We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Cairns B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2008

This was a very nice hotel. It is nicely located on the main street within walking distance to the Esplanade. The room was clean and big. The kitchen was very convenient. The lobby and the hotel grounds were nice. Transportation to and from the hotel was very easy with the shuttle.

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DCCNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (346)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

273 - 279 of 346 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2008

I cannot but agree with another poster on TripAdvisor who said that the room, the location and the service all exceeded expectations.

We arrived early (about 11am) but that presented no problems at check-in. Our room overlooked the pool at the rear of the hotel and came complete with kitchen.

The pool is a pleasant place to sit and relax.

The hotel does not have a restaurant, but the position in the centre of Cairns means that you are surrounded by masses of excellent restaurants. In fact the position means that you can walk anywhere in Perth. Should you have a car, they have parking (I think the parking in their garage is free)

The front desk, as others have said, are a fount of knowledge on what to do, where to eat, tours, and so on. They genuinely take the time to be helpful.

Value for money was excellent

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moraira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2008

Small, boutique hotel, right in the centre of town. A short walk from the shops, station, night market, reef cruises. Extremely helpful concierge who knew all the best/cheapest tours. We were there in summer and with the high humidity, you want to be within a short walk of most places, and unlike most of the other hotels, this is ideal. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mandelbrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2008

Spent 2 fantastic nights at the hotel. The owners run and manage the hotel and are very helpful. the location is great, its 30 seconds away from all the great restuarants as well as the massive public pool. parking is free and secure. will be going back soon.

  • Stayed: January 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank RyanColombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2008

We had a en suite room on the 4th floor, ocean (pool) view. The layout of the room is very functional, and was very clean. There is construction on the other side of the hotel, so do request a pool facing room.

The hotel is easy walking distance to some great restaurants on the Wharf. Also very close to the Esplanade, but those cafes were crowded and noisy. We had 3 meals at the wharf, all were very good and not too pricey.

Wireless internet is available, but not accessible from all rooms. I had to be outside our room in the exterior hallway. But it was free.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank willie2396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2008

We just stayed here for five nights on a six week trip to Australia.
This hotel is located right in the CBD and within walking distance to everything including the train to Kuranda. You cannot beat the location. The rooms were spacious and clean and the front desk staff was so incredibly helpful. They booked all of our excursions and had the amounts billed directly to our room They could not have made the trip any easier. Definitely ask for a room facing the pool, as there is a construction site across the street. If you face the pool, you cannot hear any of the noise. This is a great hotel and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank manofleisurebos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2008

Everything about this hotel was perfect - the greeting from the receptionist, the room and the location all exceeded our expectations. Our room overlooked the pool at the rear of the hotel, but we didn't notice any construction previously mentioned - having said that we were out most days, and spent only one afternoon by the very relaxing pool and terrace. Beautifully maintained I should add. And ok, you could maybe say that the corrogated building situated behind the pool wasn't the most attractive outlook but that was possibly the only negativity I could pin point. The room was more like a suite, the bedroom was a good size, with a seperate open plan kitchen and lounge, very nicely furnished. The bathroom could be accessed by a door from the entrance corridor and the bedroom. The bathroom cupboard hid a useful washing machine and tumble drier. The kitchen area housed a microwave, hob and large fridge freezer should you want to cater for yourself. But otherwise there is a vast array of restaurants and cafes to eat at. The hotel is perfectly located a short walk from the Esplanade and within a few doors from the night market, which really does come alive after 8pm. There's a food hall there with the normal selection of asian/american/australian sellers and the dining area is kept very clean. We ate there, and also at Barnacle Bill Seafood Restaurant and the Banana Leaf (modern Asian), both on the Esplanade and were fantastic for the quality of food and service.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissVOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.2 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 63 in Cairns
633 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.4 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 63 in Cairns
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel

Address: 62 Abbott St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Cairns
Price Range: £86 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Palazzo is a stylish boutique hotel situated in the heart of Cairns. Its prime location means that guests are central to the bustling business district, Casino, Conference Centre, Reef Fleet Terminal, markets and shops. The exciting Esplanade with swimming Lagoon and boardwalk, a plethora of cosmopolitan restaurants and major international hotels are within easy walking distance.Il Palazzo is a modern boutique apartment hotel with stunning neoclassical European inspired architecture featuring cream and terracotta decor, impressive stone sculptures and classical fine wrought iron work throughout.There are 38 fully self-contained one bedroom apartments, each with air-conditioning, a fully equipped kitchen and laundry, a large shady balcony, mini bar, Austar TV, CD/DVD, telephone, in-room safe and daily servicing. We have recently undertaken a partial refurbishment with new carpets, bedcovers, flatscreen TVs and DVDs. Il Palazzo has one of the best locations in Cairns and features a beautiful Mediterranean style courtyard with a landscaped heated swimming pool. There is a roof top sundeck, BBQ area and gazebo. Business services are available as well as a tour desk, dry cleaning, FREE wireless internet and secure undercover parking.The staff take pride in offering guests a personal service and attention to detail is paramount.While visiting one of the most sought after destinations in the world -Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef - stay in a luxury apartment at Il Palazzo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Il Palazzo Boutique Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing