned home with many happy memories of your holiday in Australia!

With kind regards,

Frances Kelly
Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

175 - 181 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

A large comfortable living area and sea facing balcony overlooking a small pool. Excellent if you are travelling with a family. All you could want in terms of shops, restaurants are just a few steps away. Very much enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanjaya_Wijeyekoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilpalazzo, Front Office Manager at Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a very positive review on Il Palazzo. This information will be extremely helpful to other people thinking of booking with us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope that you might return again one day.

With kind regards,

Frances Kelly
Reservations, Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Stayed here for 4 days. !0 mins by cab from the airport about $23. This was a great place to stay. Room was just like the website, bed was comfortable. Had kitchen and dining facilities. Roz at the front counter was a wealth of knowledge and of great assistance in helping us choose our tours. My room was very quite. Just a great experience. Found this on Tripadvisor. Good choice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank strawbs45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilpalazzo, Front Office Manager at Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor for us. The information you have given will be extremely helpful to other people thinking of booking a stay at Il Palazzo. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and do hope that you will return one day. In the meantime, we would really appreciate it if you would recommend us to anyone you know who might be thinking of coming to Cairns.

With kind regards,
Frances Kelly
Reservations, Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

At first glance it looks like an art store with the statue of David in the front window..I walked past and realized it was accommodation. The owners were amazing, I explained I had arrived in Cairns early and had no hotel for that eve.. gave me a cuppa, stored my luggage while I went to a meeting. Within an hour I had a room. Fully self contained, balcony over looking the pool. Everything spotless from the stairwells,elevator every inch. The décor is so refreshingly different. The housemaids were a little chatty n noisy the hallway the first morning but was after 8.30. Considering how much pride they take in their work and were usually quiet. Set in the middle of the city I did expect the accommodation to be noisy at night, but wasn't. I would go there again just for the hotel it really felt like a boutique European hotel. Needless to say I skipped the big chain lovely resort I was booked into and stayed the whole time at Il Palazzo very pretty little place.

Room Tip: Trust the owners they will put you in a room to suit if you let them know your preference if possibl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kayeleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilpalazzo, Front Office Manager at Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Kayeleigh,

Thank you very much for writing such a glowing and positive review of Il Palazzo. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in " Tuscany in Cairns ". We all hope that you will come and stay with us again and in the meantime will recommend us to anyone you know who may be coming to Cairns.

With kind regards,
Frances Kelly, Reservations, Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I haven't read a bad review on this property - and for once all the reviews were right - Il Palazzo is the hidden gem of Cairns. Boutique hotel it is - classy, immaculately clean, beautifully maintained and in a fantastic location one street back from the Lagoon - you couldn't ask for more than what they offer. The staff were incredibly professional - from the receptionists to the owners - and very welcoming - nothing was too much trouble. As a single parent family, the ground floor rooms containing washer, dryer, convection microwave and fridge located just in front of the pool were a godsend - just made our stay easy. We will definitely be returning - next time with friends - after our vacation I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else in Cairns. My only warning would be read the instructions in the amenities book for stovetop cooking carefully! - I was very redfaced when I managed to set off the hotel fire alarm - the smoke sensors are EXTREMELY sensitive. Thanks to all at Il Palazzo.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms with easy access to the pool for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizzieHG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilpalazzo, Front Office Manager at Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Lizzie,

Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts on Il Palazzo and for writing such a very positive review - which we really appreciate. We were sorry that you had a leave earlier than planned and do hope that it will not be too long before you can return to stay with us again.

With kind regards,
Frances Kelly, Reservations, Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed in late July for 2 nights - Location was fabulous, close to Esplanade restaurants and supermarket just a short stroll away. Stayed on the top floor overlooking the pool. Staff were friendly and helpful. The ONLY downside was that there were no fans in the room and the bedroom could become stuffy if you didn't have the a/c on. The balcony was tiny, more show than practical and the a/c units made it too noisy to leave the door open for fresh air. But apart from that it was well priced and equipped. Would recommend. But maybe management could update the pool side lounges as they were looking old and the roof top garden had broken furniture.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank triciac91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilpalazzo, Front Office Manager at Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Tricia,

Thank you very much for your feedback, which we always value. Unfortunately, our ceiling heights do not make it possible to have ceiling fans in the rooms. Had you asked, we could have supplied you with a free-standing fan. We have taken into account your comments on the pool and roof top furniture and this will be addressed in due course. Despite these issues, we do hope that you had a very enjoyable stay at Il Palazzo and that you will visit us again at some time in the future.

With kind regards,
Frances Kelly, Reservations, Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

The Il Palazzo is located right in the heart of Cairns, next door to the night markets and a very short walk to the Esplanade. We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel, the room was spotless with everything we needed including washing machine, dryer, stove top, microwave and fridge. Our room was located on the 2nd floor overlooking the pool. The hotel is very quiet even though the hotel is in the heart of the city. All hotel employees were very friendly from the cleaners to the front desk. I would definitely recommend this place to family, friends and anyone planning a trip to Cairns. It is a great location, value for money, excellent service, clean and quiet!

Room Tip: Our room was on 2nd floor overlooking the pool - it was fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SarahF818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilpalazzo, Front Office Manager at Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear Sarah,

Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write such a glowing review of your stay at Il Palazzo, which is really appreciated. We do hope that you will choose to stay with us again if you re-visit Cairns and in the meantime, we would be very pleased if you would recommend us to anyone you know that might be intending to visit Tropical North Queensland.

With kind regards,
Frances Kelly, Reservations, Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
2,287 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
609 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
577 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel

Address: 62 Abbott St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Cairns
Price Range: £94 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Palazzo is a stylish boutique hotel situated in the heart of Cairns. Its prime location means that guests are central to the bustling business district, Casino, Conference Centre, Reef Fleet Terminal, markets and shops. The exciting Esplanade with swimming Lagoon and boardwalk, a plethora of cosmopolitan restaurants and major international hotels are within easy walking distance.Il Palazzo is a modern boutique apartment hotel with stunning neoclassical European inspired architecture featuring cream and terracotta decor, impressive stone sculptures and classical fine wrought iron work throughout.There are 38 fully self-contained one bedroom apartments, each with air-conditioning, a fully equipped kitchen and laundry, a large shady balcony, mini bar, Austar TV, CD/DVD, telephone, in-room safe and daily servicing. We have recently undertaken a partial refurbishment with new carpets, bedcovers, flatscreen TVs and DVDs. Il Palazzo has one of the best locations in Cairns and features a beautiful Mediterranean style courtyard with a landscaped heated swimming pool. There is a roof top sundeck, BBQ area and gazebo. Business services are available as well as a tour desk, dry cleaning, FREE wireless internet and secure undercover parking.The staff take pride in offering guests a personal service and attention to detail is paramount.While visiting one of the most sought after destinations in the world -Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef - stay in a luxury apartment at Il Palazzo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Il Palazzo Boutique Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing