We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great establishment!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel
Ranked #2 of 14 Cairns B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed over the Easter weekend and had an awesome time. The apartment staff were very friendly and helpful, the location is fantastic only 100 meters from shields st and our room on the 3rd floor had a view of the pool and the ocean. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable and the wifi in the room worked well.
All round we had a fantastic time and would highly recommend il palazzo to stay at.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank baz_always_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilpalazzo, Front Office Manager at Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Hi Baz,

Thank you so much for writing such a positive review of Il Palazzo, which is really appreciated. We are so pleased that you had such a great time in Cairns and that the apartment met with all of your expectations. You are right, it is great accommodation in a fantastic location with free Wi-Fi a big bonus! We do hope that you will come and stay with us again and recommend us to your friends.

With kind regards,
Frances Kelly, Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

161 - 167 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

Super self catering apartments with laundry facilities and parking.
Excellent, truly excellent reception: Frances and Donovan. They did over and above their roles.
Clean, practical accommodation, central for everything.
Lovely pool should you have time. . . .

Room Tip: Facing the pool, a bit quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank juliebarrett1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilpalazzo, Front Office Manager at Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Julie,

Thank you so much for the glowing report you wrote on Il Palazzo, which is really appreciated. We are so pleased that the hotel met with or even exceeded your expectations, which is what we constantly endeavour to achieve for our guests. It was a pleasure having you to stay with us and we do hope that you will recommend us to others given the opportunity.

With kind regards,
Frances Kelly, Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Found this place on Hotels.com and was not disappointed. Great location, handy to everything.
The accommodation is in very good condition, no complaints there.
Were shown up to our room and had everything explained, which rarely happens these days.
If there were any negatives it would be that the WiFi reception is very unreliable but was complimentary so didn't bother me so much.
Apartment itself was big enough for two people possibly 3 at a pinch.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Viiking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilpalazzo, Front Office Manager at Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you so much for your 'excellent' review of Il Palazzo which is really appreciated. We are so pleased that you were not disappointed with your choice and that you found the apartment to be in a great location, clean and comfortable. We are experiencing some difficulties with the free Wi-Fi and hope to have this rectified as soon as possible. We make it a policy to show guests to their rooms if they have not stayed with us before as we like to answer all initial queries and show guests how things work to enhance their experience of staying with us. We do hope that you will come to stay with us again at some future date!

With kind regards,
Frances Kelly, Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Appartments are large and well maintained and are next door to the night market and the Esplanade. They are cleaned daily (although somewhat lightly). The bathroom is large too and well maintained. Adding a dishwasher to the kitchen could help. The managers (a couple) are very nice and helpful. WiFi internet access is available and free although excruciatingly slow at times.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julo972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilpalazzo, Front Office Manager at Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you very much for your positive and helpful review of Il Palazzo, which is very much appreciated. We have just recently had the free Wi-Fi installed and we seem to be experiencing a few teething troubles just at the moment, which will hopefully be resolved very soon. Daily servicing is meant to be just a light clean rather than a full clean and we do hope that you found this met with your requirements. It was appreciated that you commented on the great location that we enjoy and we do hope that you will recommend us to anyone coming to stay in Cairns.

With kind regards,
Frances Kelly, Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I stayed here for seven nights and had a fabulous time. This hotel is beautiful in design with the central atrium contributing to soothing sounds of running water and looks like a little bit of Florence. The apartment I had was on the third floor at the back over looking the pool. It was large with everything you could need and quiet. Amazing considering the central position of this place. It is right next to the night market and a short walk to the Esplanada and the big pools. Lots of restaurants within easy walking distance too. The Managers were friendly and helpful and my car was safe parked underneath. Good quiet airconditioning which is necessary for the hot tropics! I thought it was very good value.

Room Tip: I would request a room at the back facing the pool because the street side could be noisy and one la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie54Buderim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilpalazzo, Front Office Manager at Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you so much for your very positive review of Il Palazzo. We are really pleased that you found everything to your satisfaction, in particular the size and great location of the apartment.
In your tip I notice that you recommend a poolside room. The streetside rooms are in fact equally quiet as they are double glazed and soundproofed and once the doors are closed you do not hear the traffic. We often get requests from guests wishing to stay on this side of the building as they want to watch the world go by! We do hope that your drive home was uneventful and that we shall see you again one day. In the meantime, please recommend us to your friends!

With kind regards,
Frances Kelly, Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights and we had a very restful and pleasant stay. Il Palazzo is right in the middle of town, next to the Night Market and handy to everything one could want.

We had a hire car and thankful for the underground car parking. Our apartment was very comfortable with a good bathroom, bedroom and lounge/kitchen and our bonus was a balcony overlooking the pool area. Although we did not use the pool, it did look inviting. There was a tv and wireless internet available too.

The day manager and the owners were lovely, hospitable people and so helpful during our stay. They booked us on a tour to Kuranda via train and return by skyrail and we did not have to worry about anything as we were picked up from Il Palazzo and driven back at the end of the day. A lovely day.

As we had to attend to some business matters whilst there, the office was all too wiling to assist us in emails, scanning etc.

We would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Cairns.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelbourneJade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilpalazzo, Front Office Manager at Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review on Il Palazzo - this is very much appreciated and of great assistance to potential guests when choosing where to stay in Cairns. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and that the property suited all of your requirements. We do hope that you will have the opportunity to come and stay with us again and we shall look forward to welcoming you back.

With kind regards,
Frances Kelly
Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night and it was just great. The hotel is located on the second street from the Esplanade which is nice and gets you away from most tourists. The interior is not that modern but highly functional. The couple that owns the hotel is very friendly and helpful.

Definitely recommendable.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nicholas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilpalazzo, Front Office Manager at Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Thank you very much for submitting a review to TripAdvisor, which is really appreciated. We are only sorry that you were not able to stay with us for longer and do hope that we shall see you at Il Palazzo again one day.

With kind regards,

Frances Kelly
Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
2,285 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
609 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
577 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel

Address: 62 Abbott St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Cairns
Price Range: £94 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Palazzo is a stylish boutique hotel situated in the heart of Cairns. Its prime location means that guests are central to the bustling business district, Casino, Conference Centre, Reef Fleet Terminal, markets and shops. The exciting Esplanade with swimming Lagoon and boardwalk, a plethora of cosmopolitan restaurants and major international hotels are within easy walking distance.Il Palazzo is a modern boutique apartment hotel with stunning neoclassical European inspired architecture featuring cream and terracotta decor, impressive stone sculptures and classical fine wrought iron work throughout.There are 38 fully self-contained one bedroom apartments, each with air-conditioning, a fully equipped kitchen and laundry, a large shady balcony, mini bar, Austar TV, CD/DVD, telephone, in-room safe and daily servicing. We have recently undertaken a partial refurbishment with new carpets, bedcovers, flatscreen TVs and DVDs. Il Palazzo has one of the best locations in Cairns and features a beautiful Mediterranean style courtyard with a landscaped heated swimming pool. There is a roof top sundeck, BBQ area and gazebo. Business services are available as well as a tour desk, dry cleaning, FREE wireless internet and secure undercover parking.The staff take pride in offering guests a personal service and attention to detail is paramount.While visiting one of the most sought after destinations in the world -Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef - stay in a luxury apartment at Il Palazzo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Il Palazzo Boutique Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing