We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“tropical”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Cairns B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“tropical”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

this place is a pleasure to stay at ,its location to every thing is great, free parking , free wifi even thought a bit weak and erratic .No smoking rooms (apartments ) only on balcony but worse luck i had smokers either side my balcony i am a non smoker couldnt sit on mine or open the balcony door ( make all area no smoking or smok in the garage area or street ) a few minor things but this place is well worth staying at if your lucky to be able to get a booking ,

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wayne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilpalazzo, Front Office Manager at Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Good morning Wayne,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Il Palazzo, which we really appreciate. We are so sorry that you had smokers on the balconies either side of you and do understand how annoying that would have been - had you mentioned it to us, we could have tried to move you to an alternative room, despite the fact that we were fully booked at the time! We constantly strive to have the Wi-Fi improved as we are aware that it is a bit inconsistent at times but at least it is free and with time it will only get better! It seems that otherwise you enjoyed your stay, would choose to stay with us again and are happy to recommend us to other people, which speaks for itself!

With kind regards,
Frances Kelly, Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    111
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
56
175
30
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Oswego, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We spent one night at Il Palazzo during out three weeks in Queensland. The location was perfect for our needs and although in the middle of the action, it was very quiet sleeping. The managers were so helpful, personally showing us the apartment, even how to turn on the TV. What a bonus to find a washer/dryer in the unit! They gave us a recommendation for a restaurant (Barnacle Bills) and let us park our car in the garage all of the next day while we were out on a reef tour, saving us money and time. We would highly recommend this location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilpalazzo, Front Office Manager at Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Kim,

Thank you so much for your very positive review of Il Palazzo, which is very much appreciated. We are so pleased that the hotel met with and even exceeded your expectations. I agree with you that it is a real bonus to have a washing machine and dryer in the apartment. We do always do our utmost to make our guests feel welcome and comfortable as soon as they arrive. What a pity that you were only able to stay for one night! Maybe we shall see you again if you come to Cairns at some time in the future.

With kind regards,

Frances Kelly, Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitehorse
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Staying at Il Palazzo was a pleasure from start to finish. From Donovan's warm greeting, personal escort to the room, to touring advice and making actual bookings (no commission!), we loved every minute. Cairn's famous esplanade and public lagoon/pool are a very short walk away. Il Palazzo's heated pool with lovely deck area was a delightful way to relax and unwind. We greatly appreciated the in-room washer and dryer, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, etc. We did not take advantage of the kitchen facilities, other than the refirgerator. The room was clean and comfortable in every way. We would definitely stay at Il Palazzo again, and we recommend it unreservedly.

Regarding tours, you will notice several tour agencies in downtown Cairns that use the international standard letter I to indicate "Information". This is in fact somewhat misleading. These are not government tourist information centres but private businesses that charge a commission for any bookings you might make. I am not at all against private enterprise, but you can, of course, make your own bookings directly. As mentioned above, we were really pleased that Donovan booked us into a Great Barrier Reef trip without charging us a commission. Snorkeling on the Reef was one of the highlights of my life.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karenyukon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilpalazzo, Front Office Manager at Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Karen,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review of Il Palazzo and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. This type of review is extremely helpful to people looking for somewhere to stay in an unknown city. As you mention, our apartments are extremely comfortable and well appointed and in a particularly convenient location. Our staff are always friendly and welcoming and happy to assist with tour bookings or anything else that will help the guests to enjoy their stay and want to come again. We very much look forward to your next visit!

With kind regards,
Frances Kelly, Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed for six nights over the June long weekend for the Ironman. We were given apartment 25 overlooking the pool and were delighted with our stay. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome. The apartment was spacious, well equipped and clean. The bed was very comfortable and we made good use of the heated pool. A couple of things that other reviewers have mentioned: the wi-fi was pretty slow at times and the bathroom is about due for a renovation, but we were still very happy. One street back from the Esplanade and very quiet, it was a great location. Frances and Donovan on reception were extremely helpful too. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilpalazzo, Front Office Manager at Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Hi Tina,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review of your stay at Il Palazzo. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much and had such a great time in Cairns.
Since your visit, we have boosted the Wi-Fi to improve performance. The refurbishment of kitchens and bathrooms is currently on the drawing board!

We do hope to see you here again - maybe for the next Ironman!

With kind regards,
Frances Kelly, Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

If your travelling for Business or Pleasure this is the place to stay in Cairns . I have been staying here for more than 10 years and the Service with the friendly on site managers why would you stay anywhere else .
They are great one bedroom apartments with washing machines and dryers in every apartment great to come home too after a day on the reef or a hard day doing business in Cairns. They are located in the centre of Cairns close to the Esplanade and Night Markets with lots of local restaurants at your door step .
Don't look anywhere else.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Shane_Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilpalazzo, Front Office Manager at Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Hi Shane,

Thank you so much for your very positive review of Il Palazzo, which is really valued. I think the fact that you have stayed with us so often and you are a discerning guest speaks for itself! You have stayed in the best of accommodation all over the world and you still come back to stay with
us..... We look forward to your next visit.

With kind regards,

Frances Kelly, Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorpe Bay
Level Contributor
140 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights in May. Very central location one block back from the beach. Two minutes walk to a Woolworths and BWS for supplies. Frances the receptionist was so helpful and booked our trips for us, a real credit to the hotel. The apartments are nice with everything you need including a washer and dryer. Book one overlooking the pool as the ones overlooking the road would be quite noisy. Only niggle was the air con was not very efficient.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynkayLangdonHills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilpalazzo, Front Office Manager at Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you so much for your very helpful review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Il Palazzo last month. I am wondering if you reported the air-con to us as we should have called the technician in to check it out if we had known that it was not working efficiently. As a
matter of interest, the rooms on the roadside of the building are not noisy at all if the balcony doors are closed as they are double glazed.

We do hope that you will choose to stay at Il Palazzo and that you will recommend us to your friends.

With kind regards,
Frances Kelly, Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Really outstanding in terms of location and value. Friendly and accommodating owners are a pleasure to deal with and always helpful. The suites are elegant and quite large - more like small apartments than hotel rooms. My fourth-floor 'room' had a kitchenette and a balcony overlooking the pool. There was also laundry facilities neatly tucked away behind a door in the bathroom. Bed was very comfy, bathroom huge. However, WiFi was terrible - worse than useless because you don't have to wait so long for useless. Items in the minibar, such as orange juice, were past their use-by date. No exhaust fan in the bathroom but it didn't matter much. No television in the bedroom. No 'do not disturb' sign to hang on the door if I want to sleep in. Basically a really nice place to stay, just let down by a lack of attention to small details and painfully slow internet. (Slow internet was mentioned in a previous review and there was a reply stating that they're working on it. Well, it's still not fixed.)

I really hope the owners can attend to these small items as this was a lovely place to stay and deserves to rate well.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the coast are not going to get you good views. The hotel is 3 storeys high, and not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewQuested
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilpalazzo, Front Office Manager at Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for your very detailed feedback on your stay at Il Palazzo and we are pleased that overall you enjoyed your time here, although it was enforced as you were unable to fly for a few days.

Since you have left, the technician has been in and fixed up the Wi-Fi which appears to be working well now. We have addressed the issue over the out-of date item in your mini-bar. Although the building design does not include an extractor fan in the bathroom, this does not appear to have caused any problems or inconvenience to our guests that we know of. Sorry that there is no TV in the bedroom!

Your review is very important to us as we need to know of any guest concerns so that the problems can be addressed and we thank you for your time.

With kind regards,
Frances Kelly, Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.2 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,155 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.4 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel

Property: Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel
Address: 62 Abbott St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Palazzo is a stylish boutique hotel situated in the heart of Cairns. Its prime location means that guests are central to the bustling business district, Casino, Conference Centre, Reef Fleet Terminal, markets and shops. The exciting Esplanade with swimming Lagoon and boardwalk, a plethora of cosmopolitan restaurants and major international hotels are within easy walking distance.Il Palazzo is a modern boutique apartment hotel with stunning neoclassical European inspired architecture featuring cream and terracotta decor, impressive stone sculptures and classical fine wrought iron work throughout.There are 38 fully self-contained one bedroom apartments, each with air-conditioning, a fully equipped kitchen and laundry, a large shady balcony, mini bar, Austar TV, CD/DVD, telephone, in-room safe and daily servicing. We have recently undertaken a partial refurbishment with new carpets, bedcovers, flatscreen TVs and DVDs. Il Palazzo has one of the best locations in Cairns and features a beautiful Mediterranean style courtyard with a landscaped heated swimming pool. There is a roof top sundeck, BBQ area and gazebo. Business services are available as well as a tour desk, dry cleaning, FREE wireless internet and secure undercover parking.The staff take pride in offering guests a personal service and attention to detail is paramount.While visiting one of the most sought after destinations in the world -Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef - stay in a luxury apartment at Il Palazzo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Il Palazzo Boutique Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing