We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Cairns B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cairns
1 review
“Superb!”
Reviewed 8 September 2009

It was all beautiful. Clean and relaxing that made my trip a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cooldude2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    108
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
55
173
30
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2009

I visited Cairns with my sister and we stayed one night at Il Palazzo Hotel. We had no hassles with check-in. The lady at front desk was helpful although a little reserved and not very social. Our room was nice, fully contained kitchen, separate bedroom, located on the 2nd floor overlooking the main street. Note we didn't have any special views - although the bats in the trees across the road were loud and entertaining at dusk and dawn. In summary it is a nice hotel, interiors are tuscan style - clean, modern and nice bedding too. We had a nice stay although leaving early in the morning to get to the airport wasn't a good idea. I recommend this hotel however is a bit on the expensive side for what you get.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanaMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2009

My son and I were very impressed with Il Palazzo during our stay in early July. They are located in the middle of everything but we were never bothered by street noise. Our room was on the back side of the building with a view of the pool and coastal mountains in the distance. The spacious unit had a bedroom, bathroom, laundry closet with washer/dryer, kitchenette, breakfast nook, living room, and balcony. Since this was halfway through the trip we needed laundry facilities, and being in-room meant we weren't stuck in a public laundry area waiting for our clothes.

As others have mentioned, the Night Market is a few paces away, the swim lagoon is a 5 minute walk, and the Reef Terminal where GBR tours depart is a 15 minute walk. A Woolworth down the street has groceries, laundry detergent, and general merchandise. Cairns Central is a culturally shocking American-style mall a 10 minute walk away. It contains the usual collection of bland US chain stores, but the Target and two supermarkets in the mall may be handy. The Cairns station for the Kuranda RR is also in the mall.

The washer and dryer are medium capacity by US standards. The equipment and the entire room were very clean and daily housekeeping was provided (some managed apartments in Oz are not serviced daily).

Wifi in the rooms is through a third party that you pay for separately. Parking underneath the building is free for guests. The property is well-secured at night and there does seem to be a crime element in Cairns judging by security bars over windows in many buildings. Unfortunately the room locks are keys with a lock in the center of the knob. Easy to break or pick; the deadbolt can only be set from inside. At midnight on our last night we were startled awake when the fire alarm suddenly blared through a speaker in the bathroom (at least it worked)! It took a minute of stumbling in the dark before we realized what was going on . The alarm was through the entire property and was shut off after a few minutes.

The managers and staff are all very friendly and full of suggestions on tours, dining, etc. They can arrange tours- sure, they get a commission but don't charge extra, so why not give them a cut? Il Palazzo is a great value and you won't be disappointed if you want 3.5 to 4-star lodgings.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2009

My wife and I stayed at Il Palazzo for 2 nights during May and we really enjoyed our time there. The location which is right next to the Night Markets and the Esplanade is excellent. You can get anywhere you want in just a few minutes. While close to action, Il Palazzo is a nice quiet hotel with decent sized rooms and fantastic employees. The staff is extremely helpful with recommending activities and are available to book anything you might want. Check out the Heritage bar on Spence Street for some good food values and great house drinks.

Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AndrewMichaelZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2009

We stayed at the Il Palazzo a week ago, in the month of May. The rooms are begining to show there age and look a bit dated. The location is central and right next to the night markets, even though the nigh markets where a big disappointment. My only complaints was that if you wanted to use the in room safe you where required to pay a small fee for the key at the front office, at least that what it said in the in room guide. Also I felt the room wasnt that clean, especially the bathroom, it could have been to the age of the room.

If your on a budget and need to stay in Cairns then I suggest you stay here, if you can travel a bit then head to Port Douglas where the hotels/apartments are a bit nicer and the town is nicer as well.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chunet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
254 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2009

Great Location, handy to everything, stayed in room on three floor was very clean and comfortable. Check in was efficient and friendly. Pool was refreshing. Staff always willing to help. Will go back and stay at the Il Palazzo in September.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amandamaree21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2009

Well equipped self-contained apartment. Travelled with a toddler. Heated pool, and jacuzzi, cable channels, dvd player in the room, washer & drier, bath, cheap internet Quiet road but couldn't be more central for the lagoon, restaurants and night markets. Very good value for money!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anauk09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.2 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
554 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
2,127 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.4 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel

Property: Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel
Address: 62 Abbott St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Palazzo is a stylish boutique hotel situated in the heart of Cairns. Its prime location means that guests are central to the bustling business district, Casino, Conference Centre, Reef Fleet Terminal, markets and shops. The exciting Esplanade with swimming Lagoon and boardwalk, a plethora of cosmopolitan restaurants and major international hotels are within easy walking distance.Il Palazzo is a modern boutique apartment hotel with stunning neoclassical European inspired architecture featuring cream and terracotta decor, impressive stone sculptures and classical fine wrought iron work throughout.There are 38 fully self-contained one bedroom apartments, each with air-conditioning, a fully equipped kitchen and laundry, a large shady balcony, mini bar, Austar TV, CD/DVD, telephone, in-room safe and daily servicing. We have recently undertaken a partial refurbishment with new carpets, bedcovers, flatscreen TVs and DVDs. Il Palazzo has one of the best locations in Cairns and features a beautiful Mediterranean style courtyard with a landscaped heated swimming pool. There is a roof top sundeck, BBQ area and gazebo. Business services are available as well as a tour desk, dry cleaning, FREE wireless internet and secure undercover parking.The staff take pride in offering guests a personal service and attention to detail is paramount.While visiting one of the most sought after destinations in the world -Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef - stay in a luxury apartment at Il Palazzo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Il Palazzo Boutique Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing