We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good appartment hotel at a very good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Cairns B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Omer, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Very good appartment hotel at a very good location”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Appartments are large and well maintained and are next door to the night market and the Esplanade. They are cleaned daily (although somewhat lightly). The bathroom is large too and well maintained. Adding a dishwasher to the kitchen could help. The managers (a couple) are very nice and helpful. WiFi internet access is available and free although excruciatingly slow at times.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julo972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilpalazzo, Front Office Manager at Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you very much for your positive and helpful review of Il Palazzo, which is very much appreciated. We have just recently had the free Wi-Fi installed and we seem to be experiencing a few teething troubles just at the moment, which will hopefully be resolved very soon. Daily servicing is meant to be just a light clean rather than a full clean and we do hope that you found this met with your requirements. It was appreciated that you commented on the great location that we enjoy and we do hope that you will recommend us to anyone coming to stay in Cairns.

With kind regards,
Frances Kelly, Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    114
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
57
180
30
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buderim
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I stayed here for seven nights and had a fabulous time. This hotel is beautiful in design with the central atrium contributing to soothing sounds of running water and looks like a little bit of Florence. The apartment I had was on the third floor at the back over looking the pool. It was large with everything you could need and quiet. Amazing considering the central position of this place. It is right next to the night market and a short walk to the Esplanada and the big pools. Lots of restaurants within easy walking distance too. The Managers were friendly and helpful and my car was safe parked underneath. Good quiet airconditioning which is necessary for the hot tropics! I thought it was very good value.

Room Tip: I would request a room at the back facing the pool because the street side could be noisy and one la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie54Buderim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilpalazzo, Front Office Manager at Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you so much for your very positive review of Il Palazzo. We are really pleased that you found everything to your satisfaction, in particular the size and great location of the apartment.
In your tip I notice that you recommend a poolside room. The streetside rooms are in fact equally quiet as they are double glazed and soundproofed and once the doors are closed you do not hear the traffic. We often get requests from guests wishing to stay on this side of the building as they want to watch the world go by! We do hope that your drive home was uneventful and that we shall see you again one day. In the meantime, please recommend us to your friends!

With kind regards,
Frances Kelly, Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights and we had a very restful and pleasant stay. Il Palazzo is right in the middle of town, next to the Night Market and handy to everything one could want.

We had a hire car and thankful for the underground car parking. Our apartment was very comfortable with a good bathroom, bedroom and lounge/kitchen and our bonus was a balcony overlooking the pool area. Although we did not use the pool, it did look inviting. There was a tv and wireless internet available too.

The day manager and the owners were lovely, hospitable people and so helpful during our stay. They booked us on a tour to Kuranda via train and return by skyrail and we did not have to worry about anything as we were picked up from Il Palazzo and driven back at the end of the day. A lovely day.

As we had to attend to some business matters whilst there, the office was all too wiling to assist us in emails, scanning etc.

We would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Cairns.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelbourneJade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilpalazzo, Front Office Manager at Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review on Il Palazzo - this is very much appreciated and of great assistance to potential guests when choosing where to stay in Cairns. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and that the property suited all of your requirements. We do hope that you will have the opportunity to come and stay with us again and we shall look forward to welcoming you back.

With kind regards,
Frances Kelly
Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night and it was just great. The hotel is located on the second street from the Esplanade which is nice and gets you away from most tourists. The interior is not that modern but highly functional. The couple that owns the hotel is very friendly and helpful.

Definitely recommendable.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilpalazzo, Front Office Manager at Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Thank you very much for submitting a review to TripAdvisor, which is really appreciated. We are only sorry that you were not able to stay with us for longer and do hope that we shall see you at Il Palazzo again one day.

With kind regards,

Frances Kelly
Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights , was very convenient 3 shops up from the night markets and close to all the eateries. Very helpful and friendly staff.. Pool was ok for a quick cool off .Parking was great under the building. Its not 5 star but good value.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2012kaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilpalazzo, Front Office Manager at Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, which we always appreciate as this is so helpful for people looking to stay in a central location in Cairns. We are so pleased that you found the staff to be helpful and friendly as this is something that we place great emphasis upon. We are of course fortunate to be able to offer a pool that is heated in winter, which is fairly unusual in Cairns but of great benefit, particularly to elderly people. Free parking in the centre of a city is of course a great bonus! We do not claim to be 5 star but we are pleased to be able to offer 4 star clean and comfortable accommodation in a great location. We do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Il Palazzo at some time in the future.

With kind regards,
Frances Kelly, Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

There are so many factors which make "Il Palazzo" the perfect choice when looking for accommodation in Cairns. The management, the reception staff, the cleaning staff, the cleanliness, the location of the Hotel and there are plenty more. Nothing is more than 3 or 4 blocks away, this includes food, activities and shops, plus of course the Lagoon and Muddy's. Staying at Il Palazzo for us is like coming home, its inviting, friendly, warm and above all comfortable for the kids. The kids love everything about the Hotel, from the pool to all the staff. They even love the lift (it's a kids thing). Il Palazzo is nothing short of perfect for families and even couples, its quiet and its location is second to none. All this (plus heaps more) make it the best value accommodation option when in Cairns. Thank You. Best Regards, Rob & Maria and the boys. (Alessandro & Daniele). See you again soon.

Room Tip: Whether you ask for a room facing the pool or not, whether on level 1, 2 or 3 - all rooms are comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilpalazzo, Front Office Manager at Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Rob and Maria,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a glowing review for Il Palazzo, which is really appreciated. This is a great help to people looking for somewhere central to stay in Cairns. From what you have said, we presume that we must be doing something right as you have stayed with us so many times! We always look forward to your visits and to watching the boys growing up and in response we might say that you are the perfect guests!
Wishing you all a very Happy Christmas and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Frances Kelly, Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

We chose the no service option. There was a long list of extra charges for toilet paper, dish and laundry soap etc. The price was very reasonable and the location was good. The front desk was helpful when the regular staff were present. The front is unassuming and the rooms are dated and somewhat awkwardly laid out. The Wi-Fi was laborious to access but worked readonbly well. Certainly not a conventional inn or B&B...

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CVHBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilpalazzo, Front Office Manager at Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. Indeed, the prices are very reasonable for an inner city apartment in such a great location, particularly if, like yourself, you chose to have no daily servicing. We have been aware that the Wi-Fi has been somewhat laborious to access at times and we are currently in the process of replacing the whole system so that we will be able to offer easy access to free Wi-Fi to all guests in their rooms. We are delighted to hear that you found the front office staff to be very helpful to you. We place great emphasis on offering our guests assistance to ensure that their stay is as comfortable as possible.

With kind regards,
Frances Kelly, Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
1.2 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.2 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
509 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
2,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel

Property: Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel
Address: 62 Abbott St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Palazzo is a stylish boutique hotel situated in the heart of Cairns. Its prime location means that guests are central to the bustling business district, Casino, Conference Centre, Reef Fleet Terminal, markets and shops. The exciting Esplanade with swimming Lagoon and boardwalk, a plethora of cosmopolitan restaurants and major international hotels are within easy walking distance.Il Palazzo is a modern boutique apartment hotel with stunning neoclassical European inspired architecture featuring cream and terracotta decor, impressive stone sculptures and classical fine wrought iron work throughout.There are 38 fully self-contained one bedroom apartments, each with air-conditioning, a fully equipped kitchen and laundry, a large shady balcony, mini bar, Austar TV, CD/DVD, telephone, in-room safe and daily servicing. We have recently undertaken a partial refurbishment with new carpets, bedcovers, flatscreen TVs and DVDs. Il Palazzo has one of the best locations in Cairns and features a beautiful Mediterranean style courtyard with a landscaped heated swimming pool. There is a roof top sundeck, BBQ area and gazebo. Business services are available as well as a tour desk, dry cleaning, FREE wireless internet and secure undercover parking.The staff take pride in offering guests a personal service and attention to detail is paramount.While visiting one of the most sought after destinations in the world -Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef - stay in a luxury apartment at Il Palazzo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Il Palazzo Boutique Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing