We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good base for travelling”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Ranked #9 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2008

Stayed in this Hotel in late January.

The location is a little along the Esplanade but it is a nice 20 minute walk along to the centre of town, there is a nice cafe selling good Fish and Chips on the way. We did try the Hotel Minibus a couple of times but always seem to miss it.

I had paid a little more for a harbour view (got Room 428) but there was also a view of the car park. I think all the rooms with a 'full' view' of the harbour in the other block must have been taken. There was still the issue of bottles being emptied into bins and bins being emptied that a previous reviewer had mentioned but I dont know how you can really prevent this. We spent so little time in the room that we let it go.

I booked a couple of tours through reception and these were good. Lisha on reception was excellent and met all our requirements and even found the cheapest tours. All the staff we dealt with were courteous and helpful.

We didn't really use the Restaurant but went for bar snacks as I am not really into too fancy food. The potato wedges were excellent and impossible to finish. We had breakfast a couple of times and it was all very good.

The internet down in reception was good value but in the room it did seem a little pricey unless you used it a lot.

I took the advice from a previous reviewer and paid in Aus dollars rather than my own currency as the difference was about 15%. They offered me both options and clearly showed the rates so the choice is yours.

I would stay again but make sure I got the full harbour view.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank MattCEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,424)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,301 - 1,307 of 1,424 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2008

We spent 1 night here before going out on our overnight reef trip and 1 when we returned before flying out. It is a good enough hotel for such purposes but I wouldn't go there as a destination. Room was ok but air conditioning ineffective and there was no bathroom fan as others have mentioned. Front desk staff very helpful. Appreciated that they gave us a room on the top floor on both occassions.Great views and space to sun if we had been there in the daytime. Found it strange that the restaurant wanted us make reservations instead of drop by. Probably to do with staffing but it was not busy ( at all and we wanted to be spontaneous. Did not care for the dinner menu. Very pleased that they had a laundry room downstairs. If you go down town be sure you know where the shuttle picks you up. I waited and waited in the wrong location(s) and finally walked back.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brenda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2007

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank dantaylor123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2007

Booked hotel counting on using their shuttle bus into town. As it happened, the bus was always full (only seats 9 and we are a family of 7 people) and only ran once every hour. As the hotel was full, we never had the opportunity to get a ride in the bus - we always walked to and from town. Just think how tired we all were on the day we returned from our trip to the Great Barrier Reef! Would stay at a place closer to town on a future trip.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank isla-soleada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHsideGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2007

Thankyou very much for your feedback.

You are correct, our complimentary courtesy bus is a nine seater. It does the journey to the city centre, of just over a kilometre ever hour.

It is surprising to hear that you were unable to catch the bus, even given your group size. Our guests regularly comment on how flexible our team are on return trips to collect larger groups from town.

We appreciate that our location is not going to please everyone, in the same way a hotel in a noisy city centre will not.

Most of our customers love our location, in particular the views from our rooms and the great food. I would encourage anyone to view the uploaded photos from our guests.

If you choose to stay downtown on your next visit, might I recommend the Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort.

Warm regards,

David Wright


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2007

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank JimmyMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHsideGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2007

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2007

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank sailorann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHsideGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2007

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2007

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sfeldhaus79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHsideGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2007

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
1.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.2 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 63 in Cairns
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#12 of 63 in Cairns
1,163 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#5 of 63 in Cairns
2,361 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside

Address: 209-217 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £65 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside! Formerly known as Mercure Cairns Harbourside, located on The Esplanade and overlooking beautiful Trinity Bay, Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside is a popular retreat for both holidaymakers and business guests. Surrounded by lush tropical gardens and boasting breathtaking ocean and hinterland views, the Holiday Inn Cairns offers 173 stylishly appointed rooms, each with its own private balcony. Guests can also enjoy a range of hotel amenities and services, including Teshi's Restaurant, Blue Mango Café Wine Bar, swimming pool and spa, 24-hour room service, 24-hour business centre, free CBD shuttle, and more. Just a short stroll into town along The Esplanade and less than 10 minutes drive from Cairns Airport, the Holiday Inn Cairns is the perfect place for you to relax and unwind in tropical North Queensland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Cairns Harbourside Hotel Cairns
Accor Cairns Harbourside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing