We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unhappy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Ranked #9 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Canberra ACT 2615
1
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Amazed there was No Mini Bar for an ACCOR Hotel?
Lifts inconveniently placed?
If you order a cooked breakfast you have to sit separately from other breakfast guests?
Too long of a wait for romm to be cleaned?

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHsideGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2011

Dear Tripadvisor member,

I would like thank you for the opportunity to your respond to your comments and also apologise for not meeting your expectations.

With regards to Mini bar, the hotel does offer a 24 hour room service so that all our guests have the option to choose from a wide selection in the bar. The removal of mini bar was the consequence of guest feedback so if we feel that demand has changed we are more than happy to review. With regards to breakfast, guests are given the option to choose a full buffet breakfast or alternatively the continental buffet; I will discuss your comment with my Food and Beverage Manager, but when guests arrive for the breakfast we avoid allocate seating and allow our guests the option to select where they would like to sit. With regards to the cleaning of rooms, generally check in is 2pm, but we do try to accommodate earlier subject to availability.

Once again I would like to thank you for your feedback and look forward to your return to Cairns.

Kind regards


Shane Edwards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,151 - 1,157 of 1,416 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Brisbane
1
Reviewed 22 July 2011

I did request a ocean view room but was given a total opposite. The bed was the most uncomfortable bed I have slept in as my husband and I woke up with very aching bodies. We travel alot and this was the worst bed. Everything else was good. Walking distance to the shops etc. was alittle too far. The walkway on the beach is relaxing! The breakfast in the mornings is very nice and the staff a very friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHsideGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2011

Dear Trip Advisor member,

Thank you for taking your time to post a comment on Trip advisor. I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for not meeting your expectations on this occasion.

I have discussed your comments with my Front Office Manager regarding the allocation of your room. It is disappointing that we were unable to meet your request on the first night of your stay.

Thank you once again for your feedback and giving the hotel the opportunity to respond.

Kind regards,


Shane Edwards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

we gave this hotel a second chance, but again unfortunately it let us down badly.
The matresses are "shot" no sleep again!! the matresses was so soggy it felt like your bum was on the floor whilst your head and feet were touching.
The shower curtains resisted in wraping around you whilst we tried to shower.

Our LAST visit to this property

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregg-and-Annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHsideGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2011

Dear Trip Advisor member,

Thank you for taking your time to post a comment on Trip advisor. I am sorry that your last stay was not enjoyable due to the difficulty you had with sleeping.

I will review your comments with my Executive Housekeeper and her team so that we can follow up accordingly. I must admit it is sometimes difficult to know exactly what type of bed our guests prefer. The hotel receives many positive comments about our beds since they were replaced.

Your feedback is very important to us and allows us the opportunity to investigate and address any concerns.

Kind regards,


Shane Edwards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Accor traveller
Thursday Island
1
Reviewed 22 July 2011

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MercureHsideGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2011

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Was good but would not stay again, need a gym room.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EvgeniandKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

We spent our last night in Cairns at the Mercure Harbourside as we thought it was close to the city centre plus we were offered a discount rate by Accor. For the discount price the hotel was OK for one night but if I was returning to Cairns or paying a higher price then I would definitely stay somewhere else. We had to drive to the restaurant strip and though the harbour front location was nice it was a bit out of the way. The building is probably 30 years old at least and though there have been some cosmetic improvements the place still seemed like a step back in time. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful and the one bedroom suite was quite roomy (apart from the small, older style bathroom) and a good size for our family of four. However our main problem was when we went down for breakfast. We had securely closed our room door but when we returned from breakfast the door was wide open and all our belongings including phones, wallets, laptops etc., were there for the taking. There was an army of cleaners working on the other rooms and another guest going up in the lift with us has been told she had left belongings in her room so I guess they were checking all the rooms. When we checked out and I told reception they were annoyed but not entirely surprised. I don't mind a cleaner checking our room but leaving the room door wedged open - that is really bad form.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Loulee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Would stay here again if this hotel had a gym room.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EvgeniandKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
1.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.2 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 63 in Cairns
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 63 in Cairns
2,331 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 63 in Cairns
1,152 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside

Address: 209-217 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £61 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside! Formerly known as Mercure Cairns Harbourside, located on The Esplanade and overlooking beautiful Trinity Bay, Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside is a popular retreat for both holidaymakers and business guests. Surrounded by lush tropical gardens and boasting breathtaking ocean and hinterland views, the Holiday Inn Cairns offers 173 stylishly appointed rooms, each with its own private balcony. Guests can also enjoy a range of hotel amenities and services, including Teshi's Restaurant, Blue Mango Café Wine Bar, swimming pool and spa, 24-hour room service, 24-hour business centre, free CBD shuttle, and more. Just a short stroll into town along The Esplanade and less than 10 minutes drive from Cairns Airport, the Holiday Inn Cairns is the perfect place for you to relax and unwind in tropical North Queensland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, IHG, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Cairns Harbourside Hotel Cairns
Accor Cairns Harbourside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing