We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Ranked #10 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Good value”
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Good value, a bit far from the city centre (important if you dont have a car), clean, but very poor restaurant food (especially dinner, high price and very poor quality & service). But breakfast buffet was very good and very good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    402
    653
    234
    52
    18
See reviews for
294
604
127
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Stay in a sea view king bed room, it's worth the extra cost to be up a few floors with a big room and balcony with glass sliding doors and windows that go the entire way across the outward facing part of the room (rather than many hotel rooms with 'views' that have relatively small window areas).

Overall quite happy but there were some small cons to go with the pros.

Harbourside Mercure is about 1.2km out of the city centre, which is walking distance. A free hotel shuttle does run to/from the city every hour 10am-10pm, but you can't totally rely on it because one night (a Thursday at 9pm) there were almost 3 times as many people as seats on the shuttle, so we taxied back to the hotel.

Staff were almost universally very friendly, except the main waiter the night we eat at the hotel, he just seemed a bit aloof or something. Great friendly and informative reception from Dickie at the main desk when we finally arrived after a delayed flight.

Breakfasts were good. Dinner I wasn't impressed with really. There didn't seem to be much of an X factor and flavours were weak. Grilled Haloumi in the mixed mezzes was very rubbery. Tasmanian Salmon itself was nice but having only one piece of bok choy and a bit of soy sauce as an accompanyment somehow made a bit of a watery effect overall. My partner's Saffron Linguine was too wet & messy, not that flavoursome, and should have come with a spoon to twirl the pasta against.

Last small negative is the king bed was two singles attached, as is often the case in hotels, however you really could notice the 'seam' and it was not possible to cuddle up together in the middle of the bed and sleep. We had to stay on our separate sides which might be fine for some folk but we like to be fairly close.

Nevertheless overall would rate the hotel at least 3.5 hence giving it 4. Would stay again but probably wouldn't eat dinner at the restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glennomeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Front of house hotel staff were great, room service was terrible the quality of food was not worth the cost, also food was served cold. The location is a bit out of the way but happy to use the hotel bus service.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Great hotel, right in front of the ocean.
Renovated and modern room.
Very friendly staff.
Good breakfast

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LudoSydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Very good to see the same staff at reception when checking in.
Its very re-assuring to see a low turnover in staff. Obviously they are as happy as they want their clients to be. The only suggestion / request that i would to make is - Please get some updated remote controls for the televisions and also make sure they have a sleep timer function. With regards to the room, i was actually placed within a room that had a bathroom designed for wheelchair access. This does not present a major problem for the purpose of my very short visit, but if it were a leisure trip, i may have been a little uncomfortable. Mainly due to the access chair left in the shower and also the low height and tilted angle of the mirror. Im 6'3" and i had to bend over to see myself in the mirror to shave.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
1.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.2 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 64 in Cairns
1,093 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
1.3 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
2,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside

Property: Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Address: 209-217 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside! Formerly known as Mercure Cairns Harbourside, located on The Esplanade and overlooking beautiful Trinity Bay, Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside is a popular retreat for both holidaymakers and business guests. Surrounded by lush tropical gardens and boasting breathtaking ocean and hinterland views, the Holiday Inn Cairns offers 173 stylishly appointed rooms, each with its own private balcony. Guests can also enjoy a range of hotel amenities and services, including Teshi's Restaurant, Café Wine Bar, swimming pool and spa, 24-hour room service, 24-hour business centre, free CBD shuttle, and more. Just a short stroll into town along The Esplanade and less than 10 minutes drive from Cairns Airport, the Holiday Inn Cairns is the perfect place for you to relax and unwind in tropical North Queensland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Cairns Harbourside Hotel Cairns
Accor Cairns Harbourside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing